Lenses: relative length & diameter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lenses: relative length & diameter

I am no expert in the physics involved in lens-making but always thought that with same-fit lenses having the same max apertures, the lens with a longer focal length would be longer and larger than the other one. If that is the case, how is it that the Sigma 56mm f1.4 DC DN is significantly shorter than the Sigma 30mm f1.4 DC DN (which I own and do NOT think is too big like some people do)?

Re: Lenses: relative length & diameter

Originally posted by Loup Garou View Post
    I am no expert in the physics involved in lens-making but always thought that with same-fit lenses having the same max apertures, the lens with a longer focal length would be longer and larger than the other one. If that is the case, how is it that the Sigma 56mm f1.4 DC DN is significantly shorter than the Sigma 30mm f1.4 DC DN (which I own and do NOT think is too big like some people do)?
    It's quite trendy with lenses designed for digital sensors to be physically long. Look at, say, the new 50mm Nikon and Canon mirrorless lenses and compare them to something like a Zuiko (film era) 50mm lens - the new ones are more than twice as long.

Ian
    Founder and editor of:
    Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
    Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
    Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
    Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
    Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
    Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
    NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
    sigpic

Comment

Regards,
      Mark

------------------------------
      http://www.microcontrast.com
      Too much Oly gear.
      Panasonic GM5, 12-32, 12-35, 15. Laowa 7.5.
      Assorted legacy lenses, plus a Fuji X70 & a Sony A7S.

Comment