Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-510 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   E510 firmware update (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=266)

RogerMac 7th December 2007 09:52 PM

E510 firmware update
 
I am getting the distinct impression that after updating my E510 firmware the noise and sharpness at ISO 1600 has improved. I first noticed it on some very large enlargements (between A0 and A1 on cropped portions of the original) and then going back to the original test shots that I took when it was new in July and attempting to repeat them in the same lighting conditions I am convinced that there is a noticeable improvement - especially in the JPGs but also just noticeable in RAW.

So my question to Ian is, am I deluding myself or did Oly take the opportunity to slip in an undocumented improvement?

Thanks


Roger

Ian 8th December 2007 10:22 AM

Re: E510 firmware update
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RogerMac (Post 1861)
I am getting the distinct impression that after updating my E510 firmware the noise and sharpness at ISO 1600 has improved. I first noticed it on some very large enlargements (between A0 and A1 on cropped portions of the original) and then going back to the original test shots that I took when it was new in July and attempting to repeat them in the same lighting conditions I am convinced that there is a noticeable improvement - especially in the JPGs but also just noticeable in RAW.

So my question to Ian is, am I deluding myself or did Oly take the opportunity to slip in an undocumented improvement?

Thanks


Roger

It's not something I have noticed myself. Do you mean 1.2? I must confess I haven't upgraded to that yet as it's only supposed to enable the EC-20 converter to work and I don't have one yet. This does mean I'm in the position to do a before and after comparison :)

Ian

beardedwombat 8th December 2007 11:28 AM

Re: E510 firmware update
 
I also reckon the IS has improved a little too, but its difficult to quantify.
Chris

RogerMac 8th December 2007 11:43 AM

Re: E510 firmware update
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ian (Post 1894)
It's not something I have noticed myself. Do you mean 1.2? I must confess I haven't upgraded to that yet as it's only supposed to enable the EC-20 converter to work and I don't have one yet. This does mean I'm in the position to do a before and after comparison :)

Ian

yes I have installed 1.2 and it is after that installation that I noticed it. I also think that IS is improved slightly - but that was documented

Roger

emirpprime 9th December 2007 11:30 AM

Re: E510 firmware update
 
They really should tell us about these things! Even if they just leak a rumour via a mid-level slip of the tongue. It would add more to their reputation to know they are still improving lond realeased models.
Phil


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger