Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus OM-D E-M1 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Help - auto ISO (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=46897)

Woollyback 31st December 2017 06:26 PM

Help - auto ISO
 
Hello folks,

I am shooting with an EM1 mk1 and shoot predominantly in A aperture priority mode.

I am looking to set a minimum shutter speed via auto ISO that kicks in should the shutter speed drop below a set value as I change the f number.

Any idea how I can do this or if I can do this?

Any pointers would be fab

Cheers

Rob

Walti 31st December 2017 09:22 PM

Re: Help - auto ISO
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Woollyback (Post 436275)
Hello folks,

I am shooting with an EM1 mk1 and shoot predominantly in A aperture priority mode.

I am looking to set a minimum shutter speed via auto ISO that kicks in should the shutter speed drop below a set value as I change the f number.

Any idea how I can do this or if I can do this?

Any pointers would be fab

Cheers

Rob

The best way to do this is to use M mode and set theaperture and shutter speed as desired and He auto ISO will cope!

Gwyver 1st January 2018 04:23 PM

Re: Help - auto ISO
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Woollyback (Post 436275)
Hello folks,

I am shooting with an EM1 mk1 and shoot predominantly in A aperture priority mode.

I am looking to set a minimum shutter speed via auto ISO that kicks in should the shutter speed drop below a set value as I change the f number.

Any idea how I can do this or if I can do this?

Any pointers would be fab

Cheers

Rob

It's been more than a year since I fiddled with an E-M1 mk1 settings, but I seem to recall that you can alter the shutter speed at which the Auto_ISO increases by adjusting the value in Menu -> Cog F -> Slow Limit. The default is 1/60s at which point ISO starts to increase. I had reduced it to 1/30s.
See page 97 of the user manual - although it provides no indication that (what I've stated) will occur !
I think that if you do a search on this forum you will also find some pointers to this behaviour. ( I recall that 'Zuiko' posted some comments on this topic)
Hope this helps

Gwyver 1st January 2018 05:46 PM

Re: Help - auto ISO
 
Further to my earlier post, see:
http://www.biofos.com/mft/omd_em1_se....html#SECTION4
scroll down to sub-section 4f(ii) and read the 'observations' updated on 29/01/2014

Woollyback 1st January 2018 07:58 PM

Re: Help - auto ISO
 
Brilliant thanks folks

ChrisG 1st January 2018 08:40 PM

Re: Help - auto ISO
 
Hmm ... I'm not so sure that this is possible with the EM1- Mk1

I can see the option in the MkII

But I'm not seeing it in my Mk1?

I would really like it to exist in the Mk1 as i do some photography of bands and if I use AUTO ISO I end up taking shots at 1/60th and ISO200 and get too much movement in the performers.

I would certainly like to set AUTO ISO to start moving the ISO up when the shutter gets to say 1/150th or so.

My Mk1 firmware is 4.3 which appears to be the latest.

Very interested to know if this really is possible.

Thanks

Chris


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger