Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-3 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Is the E3 able to produce the same shot? (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10335)

Garrie 21st July 2010 10:09 PM

Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Hi,

I'm not one to post often and for that I'm sorry. I've not been togging much recently and have a little "lost the mojo" feeling..

However I saw this and this killed all my mojo..

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4116/...fd223de4_z.jpg

My best man has a 5Dmk2 (who togged my wedding last year), I'm just feeling as though my E3 doesn't cut it. The shot above was taken on a 5dmk2 and it looks awesome. I've ask the dude what he did processing etc but he is very vague.

Can the E3 produce the same results and how do I go about processing a shot in this way? The pic was taken at 4.39pm.

I understand how its split between 3 canvases btw

Cheers
Garrie

theMusicMan 21st July 2010 10:27 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Well, if it was taken at 4:39pm, then it was either taken in winter time with some ND filter, or recently with an ND110 10 stop filter.

If I knew where it was taken, and I could get there... I'd give it a go Garrie.

Oh, and yes of course, the 5D(mkII) is an awesome piece of kit; but I reckon I could produce something similar to this on my E-3, with the 11-22 (not 7-14, as I can't use filters on that) and the ND110.

It is a great shot I must add.

theMusicMan 21st July 2010 10:31 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Oh sorry... my take on the processing is;
  • ND110 10 stop filter
  • some wide angle lens
  • I'd say around 3 to 5 mins exposure, at somewhere around f13
  • tweeked using Lightroom (I'm sure I could match the processing - it looks slightly cross processed)
  • I'd say it was taken a lot earlier in the year, as there seems to be street lights turned on, and they wouldn't be turned on at this time of day this time of year.
  • It's also very underexposed (see the blacks on the river bank!)
How's that...?

Radar 21st July 2010 10:35 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
First of all: YES! You can do this one. why not? It's the photographer, not the camera.
The photo is taken with a long shutter (118sec) on f18 and ISO100. since there's a green tint in the photo I think it's either a filter used or the whitebalance is fiddled with and some colour maps in Photoshop. Shouldn't be too hard. Could be a cross-processing thing he's done.

PS! Photo taken yesterday morning (20th of July)

Kiwi Paul 21st July 2010 10:37 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
It's the Sydney Harbour Bridge in Aussieland, it certainly is a very effective shot and I agree it could be replicated with an E3 or for that matter any OLY DSLR.

Paul

theMusicMan 21st July 2010 10:41 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by theMusicMan (Post 79973)
Oh sorry... my take on the processing is;
  • ND110 10 stop filter
  • some wide angle lens
  • I'd say around 3 to 5 mins exposure, at somewhere around f13
  • tweeked using Lightroom (I'm sure I could match the processing - it looks slightly cross processed)
  • I'd say it was taken a lot earlier in the year, as there seems to be street lights turned on, and they wouldn't be turned on at this time of day this time of year.
  • It's also very underexposed (see the blacks on the river bank!)
How's that...?

Oooooh.... considering I can't see the EXIF for some reason, I reckon my guess was pretty darned good... hehe!

gregles 21st July 2010 10:43 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
I would say that this could have been taken with any dslr Garrie. The processing is very good and I would have no idea how to get there - but the shot is sharp and well exposed, which would suit some nice glass on any decent body:rolleyes:

Where you been anyway;)

Radar 21st July 2010 10:49 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Woofmix (Post 79975)
It's the Sydney Harbour Bridge in Aussieland

Almost right! Almost! :) It's Tyne Bridge in Newcastle upon Tyne. Constructed by the same company from M'boro that constructet the Sydney Harbour Bridge so there's a resemblence :-)

Zuiko 21st July 2010 10:51 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Hi Garrie,

Don't get disillusioned just because another tog has perfected a technique you don't understand. OK, he did it with a 5DII which will give him a bigger file size, less noise if it was taken at high ISO (which I doubt) and probably a marginally better tonal quality and dynamic range. The point is, if he is good enough to produce that, he could have got a pretty similar result if he'd used an E-3.

You tend to forget you have a special talent for tonemapping, which you take for granted but which leaves many of us in awe (BTW - about time we saw some more :D) and no doubt there are some 5DII owners who would love to be able to replicate your technique. I wonder if they agonize over whether they should upgrade to an E-3? *laugh

Zuiko 21st July 2010 10:58 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Just to add that this shot obviously relies heavily on the processing to such an extent that the real question should not be which camera but which software. I wish I had his processing skills! :)

Graham_of_Rainham 21st July 2010 11:51 PM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
OK it's a "nice" picture and cleverly produced, but you must be seeing things that we can't for you to rate it so highly.

Also with a triptych style image, lines need to flow continuously through the set and not be disjointed as they are here.

As for Post Processing, I rate your productions well above those of many.
*chr

snaarman 22nd July 2010 05:55 AM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Nice picture... However I suspect the only thing the 4:3 E3 couldn't do is the aspect ratio :)

Pete

Kiwi Paul 22nd July 2010 08:16 AM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zuiko (Post 79981)
Hi Garrie,

You tend to forget you have a special talent for tonemapping, which you take for granted but which leaves many of us in awe (BTW - about time we saw some more :D)

He certainly does, I just looked on his website and I had forgotten about how good those tonemapped images are.

That's something I've never tried to dabble in, where can I find info about doing tonemapping? I seem to recall Photomatix does it, can it be done in LR3 or CS3?

Paul

dj69 22nd July 2010 08:45 AM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
Garrie

Remember your dentist's chair shots...... Wow!

Keep the faith
David

Ian 22nd July 2010 09:21 AM

Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?
 
There no technical hurdle that would prevent an E-3 (or any Olympus DSLR, including the original E-1) from taking a shot like this. As has been mentioned, it looks like a 'big stopper' neutral density filter has been used to reduce the light to the extent that a long exposure has been made possible to smooth the water and give the clouds some motion blur. Long exposures, with any camera, will induce noise, but using the noise reduction mode on the camera (which does a dark frame subtraction) would deal with that.

Finally, this picture is not just about the camera but also the photographer and his or her skill in post processing.

Ian


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger