Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd April 2011
benvendetta's Avatar
benvendetta benvendetta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pontypool, South Wales
Posts: 3,746
Thanks: 83
Thanked 297 Times in 262 Posts
Likes: 167
Liked 339 Times in 229 Posts
HDR and Photomatix

I quite like doing the odd spot of HDR using Photomatix. Usually I work with the original RAW images (to save time) but I have started to wonder if maybe I should try some processing first (obviopusly not including correcting exposure!).
Do you post process or use RAW?
__________________
Dave

E-M1 Mk2, Pen F, HLD-9, 17, 25, 45, 60 macro, 12-40 Pro, 40-150 Pro, 12-50, 40-150, 75-300, MC-14, MMF-3 (all micro 4/3rds), 7-14 (4/3rds), 50, 135 (OM), GoPro Hero 3, Novo/Giottos/ Manfrotto supports. Lowepro, Tamrac, Manfrotto, and Billingham bags.

External Competition Secretary, Cwmbran PS & Welsh Photographic Federation Judge
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd April 2011
Patchwork Patchwork is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 256
Thanks: 19
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 24
Liked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

I quite like attempting the odd HDR and I've recently been using single images as my source. I usually tweak the image in Olympus Viewer and then save five copies each at a different exposure. I then process these in Photomatix. Here's an example.

HeadingHome.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd April 2011
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

I always post process using the Photomatix output, Dave. I tend to use 5 brackets, though now am moving more towards only using 3, so if I process prior to Photomatix there's 3 or 5 images to edit rather than just the final one.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd April 2011
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

I always process the images to tiff/jpeg before input into Photomatix. About the only pre-processing I'll do is to remove any onion rings from floating dust in long exposures (some churches are so still that dust will float quite still just in front of the lens), and maybe some noise removal if I haven't bracketted sufficiently.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd April 2011
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

From my experience you will get more dynamic range shooting 3 or 5 bracketed raw files. I have experimented shooting the same scene in jpeg and in raw and the raw gave miles more detail, dynamic range and noise control.

In light room its easy to process the first photo and then sync the other bracketed shots before exporting to photomatix.
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th June 2011
JeffC JeffC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

Similarly, I've found that 5 shots in RAW gives good results. My way is just to stick the RAW files into photomatix straight out of the camera, process as required, and then load the resulting image into photoshop for final touches.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th June 2011
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patchwork View Post
I quite like attempting the odd HDR and I've recently been using single images as my source. I usually tweak the image in Olympus Viewer and then save five copies each at a different exposure. I then process these in Photomatix. Here's an example.

Attachment 1258
Patchwork I like this very much
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th June 2011
benvendetta's Avatar
benvendetta benvendetta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pontypool, South Wales
Posts: 3,746
Thanks: 83
Thanked 297 Times in 262 Posts
Likes: 167
Liked 339 Times in 229 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevvyf1 View Post
Patchwork I like this very much
Gives a hint of HDR but doesn't overpower the image. Stunning sky!
__________________
Dave

E-M1 Mk2, Pen F, HLD-9, 17, 25, 45, 60 macro, 12-40 Pro, 40-150 Pro, 12-50, 40-150, 75-300, MC-14, MMF-3 (all micro 4/3rds), 7-14 (4/3rds), 50, 135 (OM), GoPro Hero 3, Novo/Giottos/ Manfrotto supports. Lowepro, Tamrac, Manfrotto, and Billingham bags.

External Competition Secretary, Cwmbran PS & Welsh Photographic Federation Judge
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th June 2011
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

I always use raw. Having spent a lot of time and effort getting the alignment, focus, white balance and exposure etc how I want them I don't want to risk upsetting the balance by processing individual images - any PP is done on the final image, produced in my case by Easy HDR.
__________________
Paul

Last edited by meach; 5th June 2011 at 06:02 PM. Reason: missed a bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th June 2011
Wreckdiver's Avatar
Wreckdiver Wreckdiver is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: From Liverpool, live in Chippenham, Wiltshire.
Posts: 1,746
Thanks: 90
Thanked 85 Times in 80 Posts
Likes: 112
Liked 126 Times in 68 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

I process 5 or 7 (+ & -3 stops) raw files through Photomatix and then play with the output file. Sometimes, if I have only the one shot, I make 2 extra files -1 stop and +1 stop.

Steve
__________________
Old divers never die, they just go down on old wrecks
Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but bubbles
My website
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th June 2011
Swordfish Swordfish is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton on the Wolds, Leics
Posts: 518
Thanks: 5
Thanked 74 Times in 52 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 19 Times in 8 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

Getting away from the original question a bit, but what is the best way to get more than 3 useful bracketed frames? With my E620 you can only choose 3 frames at upto +/- 1EV - I have used this first dialling in -1EV on the overall exposure and then taking another bracketed set at +1EV in order to then select 5 frames at -2, -1, 0, +1,+2 EV from the 'correct' exposure. This is clearly a right faff.
Does anyone have a smarter method?

Also, I have tried ISO bracketing when hand holding, but I find the supposed +/-1EV seems to show surprisingly little difference between frames. Does anyone else use this?

Other than that I tend to take RAW files straight into Photomatix and tweak the output as required in Photoshop.

Cheers

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th June 2011
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: HDR and Photomatix

Use shutter mode, fix your aperture and focus take a proper exposure and then go over and under as much as you want. I have done upto 26 brackets like this so far
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photomatix Pro update Invicta Software 1 13th July 2009 06:02 PM
Experimenting with Photomatix Pro iMac Foto Fair 5 11th November 2008 06:38 PM
Photomatix gorman81 Software 2 22nd August 2008 05:57 AM
Photomatix software tim g Foto Fair 0 8th July 2008 08:06 PM
Photomatix? Glyn R Software 17 16th January 2008 09:46 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger