Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk > Flash

Flash FL-related discussions can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th October 2014
brian1208 brian1208 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,561
Thanks: 825
Thanked 928 Times in 741 Posts
Likes: 1,962
Liked 1,325 Times in 625 Posts
Can the FL600R be used in mulit-flash "strobe" mode

I've looked through the manual and here and can't see if this has already been answered, so apologies if I've missed it.

I have a shoot coming up where I want to capture the model dancing and leaping using multi-flash / shot mode (stroboscopic effect)

I plan to use two FL600R heads remotely positioned in a large rather grungy old building, controlled from the on-board kit flash

Having spent an hour or so trying to find the setting I want I had to admit defeat

Is this even possible with this flash?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th October 2014
Daveart Daveart is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cartaxo Portugal, formally from Ross on wye UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 33
Thanked 85 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 39 Times in 32 Posts
Re: Can the FL600R be used in mulit-flash "strobe" mode

Hi not sure what you are after, but I would try setting one on first curtain and the second on second curtain which should give 2flashes one slightly after the other, which would in theory give a double exposure effect, where the dancer world appear in two places in the photo, assuming that is the effect you are after.
In film days I used a disco/thearatrical strobe adjusting the flash rate and shot at 1/30th second and produced a photo of a dancer that was echoed 4/5 times. Through. The shot.

Dave
__________________
My Published Book: http://www.blurb.com/my/book/detail/2771168
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2014
brian1208 brian1208 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,561
Thanks: 825
Thanked 928 Times in 741 Posts
Likes: 1,962
Liked 1,325 Times in 625 Posts
Re: Can the FL600R be used in mulit-flash "strobe" mode

thanks Dave, on my canon flash I could set it so that it flashed (from memory) anything up to around 10 consecutive flashes whilst the shutter was open - as shown in this article

http://cpn.canon-europe.com/content/...eedlites_IV.do

I thought there was a way of doing it with Olympus flashes too but can't find any references to the technique
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2014
Daveart Daveart is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cartaxo Portugal, formally from Ross on wye UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 33
Thanked 85 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 39 Times in 32 Posts
Re: Can the FL600R be used in mulit-flash "strobe" mode

Hi Brian, I don't know if Olympus do a multi sequence speed flash, but I seem to remember a third party making one that you entered the number of flashes per cycle on long shutter speeds is 1 second duration. I should have a link somewhere on my computer, unfortunately I'm away at the moment, sorry not much help to you at the moment.

Dave
If you could find a variable light strobe you could prob use that with a trigger to sink with the shutter that's what we did in film days.
__________________
My Published Book: http://www.blurb.com/my/book/detail/2771168
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th October 2014
Daveart Daveart is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cartaxo Portugal, formally from Ross on wye UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 33
Thanked 85 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 39 Times in 32 Posts
Re: Can the FL600R be used in mulit-flash "strobe" mode

Hi brian, just found the name of the flash its could pixapro 580 you can programs from 2 to 100 flashes in multi strobe flash mode sorry I son,t haveweb address with me as Simon my tablet, maybe Google it, they are for ollypmus digital cameras, they can work remotely with a mounted flash.
Price I think about 170.00.

Dave
__________________
My Published Book: http://www.blurb.com/my/book/detail/2771168
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th October 2014
brian1208 brian1208 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,561
Thanks: 825
Thanked 928 Times in 741 Posts
Likes: 1,962
Liked 1,325 Times in 625 Posts
Re: Can the FL600R be used in mulit-flash "strobe" mode

thanks for the info Dave - shame as it was a great function to have on the canon system (so simple to set up and use) and I had hoped to be able to do something similar with the 600R

Oh well, I guess I will have to try shooting high frame rate with the power of the flash dialled right down (to get rapid fire flash to match the shutter action) and dial up the ISO to get the shutter speed I want

Hmm, I've only got a 2 hour session booked, could be interesting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Record Mode" determine the quality of RAW files? pandora Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads 11 20th October 2013 07:04 AM
Focus "Hunting" in Snow scene mode Graham_of_Rainham Micro Four Thirds 0 5th February 2012 11:41 AM
"All" vs "Not Transferred Yet" When Uploading - Can I Set A Default On Launch? Phaedrus Software 1 4th July 2011 08:52 AM
"Hydra" FLASH MkII Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 12 29th November 2009 07:06 PM
12 Head "Ring" Flash Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 28 22nd November 2008 02:10 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger