Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   The lounge (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Olympus in the Universities (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3416)

shirley 26th October 2008 08:34 AM

Olympus in the Universities

I was looking on ebay to see how much second hand E1 cameras are selling for and came across this comment from a seller.

"Olympus E-1 DSLR camera body. This camera was bought new, by myself, 2 years ago. It is still in excellent condition and full working order.
The reason I am selling the camera is because I am currently studying for a degree in photography up here in Blackpool and I can borrow all the best lenses etc from the college.
Unfortunately the loan equipment is either Canon or Nikon, no Olympus, so to take advantage of this I have "jumped ship" to Nikon so the Olympus has to go.
Were it not for the availability of this loan equipment I would not be getting rid of this camera."

I wonder why Olympus lenses/equipment is not available in Universities/Colleges. We all know that using Oly cameras is their best advert, wouldnt it be a good marketing move to get cameras/lenses into these places? Instead Canikon are there and by default taking satisfied Olympus users away.
Might be something to suggest to the powers that be Ian.

DTD 26th October 2008 09:41 AM

Re: Olympus in the Universities

As far as I know the equipment is bought by universities – they're going to buy the 'professional brands' i.e. C&N. These are likely to be what the students will use when they go on to work.

One of the reasons C&N are popular with professionals is it's easy to hire stuff/get things serviced etc.

In t'olden days Pentax used to be big in education, partly because the K1000 was a simple rugged, workhorse.

Olympus gave up on professional 35mm when autofocus came in, so had a lot of work to do to get anyone to trust them again as a long-term proposition.