Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus Pen E-P1

Olympus Pen E-P1 The first Olympus Micro Four Thirds camera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st January 2010
Paulpp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exposure compensation

I may have missed it, but I presume you can't dial in an automatic exposure compensation so that e.g. all images have - 0.3EV?
And in the wrong place I know but can you do this on the E3 - I had thought so but can't find it anywhere?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st January 2010
Andel Andel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bridgwater Somerset
Posts: 126
Thanks: 52
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 38
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Exposure compensation

Have a read of this http://www.wrotniak.net/photo/43/e3-sett.html


I find his explanations so much easier to understand than the manual

my "standard" setting in my preferences is 1/3 rd of a stop underexposed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st January 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,865
Thanks: 502
Thanked 417 Times in 325 Posts
Likes: 492
Liked 1,338 Times in 506 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Somewhere deep in the menus for my E620 I have set it up so that the centre weighting meter has a permanent +2/3 stop bias. (I find it helps keep shadow noise in check. I haven't regretted it yet)

So, if the 620 can do it I assume the E3 E30 can as well.

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st January 2010
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaarman View Post
Somewhere deep in the menus for my E620 I have set it up so that the centre weighting meter has a permanent +2/3 stop bias. (I find it helps keep shadow noise in check. I haven't regretted it yet)

So, if the 620 can do it I assume the E3 E30 can as well.

Pete
well neither my 3 nor 30 have it anywhere that I could find.............
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st January 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by photo_owl View Post
well neither my 3 nor 30 have it anywhere that I could find.............
Me neither, but...

In the Menu > spanner F, there is a flash exposure +- as well as what looks like a regular exposure +-. This setting (I think) makes them the same, so... if you say 'yes' to this, then you can set the default flash compensation: Camera2 menu, to whatever you need. I think this will then replicate itself to the amount exposure compensation applied.

Just a thought...?
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st January 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,865
Thanks: 502
Thanked 417 Times in 325 Posts
Likes: 492
Liked 1,338 Times in 506 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Me neither, but...

In the Menu > spanner F, there is a flash exposure +- as well as what looks like a regular exposure +-. This setting (I think) makes them the same, so... if you say 'yes' to this, then you can set the default flash compensation: Camera2 menu, to whatever you need. I think this will then replicate itself to the amount exposure compensation applied.

Just a thought...?
I had a search.. In the E620, the "Cog" tab, page "I" its called exposure shift :-)

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st February 2010
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

[QUOTE=snaarman;64019]I had a search.. In the E620, the "Cog" tab, page "I" its called exposure shift :-)

Pete[/QUOTE

well ****er me - and I thought I had these menus sussed!

it's there in Custom Menu 1, wrench I exposure shift in the same way and, solves a previously unsolvable problem - how to dial in exposure compensation when shooting in M mode with auto ISO.

generally that's a blanket adjustment for the type of shooting (BIF, aircraft etc) rather than one off framing adjustments, and even this deep in the menu can be used quite easily.

excellent news!

now to work out if it's a 'my mode' programmable adjustment...... did I ever mention I wanted more 'my modes'?
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st February 2010
Paulpp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Exposure compensation

If nothing else all these posts make me feel less stupid!
Why can't the manuals be easier?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd February 2010
Paulpp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Exposure compensation

Had an interesting discussion with someone this evening who thought that exposure compensatiion must adjust either aperture or shutter speed whereas I thought it was electronic wizardry?
Would be grateful to be proved right (or otherwise).
And in exposure bracketing I presume if in aperture priority then the shutter speed is varied and vice versa?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd February 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulpp View Post
Had an interesting discussion with someone this evening who thought that exposure compensatiion must adjust either aperture or shutter speed whereas I thought it was electronic wizardry?
Would be grateful to be proved right (or otherwise).
And in exposure bracketing I presume if in aperture priority then the shutter speed is varied and vice versa?
Hi Paul

Sorry, but humble pie is on the menu... your friend is correct. Exposure compensation does adjust the shutter speed or exposure - depending on what mode you are in.

If in 'A' - then dialing in -1ev for exposure compensation will increase the shutter spead by 1 stop, and if in 'S' then dialing in -1ev for exposure compensation will close the aperture (higher f number) by 1 stop.

Exposure bracketing is where you set the aperture, and if you say have -1, 0 and +1 for three bracketed shots; the shutter speed is amended for;
  • -1 (shorter exposure by 1 stop)
  • 0 (correct shutter speed used)
  • +1 (longer exposure by 1 stop)
Hope this helps.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2nd February 2010
Paulpp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Exposure compensation

Thanks. Blast - I hate being wrong!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2nd February 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Sorry Paul...
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd February 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Exposure compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulpp View Post
If nothing else all these posts make me feel less stupid!
Why can't the manuals be easier?
Just to throw a spanner in the works (and apologies to Paulpp for hijacking his thread), on all my cameras I can set exposure compensation. Fine, I understand that. But I can also set flash exposure compensation which I also understand. But when I read that I can set flash compensation to be in addition to the camera compensation or not ( I can't remember how they describe it - it may just be that it's on or off) my brain seizes up. Surely one of these must be wrong as they can't give the same exposure? Or am I missing something so simple that I'm going to be embarrassed by the answer?
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Exposure compensation on e520 Janet Olympus E-520 7 25th January 2010 02:35 PM
Exposure Compensation ringneck Camera conference 1 4th December 2009 11:32 AM
Exposure bracketing crimbo Camera conference 7 22nd May 2009 12:40 AM
OM Exposure Compensation Ken Lister Legacy Lenses 3 10th May 2009 05:56 PM
E-510 Exposure Compensation DekHog Olympus E-510 2 29th June 2008 02:13 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger