Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Software (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Cropping query (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8212)

meach 8th February 2010 09:53 AM

Cropping query
 
I have a series of photographs that need cropping to a panoramic size. The problem I have is that I want to make sure I finish up with exactly the same part of each shot, but if I do them all individually I'm sure to get them all slightly different. Is there any way of achieving what I want in Photoshop Elements 7 - or any of the other programs?

shenstone 8th February 2010 10:07 AM

Re: Cropping query
 
I think I understand - Assuming your pictures were talking at the same place with very little movement this is possible

I do AV shows and it's really useful when I've not had a tripod with me and wanted to take a set of images to show e.g. water or steam moving

Not sure about elements, but you can defintely do it in Photoshop

In CS3 you import a set of files using File > Scripts > Load Files into Stack and select the files you want to process

Then ensuring that Attempt to Automatically align source images is clicked you can import them

It pulls them all in as seperate layers which you then crop to your required size.

You then need to check all the layers go to the edges by turning layers on and off (waste of time exporting if one of your pictures is missing an edge)

Use File > Scripts > Export layers to files to take them back out

Regards
Andy

meach 8th February 2010 10:30 AM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shenstone (Post 64886)
I think I understand - Assuming your pictures were talking at the same place with very little movement this is possible

Yes - they were all taken on a tripod. When I view them in slideshow format there is no (discernible anyway) movement and I'd like to keep it like that after I've cropped them.

Thanks Andy - I'll see if Elements does something similar.

shenstone 8th February 2010 11:28 AM

Re: Cropping query
 
Ahh...

Now you've said there is no discernable movement between them can I also recommend FastStone http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

It's free for non commercial use and really cheap anyway for the quality of tool you get

The batch processor is perfect for these types of jobs

Decide how you want to crop using the crop board on onbe picture - note down the parameters

Select all your files
F3 to batch process
Advanced - enter your crop parameters

Put in your folder or rename parameters assuming you don't want to overwrite and hit go

Regards
Andy

meach 8th February 2010 11:59 AM

Re: Cropping query
 
That sounds exactly what I want!! Thank you very much Andy - I'll let you know how I get on.

BobS 8th February 2010 02:56 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shenstone (Post 64909)
Ahh...

Now you've said there is no discernable movement between them can I also recommend FastStone http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

It's free for non commercial use and really cheap anyway for the quality of tool you get

The batch processor is perfect for these types of jobs

Decide how you want to crop using the crop board on onbe picture - note down the parameters

Select all your files
F3 to batch process
Advanced - enter your crop parameters

Put in your folder or rename parameters assuming you don't want to overwrite and hit go

Regards
Andy

Andy
Thanks for the tip regarding the Faststone program - it's great. Shows what you can learn when looking at forum posts in which you think you may not have an interest. I must find the time to read every one!
Bob*chr

meach 1st March 2010 08:56 AM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shenstone (Post 64909)
Ahh...

Now you've said there is no discernable movement between them can I also recommend FastStone http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

It's free for non commercial use and really cheap anyway for the quality of tool you get

The batch processor is perfect for these types of jobs

Decide how you want to crop using the crop board on onbe picture - note down the parameters

Select all your files
F3 to batch process
Advanced - enter your crop parameters

Put in your folder or rename parameters assuming you don't want to overwrite and hit go

Regards
Andy

Finally got round to trying it out this morning - and it does exactly what I wanted, and quickly too. Many thanks for pointing me in the right direction, Andy.

stevednp3 1st March 2010 02:03 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Is the Adobe Camera Raw built into Elements ? as you can apply a global change to a series of photos in there !

meach 1st March 2010 02:29 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stevednp3 (Post 66718)
Is the Adobe Camera Raw built into Elements ? as you can apply a global change to a series of photos in there !

Yes, it is - but I've only ever been able to open one image. How do you batch process in it?

snaarman 1st March 2010 03:49 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by meach (Post 66720)
Yes, it is - but I've only ever been able to open one image. How do you batch process in it?

Drag and drop a pile of orf files to Elements and they should appear on the left of the ACR screen. You can select some or all of them and do what you want.. So far as I remember..

Pete

meach 1st March 2010 04:09 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by snaarman (Post 66730)
Drag and drop a pile of orf files to Elements and they should appear on the left of the ACR screen. You can select some or all of them and do what you want.. So far as I remember..

Pete

Well blow me!! That works too - and I can specify the aspect ratio I need as well. Thanks Pete.

stevednp3 1st March 2010 04:54 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by meach (Post 66720)
Yes, it is - but I've only ever been able to open one image. How do you batch process in it?

http://www.adobe.com/digitalimag/tip...tch/index.html

meach 1st March 2010 04:59 PM

Re: Cropping query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stevednp3 (Post 66737)

Cheers Steve - I'll have a good look at that when I get the chance


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger