Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mark 2 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Lens protection / Filter (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=46629)

MG Driver 16th November 2017 12:04 PM

Lens protection / Filter

Hi all, I'm a bit new to all this m43 stuff, I'm after a bit of advice regarding Lens protection.

Back in the day with my of 35mm SLR film camera I used to fit a 1A Skylight filter to the lens if for nothing else but to add a bit of extra protection from scratches.

I have an E-M10 mk2 with the 14-42mm 'Pancake' lens, is there any additional lens protection available or even required?

Thanks

benvendetta 16th November 2017 12:57 PM

Re: Lens protection / Filter

All filters will degrade the image to some extent. How important that is, is up to you. I like to maintain the highest quality of the lenses I have and I therefore rely more on lens hoods for protection.

090657 16th November 2017 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MG Driver (Post 432971)
Hi all, I'm a bit new to all this m43 stuff, I'm after a bit of advice regarding Lens protection.

Back in the day with my of 35mm SLR film camera I used to fit a 1A Skylight filter to the lens if for nothing else but to add a bit of extra protection from scratches.

I have an E-M10 mk2 with the 14-42mm 'Pancake' lens, is there any additional lens protection available or even required?

Thanks

I always use a filter for protection. I too have the nifty little 14-42 pancake but recently found a really cool `auto lens cap` for it which is permanently fitted and opens when the lens is extended- no vignetting. Also fits the Panny 12-32 I think. Compatible with 52mm filters I think.

Tim

OM USer 16th November 2017 03:00 PM

Yes, for the 14-42 EZ pancake use the auto lens cap.

Petrochemist 16th November 2017 03:28 PM