Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M10

Olympus OM-D E-M10 The smallest and lightest Micro Four Thirds camera from Olympus with an integrated Electronic Viewfinder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2015
TClement TClement is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Nonington, Kent
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Button(s) lock-up

I have the OM-D E-10 with the 1.2 firmware - recently installed.

Lately, but not all the time, after I take a shot the f2, playback, and OK buttons do not respond. If I turn off and on it then works fine until the next episode.
Any suggestions.

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd October 2015
Petanque Petanque is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: France
Posts: 159
Thanks: 25
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Likes: 29
Liked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

It is interesting that you have not had any replies as there are some very knowledgeable peope here. It is probably because no one else has experienced this. At the risk of stating the obvious it seems to be something to do with the firmware update, I recently updated mine with no adverse effects, I can only suggest you speak to the people at olympus who may give you some advice.
Hope you get the issue resolved, let us know the outcome
Regards
Gary.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
shotokan101 (23rd October 2015)
  #3  
Old 24th October 2015
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,500
Thanks: 1,999
Thanked 1,270 Times in 998 Posts
Likes: 5,111
Liked 1,880 Times in 1,052 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

The one thing I would suggest is check your SD card as it sounds like it might be a possible cause too. First of all, use genuine brand cards (I prefer Sandisk) & also format the card in camera periodically because an unhappy SD card can cause all sorts of problems. It should also be a fast enough write speed SD card too (I prefer nothing less than Extreme or Extreme Pro).

__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
Wee man (24th October 2015)
  #4  
Old 24th October 2015
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 7,989
Thanks: 630
Thanked 918 Times in 710 Posts
Likes: 2,214
Liked 1,556 Times in 891 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

I agree with Ross.

Also try a full reset and leaving the battery out for a while. I brought a camera back to life after leaving it for several days.

Had to set the time, date, etc., but it worked fine after that...

Good luck
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2015
TClement TClement is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Nonington, Kent
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

Thank you Graham and Ross,

I have a Lexar Professional (150 MB, 1000X) 16 GB card which the camera shop sold to me. I do format on a regular basis.
You mention 'check the SD card' - what does that entail?
I will also do what Graham suggests, trying what Ross suggests first.

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th October 2015
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,500
Thanks: 1,999
Thanked 1,270 Times in 998 Posts
Likes: 5,111
Liked 1,880 Times in 1,052 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

Quote:
Originally Posted by TClement View Post
Thank you Graham and Ross,

I have a Lexar Professional (150 MB, 1000X) 16 GB card which the camera shop sold to me. I do format on a regular basis.
You mention 'check the SD card' - what does that entail?
I will also do what Graham suggests, trying what Ross suggests first.

Tim
I only meant checking on the specs & genuine nature of it (as there are fakes on the market) & you also format the card in camera, so all that should be good. It would be good if you had a second card as well though because it doesn't take too long to fill up 16GB when saving JPEG & RAW which is what I prefer to do. When you take several photos sequentially it will still take a little while to write to the card as the camera may not be as fast as the card you're using & it will show a blinking red symbol in the top left. During that writing time it may disable the use of (some of) those buttons until completed.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
PeterBirder (27th October 2015)
  #7  
Old 28th October 2015
TClement TClement is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Nonington, Kent
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

Thanks again.

Needless to say, even the M10 takes some getting used to it, but it is worth the time.
The little fellow is sitting on the desk with its battery beside it, as Graham suggested.

Here is another question. When it wakes up does anyone have a 'cheat sheet', such as Robin Wong has produced, to reset the camera?

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th October 2015
TClement TClement is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Nonington, Kent
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Button(s) lock-up

This morning I fired it up, did my re-sets and all seems in order again !

Thanks !
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
catkins (29th October 2015), Ross the fiddler (29th October 2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lock ups over? brian1208 Olympus OM-D E-M1 23 13th November 2014 12:49 PM
HLD-6 Lock doesn't lock all! Ross the fiddler Olympus OM-D E-M5 18 16th April 2013 01:23 AM
Lock on 18-180 weecountyman Telephoto 6 2nd December 2012 08:39 PM
HELP! Button Lock Graham_of_Rainham Olympus Pen E-PL1 4 10th February 2011 09:08 AM
Lock SAF+MF Alan Clogwyn Olympus E-520 6 21st October 2010 09:20 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:12 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger