Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th September 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Question E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Hi,

Can the E-3 shutter be activated externally by a wired switch

I think Studio Software can activate the shutter, if so can this be done through the USB connector with a switch or a pulse from an electronic timer

Any ideas

Thanks
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th September 2008
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

I'm unfamiliar with the E-3, but does it have a USB remote connection like the E-5xx or has it a separate socket? If it's the same as the E-5xx, it wouldn't cost much to get a generic one off Fleabay and strip it to find out the trigger wires.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,648
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,545 Times in 1,279 Posts
Likes: 881
Liked 1,755 Times in 791 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

The E-3 has a conventional mini-USB socket (yay) because the video out is handled via a 2.5mm jack socket. ON the E-4xx and E-5xx there is a single non-standard connector that handles both USB data and video.

The E-3 also has a separate proprietary 3-pin wired remote facility, which let's you focus (half press the shutter release) and trigger the shutter, and you can lock the shutter open too.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th September 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
The E-3 has a conventional mini-USB socket (yay) because the video out is handled via a 2.5mm jack socket. ON the E-4xx and E-5xx there is a single non-standard connector that handles both USB data and video.

The E-3 also has a separate proprietary 3-pin wired remote facility, which let's you focus (half press the shutter release) and trigger the shutter, and you can lock the shutter open too.

Ian
I was hoping you would pick up on this as I just knew that you would have the answer

Do you know if there is a "Pin-Out" diagram in the manual? Or is it available on-line somewhere?

Do you know if there is a wired remote ? (Olympus told me they don't do one)

Much appreciated
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th September 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,648
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,545 Times in 1,279 Posts
Likes: 881
Liked 1,755 Times in 791 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
I was hoping you would pick up on this as I just knew that you would have the answer

Do you know if there is a "Pin-Out" diagram in the manual? Or is it available on-line somewhere?

Do you know if there is a wired remote ? (Olympus told me they don't do one)

Much appreciated
Yes, as I mentioned, the E-3 has a three pin wired remote, the RM-CB1. It's the same one produced for the E-1.

I don't have the pin-outs but no doubt someone does

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th September 2008
Rod Souter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

I bought one for an E1 from here

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/DIGITAL-iSH...QQftidZ2QQtZkm

Rod
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th September 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,648
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,545 Times in 1,279 Posts
Likes: 881
Liked 1,755 Times in 791 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod Souter View Post
I bought one for an E1 from here

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/DIGITAL-iSH...QQftidZ2QQtZkm

Rod
There has been some discussion on our other site, Four Thirds User, that some of the cheap third party remote releases can damage the delicate pins in the port on the camera.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th September 2008
Rod Souter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

I read those posts and when my remote arrived, I checked that the obstructed socket, reported and photographed, was clear by using a hardened steel pin, from a cable clip.

Another tip is to put a small O-ring on the knurled collar, to give extra purchase to big, numb fingers

Rod
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th September 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Thanks Guys

Much appreciated

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th September 2008
B.P.S Studios
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Hi Graham,

I have the RM-CB1 which works fine with the E-3. Expensive bugger though, cost me 99.00 this side of the pond.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th September 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.P.S Studios View Post
Hi Graham,

I have the RM-CB1 which works fine with the E-3. Expensive bugger though, cost me 99.00 this side of the pond.

Indeed, I also want to hack it about to wire it up to a photo-gate trigger so I think I'll be looking for a cheap alternative or a busted one.

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th September 2008
Jim Ford Jim Ford is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,573
Thanks: 471
Thanked 608 Times in 527 Posts
Likes: 2,756
Liked 1,684 Times in 1,084 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

I have a wireless one I bought off ebay (up to 100 meters operation). It worked fine until I broke the plug through clumsiness (the camera socket wasn't damaged though). I'll be looking for the same model to replace it.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th September 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ford View Post
I have a wireless one I bought off ebay (up to 100 meters operation). It worked fine until I broke the plug through clumsiness (the camera socket wasn't damaged though). I'll be looking for the same model to replace it.

Jim
Jim,

100m sounds very interesting. Care to let me know the details on that one?

Thanks
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27th September 2008
Jim Ford Jim Ford is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,573
Thanks: 471
Thanked 608 Times in 527 Posts
Likes: 2,756
Liked 1,684 Times in 1,084 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

The wireless remote control I have is the same model as this one, though I don't recall it being off this buyer.

http://tinyurl.com/4omsrw

I understand that some users have had problems with the sockets in the plug not having large enough holes and pushing the pins in the camera into the body. I didn't have this problem with mine.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th September 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Re: E-3 Remote Shutter Activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ford View Post
The wireless remote control I have is the same model as this one, though I don't recall it being off this buyer.

http://tinyurl.com/4omsrw

I understand that some users have had problems with the sockets in the plug not having large enough holes and pushing the pins in the camera into the body. I didn't have this problem with mine.

Jim
Jim,

Much appreciated.

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E1 Shutter locks up during shooting scanny Olympus E-1 7 9th March 2009 04:41 PM
E1: How to check firmware and shutter actuations. Scapula Memory Olympus E-1 2 22nd September 2008 09:08 AM
shutter replacement Vokesie Olympus E-3 2 26th March 2008 11:32 PM
Anyone suggest a remote shutter release for my E-3... theMusicMan General accessories 4 28th December 2007 04:50 PM
Low light, high ISO, slow shutter experiment PeterD Foto Fair 0 6th December 2007 09:19 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger