Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 6 Days Ago
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 4,022
Thanks: 810
Thanked 589 Times in 536 Posts
Likes: 780
Liked 2,250 Times in 857 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Glad you're sorted.
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 6 Days Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Typical, the camera will still not trigger the studio flash in high res mode. The radio trigger is a single pin, hot shoe mounted trigger and I'm told by Olympus that it won't work, as it's the back four pins that are used to trigger the flash....even though it will trigger the flashes in single shot mode !

Back to square one now and Olympus can't help!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 6 Days Ago
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 4,022
Thanks: 810
Thanked 589 Times in 536 Posts
Likes: 780
Liked 2,250 Times in 857 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Peanut slave fired from the mini flash?
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 6 Days Ago
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,302
Thanks: 36
Thanked 263 Times in 202 Posts
Likes: 6
Liked 251 Times in 183 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

A reset resolved the orientation issue on my camera - fortunately I had used the Olympus Viewer 3 to save the camera settings before the Reset took place. I was then able to reload my settings to the camera without any issues.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 6 Days Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
Peanut slave fired from the mini flash?
I'm going to look into this further when I get chance. Still can't believe that the camera will fire the flash in single shot mode but not in high res mode!
Also, my studio setup worked fine with the EM5 Mk2 in both single shot and high res mode....really baffling!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 5 Days Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I've since tried this with a PC sync cable plugged into the camera via PC socket and directly connected to studio light. Again, it fires without issue in single shot mode but in high res mode, nothing. I've checked that silent shot flash is allowed!

This has got to be a bug but Olympus don't appear to want to acknowledge this.

Olympus are aiming this camera at studio product photography but it won't fire studio lights (except by mounting the FL-LM3 and triggering the studio lights optically)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 5 Days Ago
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,244
Thanks: 490
Thanked 761 Times in 570 Posts
Likes: 1,552
Liked 883 Times in 548 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by super_claret View Post
...Olympus are aiming this camera at studio product photography but it won't fire studio lights (except by mounting the FL-LM3 and triggering the studio lights optically)
I have posed this issue to Robin Wong and so far he has confirmed that it works with the new FL guns. I'm waiting for a reply to the specific question on the old FL-36/50s and single contact triggers.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 5 Days Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
I have posed this issue to Robin Wong and so far he has confirmed that it works with the new FL guns. I'm waiting for a reply to the specific question on the old FL-36/50s and single contact triggers.
How bizarre though that it works perfectly with the EM5 Mk2! It just doesn't make any sense that they would change the way the high res shot triggers flash.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 5 Days Ago
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,244
Thanks: 490
Thanked 761 Times in 570 Posts
Likes: 1,552
Liked 883 Times in 548 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by super_claret View Post
How bizarre though that it works perfectly with the EM5 Mk2! It just doesn't make any sense that they would change the way the high res shot triggers flash.
I agree. I shall be disappointed if it will not fire my FL-50Rs & FL-36R.

I also thought the PC connector would be the one thing that would work to provide backwards compatibility. But electronic shutters are so different to physical ones that I can understand why it does not work.

Hopefully Olympus will be able to correct this.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 4 Days Ago
c12402 c12402 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pinto
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Appparently next Week we may have a firmware upgrade to em11.2

Let's see if this issue is addressed
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 2 Days Ago
kbouk kbouk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Piraeus - Greece
Posts: 47
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 12 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I hope so because my old FL36 has problems with compatible Canon hot shoe cord espessially on silent mode.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 18 Hours Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by c12402 View Post
Appparently next Week we may have a firmware upgrade to em11.2

Let's see if this issue is addressed
I wouldn't hold your breath as Olympus UK claim there isn't a problem!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 18 Hours Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Just spoken again to Olympus UK and they have said...

"the reason the flash won't fire is because high res shot is an Olympus specific mode and can only be used with Olympus flash"

I asked the question "why does the EM5 Mk2 fire studio flash with a radio trigger"? The response I got was "the EM5 Mk2 is a completely different camera to the EM1 Mk2"

Not having much luck with this one I'm afraid
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 17 Hours Ago
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,244
Thanks: 490
Thanked 761 Times in 570 Posts
Likes: 1,552
Liked 883 Times in 548 Posts
Question Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I'm still waiting on an answer as to if the old FL-36R and 50R will work, or has it got to be a new style gun?
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 17 Hours Ago
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
I'm still waiting on an answer as to if the old FL-36R and 50R will work, or has it got to be a new style gun?
Good luck with that Graham. Do you own the Mk2 or are you asking the question with a view to purchasing one?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High res shot problem super_claret Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II 13 2 Weeks Ago 09:12 AM
Olympus high res shot plugin not working super_claret Software 1 4 Weeks Ago 11:57 AM
Future of High Res Shot mode Invicta Camera conference 2 16th February 2015 10:41 PM
Flash settings not working Olybirder Olympus OM-D E-M1 2 20th October 2013 12:41 PM
First studio shot.. brianvickers Foto Fair 1 31st October 2012 07:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2015, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger