Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-510

Olympus E-510 E-510 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th June 2008
DekHog's Avatar
DekHog DekHog is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dundee
Posts: 1,311
Thanks: 110
Thanked 120 Times in 82 Posts
Likes: 5
Liked 135 Times in 43 Posts
E-510 Exposure Compensation

OK, this is driving me nuts!! When I press/hold the exp comp button, and dial in a couple of clicks, should the compensation reset to zero after pressing the shutter release to take the picture?

Mine isn't resetting, but is retaining the compensation for any further shots - I've been through the menu system about twenty times, but still can't get it to reset to the default zero. I'm sure it was defaulting back to zero when I first received the camera and was playing around with it, but wouldn't actually bet money on that...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th June 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,648
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,545 Times in 1,279 Posts
Likes: 881
Liked 1,755 Times in 791 Posts
Re: E-510 Exposure Compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by DekHog View Post
OK, this is driving me nuts!! When I press/hold the exp comp button, and dial in a couple of clicks, should the compensation reset to zero after pressing the shutter release to take the picture?

Mine isn't resetting, but is retaining the compensation for any further shots - I've been through the menu system about twenty times, but still can't get it to reset to the default zero. I'm sure it was defaulting back to zero when I first received the camera and was playing around with it, but wouldn't actually bet money on that...
No, it usuall stays at the setting you have chosen

If you change from PASM modes to full AUTO mode, the settings are not remembered for AUTO (though they will revert when you change to PASM).

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com

Last edited by Ian; 29th June 2008 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th June 2008
DekHog's Avatar
DekHog DekHog is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dundee
Posts: 1,311
Thanks: 110
Thanked 120 Times in 82 Posts
Likes: 5
Liked 135 Times in 43 Posts
Re: E-510 Exposure Compensation

Thanks for that - that'll keep me on my toes making sure I remember to reset it when needed - would have been nice to have a menu option to retain or reset it after depressing the shutter button, eh?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exposure bracketing using remote control b.spooner Olympus E-1 6 5th February 2008 10:41 PM
Double exposure Ijay37 Olympus E-3 5 13th January 2008 12:58 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger