Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk > Flash

Flash FL-related discussions can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th April 2008
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,006
Thanks: 66
Thanked 236 Times in 119 Posts
Likes: 15
Liked 73 Times in 44 Posts
Wireless Flash Query

I have been looking at the FL-50R Wireless Flash. I am not 100% sure how this can be used if you have say two FL-50Rs.

I believe you use the pop-up flash on the E-3 to communicate with the FL-50R. So if you had a two flash setup could you mount one flash on the hotshoe and use the pop-up flash to control the second or for multiple flash units do they always have to be mounted off camera? If the latter can you have one inline with the camera as it will not be insight of the pop-up flash for control.

Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th April 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,338
Thanks: 412
Thanked 2,421 Times in 1,218 Posts
Likes: 815
Liked 1,627 Times in 723 Posts
Re: Wireless Flash Query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invicta View Post
I have been looking at the FL-50R Wireless Flash. I am not 100% sure how this can be used if you have say two FL-50Rs.

I believe you use the pop-up flash on the E-3 to communicate with the FL-50R. So if you had a two flash setup could you mount one flash on the hotshoe and use the pop-up flash to control the second or for multiple flash units do they always have to be mounted off camera? If the latter can you have one inline with the camera as it will not be insight of the pop-up flash for control.

Many thanks
Anything mounted on the shoe will prevent the pop-up flash from operating on the E-3. I don't believe (but i will check) that the remote flash system can work without the pop-up flash, so I guess you would need to use a stand for the unit that you need to place close to the camera. If that places the flash behind the on-camera unit and out of direct line of site, I would hope that reflection off the subject would maintain the wireless communication, but that's pure guesswork on my part.

Good question though! Let me do some digging...

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th April 2008
Jim
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Wireless Flash Query

I am not 100% sure if this is a possible work-a-round or not.

Could the 'External Flash Connector' be used for a 2nd flash mounted on a flash bracket. This would in principle allow the onboard flash to still pop up and control the FL-50R or FL36R.

If this worked the you could get a bracket that allows the flash to be mounted above the lens at all times.

The alternative is to simply mount a FL-50R or FL-36R on the backet described above and let the remote signal trigger both off camera and bracket mounted flashes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd May 2008
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 9,162
Thanks: 371
Thanked 524 Times in 441 Posts
Likes: 3,139
Liked 2,191 Times in 1,443 Posts
Re: Wireless Flash Query

Please note that whilst the flash can be fired remotely, it must be used in manual or auto modes, as TTL metering will not work using the wireless link.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd May 2008
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 152
Thanked 311 Times in 235 Posts
Likes: 397
Liked 486 Times in 269 Posts
Re: Wireless Flash Query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naughty Nigel View Post
Please note that whilst the flash can be fired remotely, it must be used in manual or auto modes, as TTL metering will not work using the wireless link.

HTH
Ah.

Thanks for that I think you've just saved me an "upgrade" which would have been more frustration than benefit

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th January 2009
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 7,986
Thanks: 630
Thanked 918 Times in 710 Posts
Likes: 2,212
Liked 1,556 Times in 891 Posts
Re: Wireless Flash Query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naughty Nigel View Post
Please note that whilst the flash can be fired remotely, it must be used in manual or auto modes, as TTL metering will not work using the wireless link.

HTH
My new E-3 & two FL50Rs work well in TTL mode and even Super FP works.

The easy way to get any other flash to work is with a slave sensor (don't want to risk HV getting to the E-3)

Classic wisdom on flash says it should all be done in manual mode anyway and the E-3 makes this so easy with the remote communication.

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd February 2009
Jonesgj's Avatar
Jonesgj Jonesgj is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Lincs UK
Posts: 724
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Wireless Flash Query

Not sure whether to add to this thread or post separately - Let me know!

I have just bought an FL36R (Just before the price went up!)

I have an E520, and now that I am sure I can't find it in the instruction booklets for both devices, it seems as though if I want to use the FL36R as a remote flash, I must use the pop-up flash on the E520 as the trigger.

Is this right? Has anyone experience in this matter?

I wanted to use the flash off-camera to experiment with. On-camera its fantastic, I'm getting (for me) some great shots.

Regards

Graydon
__________________
My RedBubble pages
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BLM-1 replacement query Invicta Accessory talk 32 6th July 2008 10:13 AM
Focus query RogerMac Olympus E-510 2 17th April 2008 12:15 PM
Blue Tit - tried with flash... theMusicMan Foto Fair 3 9th April 2008 07:03 AM
New RC Flash - FL-50R / FL-36R dlinney Flash 2 7th December 2007 11:59 PM
E-410 Lens/Mount Query John R Olympus E-410 5 20th November 2007 09:52 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger