Could do with some guidance.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Could do with some guidance.

Hi all, So I'm new here and really could use some guidance please.

Currently E620 with kit lens, had this since 2010, was planning to start to learn how to become a hobby photographer rather than just a holiday snapper. I really want to get stuck in but finding things challenging in deciding what's best.

I am a beginner to Manual mode but Im told I do have a natural gift of finding pictures as oppose to just snapping away.

I currently have;
    Olympus 50-200mm ed none sud
    Olympus 9-18
    EC14 Teleconverter on 50-200 ed lens

I was originally looking at the EM10 mkiii but when I picked up the camera in real life it was much smaller than I was comfortable with although I love some of the tech in it.

Then Someone said just go straight for the EM1 mk ii, vast difference in price, Im not interested in any lenses at the moment other than perhaps the M43 45mm which gets raving reviews so the idea of the EM1 Mk ii seems not so far away but still a few hundred pounds more for brand new body only.

Now a friend said "hang on", Olympus are due to release the EM5 Mkiii on Oct 17th.

Im just so confused as to what to do.

Financially the obvious choice is the EM10 iii but 50-200 lens looks ridicules on small body, also told it would not be good on the 10 due to poor focus.

My head tells me just spend 900 on a body only EM1 mk ii, for some reason I'm struggling to make the right decision and need some opinions and view points, can anyone help point me in right direction please.

So thankful in advance.

Lee

Re: Could do with some guidance.

If you like the feel and the larger grip, ie. ergonomics, of the E-M1ii then go for it, You will be delighted. The larger grip will also feel better with longer lenses.