Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-3 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Lock up (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3556)

sapper 6th November 2008 07:26 AM

Lock up
 
I bin in Glencoe Scotland :)for a few days doing a masterclass with a guy called Ian Cameron. Very good weather and light but my E 3 'locked up' on me a couple of times.:mad:
I was shooting bracket exposures, no IS, shutter delay, and more than once the camera just seized up. No response at all. Even turning camera on and off didn't work straight away. Fully charged battery. No mention in the manual of this that I can see.
Anyone got an idea as to what happened? It will probably have to go back to Oly for a service.

Dick Bowman 6th November 2008 07:48 AM

Re: Lock up
 
I've had that happen with both an E-1 and an E-3.

Was having problems getting a properly working E-3 in December-January, the dealer arranged a swap and I don't think I've had it happen to me with the E-3 since.

From other comments over the years it seems to be "one of those thigs" with Olympus DSLRs - don't think anyone ever pinned down precisely what sets it off.

PeterD 6th November 2008 08:04 AM

Re: Lock up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sapper (Post 29597)
I bin in Glencoe Scotland :)for a few days doing a masterclass with a guy called Ian Cameron. Very good weather and light but my E 3 'locked up' on me a couple of times.:mad:
I was shooting bracket exposures, no IS, shutter delay, and more than once the camera just seized up. No response at all. Even turning camera on and off didn't work straight away. Fully charged battery. No mention in the manual of this that I can see.
Anyone got an idea as to what happened? It will probably have to go back to Oly for a service.

Dave

Before responding fully - Do you mean you had mirror lock up?

Peter

250swb 6th November 2008 08:10 AM

Re: Lock up
 
I have had a lockups early on, but it was my fault for not noticing what was going on. The camera was set such that some of the bracket exposure times went into the 'seconds', and thereby the Noise Reduction function kicks in and the time taken for the exposures becomes twice as long while a dark frame is processed. So a five second exposure became a ten second exposure, and ten seconds can seem like a lifetime when you are not expecting it. During this time I was trying to press buttons, switch on and off etc, but the camera failed to respond, and I assume it got very confused. I wonder if not being able to switch it off was because the camera needs to record the last used settings, which were probably queueing up by then.

Other people have reported that a build up of heat can cause lockups especially when using Live View, but this has never happened to me, I think...

Steve

sapper 6th November 2008 04:01 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterD (Post 29601)
Dave

Before responding fully - Do you mean you had mirror lock up?

Peter

Menu calls it "Anti shock".

PeterD 6th November 2008 05:31 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sapper (Post 29651)
Menu calls it "Anti shock".

Dave,

The anti shock function is not what I meant. I have never used it. I really do mean that the mirror moves up and refuses to drop again. Hence my query of mirror lock-up.

Peter

sapper 6th November 2008 05:50 PM

Re: Lock up
 
No Peter, it wasn't the mirror locking up. Just when trying to change shutter speed or aperture, nothing happened. Screen was OK, but no 'movement' when trying to change things.

PeterD 6th November 2008 06:03 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Thanks Dave,

I have not seen those symptoms at all.

Peter

PeterD 6th November 2008 06:17 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Dave,

I have had a number of issues over time and always contacted Olympus Technical support. They have always been invaluable in giving advice. You may have done this already but I mention it just in case. They have always given good advice and they are in contact with users throughout the EU.

Peter

Chillimonster 6th November 2008 06:32 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Did you have a 'grip' on the camera?

Zuiko 6th November 2008 08:42 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Hi Dave,

You say you were bracketing, were you using RAW? Maybe if you took a lot of shots in quick succession it was a buffering problem? Was the red light on the back of the camera flashing? Approximately how long was it before your camera became functional again?

Cheers,

John.

sapper 6th November 2008 09:07 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Chillimonster (Post 29669)
Did you have a 'grip' on the camera?

No. Camera mounted on a tripod via 510 head.

sapper 6th November 2008 09:10 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zuiko (Post 29687)
Hi Dave,

You say you were bracketing, were you using RAW? Maybe if you took a lot of shots in quick succession it was a buffering problem? Was the red light on the back of the camera flashing? Approximately how long was it before your camera became functional again?

Cheers,

John.

It could have been this John. I was shooting RAW, don't remember seeing the buffering light though. I will try it out in the garden tomorrow, cheers.

Zuiko 6th November 2008 09:11 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Any pics from the course BTW? :)

Zuiko 6th November 2008 09:14 PM

Re: Lock up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sapper (Post 29694)
It could have been this John. I was shooting RAW, don't remember seeing the buffering light though. I will try it out in the garden tomorrow, cheers.

Just another thought, Dave. What memory card were you using? A "slow" card may extend the buffering times.

Cheers,


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger