Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-500 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   ISO 50 for E500 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1450)

photonutter 3rd April 2008 01:55 AM

ISO 50 for E500
 
Came across this site the other day, which shows how to alter the ISO values for the E500
http://www.gadgetmiser.com/How_to_ge...0_on_e500.html
What I'm wondering, firstly is there any reason why this couldn't be done as firmware, if so why not? Secondly has anybody come across other hacks for differing effects.

photonutter 3rd April 2008 08:55 AM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
I tried out this 'cheat' yesterday and in full Blue Pete fashion, here's one I did earlier.
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/P1027932s.jpg

shenstone 3rd April 2008 11:50 AM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by photonutter (Post 13067)
Came across this site the other day, which shows how to alter the ISO values for the E500
http://e-group.uk.net/forum/newthrea...=newthread&f=9
What I'm wondering, firstly is there any reason why this couldn't be done as firmware, if so why not? Secondly has anybody come across other hacks for differing effects.

This links to an empty thread.. ?

I'm interested in reading it so would appreciate the real URL when you have a mo.

Regards
Andy

photonutter 3rd April 2008 11:55 AM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
Sorry Andy, just edited the post with the correct thread.

BigD 16th April 2008 05:10 PM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
i gave this a try on my evolt, and it doesnt work :(

photonutter 18th April 2008 07:38 AM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
I've heard on other forums that it doesn't work with the latest firmware too.
I'm using 1.2 firmware and works fine.
Makes my wonder why they put the blocks on being able to select via the 'cheat'. Was this diliberate or coincidental for onboard memory usage?

BigD 27th April 2008 11:32 AM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
im on 1.3 :( bummer realy

HughofBardfield 28th April 2008 10:47 AM

Re: ISO 50 for E500
 
The hack could also boost the ISO to 3200. However, unless you wanted a picture of a technicolour snowstorm that was of limited utility. I'd be interested to know if anyone who has tried it actually felt the IQ/DR/noise was any better at ISO50 - apart from giving you a stop slower shutter speed.

I have seen numerous theories about why this was hidden originally and why the 1.3 (I think it was) update removed access to the "hidden menu". I think one of the most plausible was that "slots" for ISO50/3200 were included in the firmware as headroom for future improvements if required, but not actually implemented because they were felt by Oly to be of limited utility, and therefore hidden.

However, once the hack was in the field, Oly became concerned about people fiddling with hidden settings that could potentially do interesting and unexpected things to their cameras... There certainly looked as though there were many other parameters that could potentially have been changed by people experimenting with the hack - the ISO changes were just two changes out of a potential set of dozens - AFAIK no-one outside Oly's repair folk actually knows what they were for, or what effect they would have if manipulated.

Unless someone can prise an explanation out of Olympus, I doubt we'll ever know.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger