Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk > General accessories

General accessories Batteries, eye cups, power grips, straps, eyepiece magnifiers, cables, remotes and much more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th May 2009
padgreen's Avatar
padgreen padgreen is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 148
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

Hi, I can't quite believe this. I'm about to buy an E30. The specs on the Olympus website say that the focusing screen is interchangeable and you can fit an FS3 grid screen instead of the normal matte one.

With the E1 you could change the screen yourself. With the E3 and the E30 you have to return it to Olympus. So I've just rung Olympus to find out how much this would cost and how to get it done. A fairly simple question you would have thought. No, they didn't have a clue and I'm left wondering whether I should be buying an Olympus camera at all.

I rang the Customer Service nos on the Olympus UK website. The first person I spoke too knew nothing about the procedure or the cost saying "we just do repairs here". He told me to contact Technical Support. So I rang them. Except the nos on the Olympus website doesn't work, at least not when ringing from my mobile. However, you can speak to the Technical Support people by pressing Option 2 on the Customer Service Nos.

Technical Support knew nothing either "we don't do repairs here" and said that I should ring Customer Service in the UK. So I told them that I had just spoken to Customer Service and they told me to ring Technical Support. So the person I was talking to went away to ask someone and came back and said yes you can fit as FS3 focusing screen but you do need to speak to Customer Service. I was a getting a bit exasperated by this point.

I then rang Customer Service in the UK again. The person I spoke didn't know anything about the FS3 focusings screen, how to fit it or what it costs. He said he would ask his manager. He then came back and said that the manager didn't know either but they would look the information up and ring me back.

About five minutes later the person I had been speaking to rang me back. They still didn't know. They couldn't find any information about the procedure or what it costs at all. They said the best they could do would be for me to send the camera in for repair and then they would then give me a quote for the cost. I couldn't quite believe this so I said that surely they knew how much it costs as it must be standard procedure. The answer was no, we won't know until we have a look.

I then said that the Olympus website makes very clear that both the E3 and the E30 have interchangeble screens and so there must be a fixed price for the job, they must know what the screen costs and how long it takes to fit it.

The person I was speaking to said it wasn't listed in any of their repairs documentation and so they didn't know.

I said that I wasn't going to buy a camera and send it in without knowing how much it was going to cost. The person I was speaking too said they had never come across it before but I could always try ringing Luton Cameras who repair Olympus equipment.

Exasperated doesn't really sum it up. I can' believe that Customer Service doesn't know how much it costs to fit a FS3 or that they don't even know what an FS3 screen is.

So if anyone has any ideas I be grateful.
__________________
Cheers

Padgreen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th May 2009
oly_om's Avatar
oly_om oly_om is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ely, UK
Posts: 471
Thanks: 49
Thanked 65 Times in 42 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 70 Times in 28 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

Luton cameras should be able to help you. The reality is it is a little bit more fiddly, but you can change it yourself.

Andy
__________________
Olympus E-30, E-M1 mk1&2 ZD 7-14 f4, PL 25 f1.4D
mZuiko 12-40 f2.8 Pro, 45 f1.8, 60 f2.8, 40-150 f2.8 Pro, 300 f4 Pro
MC-14, HLD-7, HLD-9
Metz 58 AF-2 , Manfrotto 441, Gimbal Head, Velbon Neopod 74

("AndyElliott" @ FTU)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th May 2009
Archphoto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

This is a bit the problem in general with Olympus: they have no answers to questions that are not asked daily.

I am thinking about an E30 myself and some modifications I would love to implement.
I asked them about the pin configuration of the 10 pin mini-USB connector: no answer, we don't understand what you are asking........
I wanted to have the position of the on-off switch of my E520 moved/turned to the setup from the E410: sory, imposible (> we don't want to do that)

Oly seems to have themselves setup for the amateur market with amateur questions................ stupid !

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2009
padgreen's Avatar
padgreen padgreen is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 148
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

I got the camera today. Still can't get over Olympus' Customer Service. I'll give Luton Cameras a ring, I've had stuff repaired by them before.

If you want an E30 Cameraworld in Well's Street in London, off Oxford Street, have them for £749. I think they only have a couple left.
__________________
Cheers

Padgreen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th May 2009
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

What you are asking for is modification, which most of the Olympus Call Centre staff wont have answers for. You best bet would be to ask a dedicated camera shop for advice before buying the camera.

In all fairness to Olympus they have excellent support for all standard questions. Well in my experience that is
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th May 2009
padgreen's Avatar
padgreen padgreen is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 148
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

It may be a modification, but it's one they list on the E30 specs on their website so I don't think its that unusual a question. I don't think it's too much to expect them to know or to be able to find out. The point being that the person I spoke to at Olympus Customer Service went and spoke to a manager who tried looking it up in their documentation and they couldn't find anything about the screen at all.
__________________
Cheers

Padgreen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th May 2009
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 21,906
Thanks: 1,971
Thanked 3,124 Times in 2,434 Posts
Likes: 3,330
Liked 4,396 Times in 2,085 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

Oh dear, it's Corporate Communication Syndrome!

Sometimes in the bank where I work we have a customer come in with a question about a new product or service that we have not heard anything about. Usually a few phone calls within the organisation solves the problem, but it's not always easy to track down the right department. Days later, of course, we receive a staff briefing which, had it been delivered about a week earlier, would have saved a lot of embarrisment and wasted time.

I'm sure Olympus UK Customer Services will eventually receive full documentation covering the procedure from Japan!
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there — even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th May 2009
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 45kms NW of London
Posts: 4,204
Thanks: 296
Thanked 365 Times in 243 Posts
Likes: 1,079
Liked 709 Times in 252 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

Hi Padgreen -

I hope you enjoy your camera.

I'm quite blown over with the IQ Anne is getting from hers. t-up

Regards. Barr1e
__________________
Just like that - gone in a flash! Now in use.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th May 2009
padgreen's Avatar
padgreen padgreen is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 148
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

Hi Barr1e. Thanks, I'm looking forward to taking it out and trying it, once I've worked my way through the manual and found where everything is. One big plus point already though, I'm pleased to see that there is a proper printed manual in the box: when I got my E1 there was only a printed version of the basic manual.
__________________
Cheers

Padgreen
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th May 2009
ringneck's Avatar
ringneck ringneck is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 2,859
Thanks: 59
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Likes: 159
Liked 48 Times in 32 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

It's not only customer service that have no answers.
Sorry to repeat myself as I mentioned this on here just after i joined.
It only took one of you guys minutes to sort me out.

It was when I was at the N.E.C. focus on imaging in Feb. and even the top guy on the OLY stand did not know how I could turn off the auto pop up flash on the 500 or 510..(I was,as usual too lazy to read the manual).........ASTONISHING REALLY.

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26th May 2009
oly_om's Avatar
oly_om oly_om is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ely, UK
Posts: 471
Thanks: 49
Thanked 65 Times in 42 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 70 Times in 28 Posts
Re: Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30

Quote:
Originally Posted by ringneck View Post
It's not only customer service that have no answers.
Sorry to repeat myself as I mentioned this on here just after i joined.
It only took one of you guys minutes to sort me out.

It was when I was at the N.E.C. focus on imaging in Feb. and even the top guy on the OLY stand did not know how I could turn off the auto pop up flash on the 500 or 510..(I was,as usual too lazy to read the manual).........ASTONISHING REALLY.

Keith
That is, frankly, a bit p*** poor. Not exactly a specialist question...

Andy
__________________
Olympus E-30, E-M1 mk1&2 ZD 7-14 f4, PL 25 f1.4D
mZuiko 12-40 f2.8 Pro, 45 f1.8, 60 f2.8, 40-150 f2.8 Pro, 300 f4 Pro
MC-14, HLD-7, HLD-9
Metz 58 AF-2 , Manfrotto 441, Gimbal Head, Velbon Neopod 74

("AndyElliott" @ FTU)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split focusing screen, Yes or No. blu-by-u Olympus E-330 6 25th January 2009 04:19 PM
E-1 Contamination on focussing screen ChrisW Olympus E-1 5 24th January 2009 04:56 PM
Olympus announce cross platform firmware update service for Four Thirds products CaptainD Announcements 6 16th October 2008 09:04 AM
Screen Protector HughofBardfield General accessories 7 18th June 2008 06:11 PM
Olympus Service Announcment, 12-60 SWD R MacE Announcements 34 25th April 2008 07:45 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:27 AM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger