Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Site news and information > Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads

Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads A new e-Group area for all the wonderful tutorials and helpful threads put on here by our members. Tutorials on using software, camera hardware - and feel free to request a tutorial if you need assistance!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 6th January 2016
drmarkf's Avatar
drmarkf drmarkf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 4,576
Thanks: 290
Thanked 417 Times in 351 Posts
Likes: 1,586
Liked 1,068 Times in 603 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Hard luck. It would be wonderful if all settings could be saved to an SD card and reloaded, but it seems to be impossible or they'd have done it by now. Another one to add to the E-M1 mkII feature request list.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

------------------------------
http://www.microcontrast.com
Too much Oly gear.
Panasonic 12-35, 15. Samyang 7.5 fisheye. Laowa 7.5.
Assorted legacy lenses, plus a Fuji X70.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
RobEW (3 Days Ago)
  #17  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

After the reset the ISO is now working normally however!!...... I have a 15mm Pana attached and the viewfinder and live view image looks as if it is magnified?

However the recorded is the correct field of view with a white box showing the magnify view........ Can anyone help ...........AGAIN

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 6th January 2016
Olybirder Olybirder is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 6,035
Thanks: 2,292
Thanked 931 Times in 739 Posts
Likes: 1,618
Liked 2,455 Times in 772 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by wes4390 View Post
After the reset the ISO is now working normally however!!...... I have a 15mm Pana attached and the viewfinder and live view image looks as if it is magnified?

However the recorded is the correct field of view with a white box showing the magnify view........ Can anyone help ...........AGAIN

Thanks
I would check to see if you have the digital teleconverter mode activated.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Sorted .....I think I had the digital/teleconvertor switched on
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Have to say I've found the menu a bit daunting, but I suppose I will become a bit more proficient with use ........ really loving the camera though reminds me of my old 2SP
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
RobEW (3 Days Ago)
  #21  
Old 6th January 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 7,668
Thanks: 605
Thanked 898 Times in 692 Posts
Likes: 2,081
Liked 1,421 Times in 821 Posts
Lightbulb Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

I was rather hopeful that the Capture software would provide the "save settings" function.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Thanks for the help everyone , much appreciated and

ED.... I went to Newcastle for my first holiday, my grandmother had a caravan in Tullymore, small world eh.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 6th January 2016
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 3,704
Thanks: 179
Thanked 607 Times in 537 Posts
Likes: 408
Liked 645 Times in 440 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Welcome to the forum wes. One of the less enchanting things about the Olys is that after a major firmware upgrade, the camera wipes all your settings - fair enough I suppose, but as others have said there is no facility for backing up your current settings. The only answer is to record your changes and re-apply after an update. There are various spreadsheets around to help with this, I don't have one but I'm sure someone will point you at some suggestions.

John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bikie John For This Useful Post:
wes4390 (6th January 2016)
  #24  
Old 6th January 2016
alfbranch's Avatar
alfbranch alfbranch is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Whitehaven Cumbria
Posts: 6,321
Thanks: 1,501
Thanked 764 Times in 725 Posts
Likes: 1,030
Liked 2,354 Times in 835 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by wes4390 View Post
Have to say I've found the menu a bit daunting, but I suppose I will become a bit more proficient with use ........ really loving the camera though reminds me of my old 2SP
I bought an OM2sp (again) last month I need to get the films developed now.
__________________
OMD E-M1 OMD E-M5II MMF3 12-40 pro 12-50 EZ 14-42 EZ 9-18 f4.0 -5.6 40 -150f4-f5.6 R 60mm f2.8 macro Sigma 105 f2.8 macro Holga 60mm plastic Holga pinhole lens lens and a XZ-1 Olympus - 35 SP Trip 35 Pen EEs OM2sp

I nice view does not mean a good photograph. My FLickr

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Loved mine ....sorry I sold it
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 25th January 2016
timboo timboo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 895
Thanks: 74
Thanked 69 Times in 59 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 121 Times in 80 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

there is also an option under the PAS menu to tell the camera what to do in terms of ISO, can also select upper and lower values.
__________________
EM-1 MK1 - No website containing any of my photos until I'm good enough!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to timboo For This Useful Post:
wes4390 (25th January 2016)
  #27  
Old 1 Week Ago
janshien janshien is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Had similar issue. Could not set ISO. Had to do a reset on the camera
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 3 Days Ago
RobEW RobEW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,448
Thanks: 140
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
Likes: 857
Liked 116 Times in 81 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Mine functions okay, but I can't make up my mind whether I prefer auto ISO (with quite a narrow range: 200-640) or whether I prefer to alter it manually. I tend to avoid the little lever as I too often forget to return it into top position, so I use SCP to adjust it, which is a few more button presses. auto ISO sometimes seems to make the wrong compromises for my circumstances - e.g. if I have a static subject and steady support, I'd rather have a longer exposure than a higher ISO. But the camera can't know those things.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 3 Days Ago
RobEW RobEW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,448
Thanks: 140
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
Likes: 857
Liked 116 Times in 81 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmarkf View Post
Hard luck. It would be wonderful if all settings could be saved to an SD card and reloaded, but it seems to be impossible or they'd have done it by now. Another one to add to the E-M1 mkII feature request list.
I'm not a mark ii owner but I think that did make it to the spec.

I'm sure they could add it to the E-M1 Classic spec with a firmware update if they wanted, but they might not want to. Would be useful not only to reinstate settings after updates (or flat battery - I noticed that lost all my settings on a rarely used E-M5 II. It would also be useful if you have two bodies which you want to keep in step.

On of my bet beefs on the menus. when you want to save a set of settings to a Myset, you press a button labelled "set". And when you want to load a set of settings from a Myset, you also use a button labelled "set". It's too easy to get this wrong. The buttons should be labelled something like "Load" and "Save" or similar.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 3 Days Ago
drmarkf's Avatar
drmarkf drmarkf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 4,576
Thanks: 290
Thanked 417 Times in 351 Posts
Likes: 1,586
Liked 1,068 Times in 603 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobEW View Post
I'm not a mark ii owner but I think that did make it to the spec.

I'm sure they could add it to the E-M1 Classic spec with a firmware update if they wanted, but they might not want to. Would be useful not only to reinstate settings after updates (or flat battery - I noticed that lost all my settings on a rarely used E-M5 II. It would also be useful if you have two bodies which you want to keep in step.

On of my bet beefs on the menus. when you want to save a set of settings to a Myset, you press a button labelled "set". And when you want to load a set of settings from a Myset, you also use a button labelled "set". It's too easy to get this wrong. The buttons should be labelled something like "Load" and "Save" or similar.
Yes, my comment was made before the release of the 1ii.

I agree autoISO can lead to unnecessarily high ISO for static subjects: although I use auto a lot for street and travel photography, Iíve learned to set ISO myself when it starts to get darker.

On the 1ii Iíve mapped the button next to the shutter release to do that, so I just need to spin the front dial.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

------------------------------
http://www.microcontrast.com
Too much Oly gear.
Panasonic 12-35, 15. Samyang 7.5 fisheye. Laowa 7.5.
Assorted legacy lenses, plus a Fuji X70.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
RobEW (3 Days Ago)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto LV after V2 David Morison Olympus OM-D E-M1 0 17th October 2014 06:04 PM
Auto Ibis - what do you think of it? Alpha1 Olympus OM-D E-M1 3 5th October 2013 12:09 PM
Help please - OMD auto ISO Rens Olympus OM-D E-M5 5 25th November 2012 01:50 PM
Auto ISO StephenL Olympus E-620/600 3 15th September 2009 06:40 PM
Auto focus? yorky The lounge 0 15th June 2008 02:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger