Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-400 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Help - no images (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=15984)

weecountyman 16th July 2011 02:02 PM

Help - no images
 
My E400 started "playing up" recently and I was getting some blank (totally black image on LCD) exposures among some OK shots.

Now all the exposures are coming up black.

I went back to factory reset - but the issue persists.

Do I have a major problem ?

crimbo 16th July 2011 02:43 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
doesnt sound good but post a verbose explanation of how the camera is set and post one of the images with the EXIF intact

weecountyman 16th July 2011 07:43 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
I'll need to check the settings - have removed battery as above for 24 hours.

Nick Temple-Fry 16th July 2011 09:37 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
Whilst it's a long shot, card errors can do the funniest things. Always worth seeing if the same problem exists when a card isn't in the camera.

Nick

sapper 17th July 2011 09:19 AM

Re: Help - no images
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick Temple-Fry (Post 127315)
Whilst it's a long shot, card errors can do the funniest things. Always worth seeing if the same problem exists when a card isn't in the camera.

Nick

But if there were no card in camera it will not show pics on the LCD anyway surely. Or am I missing something?
If you have another camera, check the card in that one, could be a dodgy card.

weecountyman 17th July 2011 09:37 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
I tried new cards, both formats, no success

Then went through the reset procedures, still no joy.

WTF is the problem ?

Nick Temple-Fry 17th July 2011 11:05 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by weecountyman (Post 127470)
I tried new cards, both formats, no success

Then went through the reset procedures, still no joy.

WTF is the problem ?

Quote:

Originally Posted by sapper (Post 127347)
But if there were no card in camera it will not show pics on the LCD anyway surely. Or am I missing something?
If you have another camera, check the card in that one, could be a dodgy card.

But it will show the picture with No-Card superimposed above it, leastways the E-3 will (as will the E-500), so the no-card display follows the attempt to read/write to the card.

However that easy solution seems lost to us.

So the question is - does the card record shots (albeit probably black) with a reasonable exif (exposure/shutter time) for what was taken. If it does then this tends towards a shutter failure.

Might be worth attempting to use cleaning mode to see if the shutter opens up (obviously with the lens removed)

Otherwise, ask a professional repairer such as Luton Camera Repairs. But it doesn't look like good.

Sorry

Nick

crimbo 18th July 2011 05:49 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
Okay...tell us in detail how the camera is set...
Also
If you look at the lcd and press menu...do you see the menu?
As has been suggested...take the card out and shut the card door and try to review an image...what do you see on the lcd?
Are you shooting raw or jpg?
post up an image ( how ever black) with the exif intact
take the lens off and take an image...post that up
with the lens off and a 1 second shutter speed, look at the mirro and fir off a shot..doe it rise out of the way? does the shutter open so that you can see the chip?...
good luck

weecountyman 18th July 2011 06:44 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
Menu and both Info screens come up on LCD

Settings

ISO/WB/Flash/AF area = Auto
Picture Mode = natural
Metering = digital ESP
AF Mode = S-AF
Memory = xD card
HQ (3638x2736)

Have I missed anything ?

Mirror rises, shutter appears to open.

crimbo 18th July 2011 07:20 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
Okay...so you are creating jpegs...now post up the image from the card

weecountyman 18th July 2011 07:28 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
I've never posted up an image - how do you do that ?

The same as uploading an image to Photobucket and then showing it on a message ?

Like this ?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...a/P7180001.jpg

crimbo 18th July 2011 07:57 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
okay now you need to save it with the EXIF data...so take the image from the card and just resize to 800px high and then post up
Also set the camera to raw capture and see what you get

weecountyman 20th July 2011 07:58 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
This is all new territory for me.

Above image details

1/125
F7.1
ISO 100
WB auto
focal length 17mm
Metering - Pattern

Is this the info needed ?

Set camera to RAW and got another totally black image.

Janet 20th July 2011 08:30 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
I've had a similar problem with my e520 recently...every time I change lenses, the first shot I take is simply black. Firstly I put it down to using old MF lenses with an adapter, but it's happening with my kit lenses too.

I usually shoot just jpeg, but on occasions shoot jpeg/raw, just in case. It happens whatever the settings.

It's not a major problem, as every subsequent shot I take is OK. It's only the first one which comes out black.

I went into the store I bought it from today to confirm that I did indeed get the three year guarantee when I bought it as it's two years next week since I bought it...thankfully I DID, so I'll be hammering it over the next year and make sure any problems are sorted!

Janet

crimbo 21st July 2011 05:38 PM

Re: Help - no images
 
Well you have done all the obvious...looks like you will have to send it to be fixed by Olympus


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:56 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger