Announcement

Collapse

December's CHALLENGE

The topic to inspire your creative juices this month is BOXES Please don't forget to vote on November's LEAVES challenge and please re-vote if you already did but before the recent forum upgrade.

See more
See less

Magpie Flight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magpie Flight

These birds are usually considered as Black and White but, when in flight they show a blue tinge. Thought I would try for a shot in flight to see what colours are displayed. The first problem is that the beat their wings rapidly. I studied the flight pattern and found that there was a brief interval, when properly airborne, that the beats reduce and then they glide for a short distance. Tried to time it and almost succeeded although the wing tip feathers are still well defined.

I shall never look at the Magpie as being a dull bird again. The blue is largely covered when at rest as it is on the inner wing.

PeterD

Re: Magpie Flight

ive learned something new great shot peter, and the blue realy stands out.

Dave.

Comment

Thanks Dave

I shall try for closer shots to get more detail

PeterD

Comment

ive not tried any bird shots yet as the 40-150 doesnt realy have enough reach .

thats my excuse anyway

Comment

Don't despair Dave. The Magpie shot was at fl 90mm and not at 425mm which would have had me touching the bird.

You can get up to 150mm with your kit lens so give it a try.

PeterD

Comment

Peter

I agree the magpie is a really pretty bird in flight, and I love his cocksure attitude when in a tree.

Nice capture that really shows the blue, and I envy your reaction time, when those b****** move, they are really fast.

Nick
            Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
            www.temple-fry.co.uk

Comment