Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Another help request......... (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=45875)

MJ224 13th August 2017 06:17 PM

Another help request.........
 
Have lost the ability to use C-AF on my C2 mode.....

Works Ok on the other two modes, and with all three lenses.

My C2 mode I use for photoing birds, on a manual setting.

I must have set something off to loose the C-AF ability. Lenses work on MF Ok.

Any ideas what I might have ticked/unticked. Could go through all the settings one by one, nothing obvious from the Menu screen...................

TIA:(:(:)

Growltiger 13th August 2017 06:27 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Try this:
1. Turn dial to C2.
2. Press AF button.
3. Turn rear dial to select C-AF.
4. Menu button and Assign to C2.

If that doesn't work, what happens when you do it?

MJ224 13th August 2017 06:43 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
I have tried to resave it to the C2 mode, but nothing has changed from the original situation alas.............

As said ion the other two modes, when the C-AF is just fine................

As far as I can see the difference between the modes is how the exposure is determined.

On my settings I use C1 on aperture priority, C2 on Manual, and C3 shutter speed priority........

Not sure what I would have changed in that mode. I do have settings saved so might try to reinstate them.

But still interested what I have changed to knock out C-AF.

Thanks for your help

Mj:):)

MJ224 13th August 2017 07:08 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Workaround solution was to use the manual mode to change to C-AF, and save it too C2 mode.

Unsure what setting I had fiddled with alas...................:(

Walti 13th August 2017 07:13 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MJ224 (Post 424683)
Workaround solution was to use the manual mode to change to C-AF, and save it too C2 mode.

Unsure what setting I had fiddled with alas...................:(

I have found the best way of making changes of this nature is to switch to the appropriate mode (PASM) and then recall the settings from Cx, make whatever changes are needed and then re-save it to Cx.

MJ224 13th August 2017 08:57 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Yes thanks for that.....

How to recall the C settings to "M" mode in my case??

Was not too difficult, but still wondering what I did to loose the C-AF?

:confused::confused:

Walti 13th August 2017 09:09 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MJ224 (Post 424708)
Yes thanks for that.....

How to recall the C settings to "M" mode in my case??

Was not too difficult, but still wondering what I did to loose the C-AF?

:confused::confused:

Set the camera to M, then go to camera 1 menu and recall the settings for the custom mode... play with them to your hearts content then go back to the camera 1 menu and save them.

(there's not much difference in the overall result to doing this all in the custom menu - but for some reason I've found it clearer!)

Growltiger 13th August 2017 09:15 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Why didn't you follow the instructions I gave you in message 2 above. That would have cured it.

Walti 13th August 2017 09:20 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 424712)
Why didn't you follow the instructions I gave you in message 2 above. That would have cured it.

Absolutely right!

MJ224 14th August 2017 03:40 AM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 424712)
Why didn't you follow the instructions I gave you in message 2 above. That would have cured it.

I thought I had done, but alas I could not make it work. But thanks for the time and thought. :(

Growltiger 14th August 2017 11:45 AM

Re: Another help request.........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MJ224 (Post 424729)
I thought I had done, but alas I could not make it work. But thanks for the time and thought. :(

One last suggestion. I think the issue is that you are not yet familiar with how it works, and this is confusing you.
Here is what I suggest as an exercise. Follow the instructions in message 2, but change it to S-AF. Check that works. Then follow the instructions again, changing it back to C-AF.

MJ224 14th August 2017 04:58 PM

Re: Another help request.........
 
I have little doubt about confusion, occurs in other places too :(:(

OK I do understand now, and have worked the AF button successfully. I do tend to use the menu to do these changes, as I do get confused with all of these buttons....

Thanks again for your instructions, and help. I will try them shortly...*chr


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:50 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger