Announcement

Collapse

December's CHALLENGE

The topic to inspire your creative juices this month is BOXES Please don't forget to vote on November's LEAVES challenge and please re-vote if you already did but before the recent forum upgrade.

See more
See less

Amazed and confused

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amazed and confused

I am still learning the envelope of the EM-1 and 12-40
    It continues to gob-smack me and then frustrate me
    The Scalloway Fire Festival

This image is hand held at 0.5 sec exposure. Yes there were a couple of attempts to lock focus without the focus assist and a few where the Jarl did not stay still; but I nailed it...the IBIS is amazing.

A little earlier and a lot more light and a shorter exposure and focus did not lock hard on to any of the faces. This is where I am confused.

Now, it could well be my technique so I am open to suggestions.
    The big parade is at the end of the month
    chris
    shetland

Re: Amazed and confused

I would suggest it's locked focus fine in the second image _on the middle person - but the face has motion blur

As a slight aside such helmeted heavily bearded faces aren't going to be the easiest subjects for FD but I presume you got the VF confirmation when shooting

it may be a 'shorter' shutter speed but it's still a very long one for a moving head
    E, Pen and OM-D bodies
    43 m43 and legacy glass
    loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems

Comment

A couple of fine pictures. I agree - the second one is in focus. Look at the chain-mail.
      Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site

Comment

I think that second shot is very good.

If it were my image, I'd process it heavily to make it look like a "Film Noir" still from a movie.
        Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...

Comment