Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th March 2019
Mdb2's Avatar
Mdb2 Mdb2 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 523
Thanks: 70
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Assign hi res to depth of view button

Playing with my camera this morning I was perplexed as to applying high res 50mp raw to the depth of field button. Is it possible? What am I missing?
Kind regards Mike
__________________
http://www.wingsofnature.org
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th March 2019
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,572
Thanks: 2,004
Thanked 1,274 Times in 1,002 Posts
Likes: 5,156
Liked 1,892 Times in 1,058 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdb2 View Post
Playing with my camera this morning I was perplexed as to applying high res 50mp raw to the depth of field button. Is it possible? What am I missing?
Kind regards Mike
Hi Res is a selection in Drive Mode. I've never made use of My Set or Custom settings but I know an Olympus rep in Aus set his My Set on the E-M1X to his Record button for Hi Res use. I don't think that option is possible in the E-M1 II though, just setting the Custom dial option as far as I know, although to set up the Hi Res it's in the User 2 Menu list.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
Mdb2 (18th March 2019), OM USer (20th March 2019)
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (18th March 2019)
  #3  
Old 18th March 2019
Mdb2's Avatar
Mdb2 Mdb2 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 523
Thanks: 70
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

Thanks Ross, I have tried a number of ways to to it, but it’s defeated me,
Kind regards Mike
__________________
http://www.wingsofnature.org
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mdb2 For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (19th March 2019)
  #4  
Old 19th March 2019
Mdb2's Avatar
Mdb2 Mdb2 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 523
Thanks: 70
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

Ok a hundred and fifty views so far can this be done or not? Any ideas?
Kind regards Mike
__________________
http://www.wingsofnature.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th March 2019
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 11,840
Thanks: 797
Thanked 609 Times in 567 Posts
Likes: 5,855
Liked 3,169 Times in 1,471 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

NO...…………

Goto MENU, Custom Menu (cogs), the to B. Scroll through what functions can be assigned to a button, almost everything other than shutter functions;

magnify
hdr
bracket
iso/wb
wb/iso
multifunction
peaking
level display
view selection
s-ovf
af limiter
preset mf
lens info setting
is mode
flicker scan
off ?
ael/afl
preview
one touch wb
af area select
home
mf
raw
test picture
fish??
exposure+_
digital tele converter
keystone comp
fisheye comp
magnify

Gone round 365 degrees, alas no shutter functions.

But they can be assigned to the custom settings (C1,C2 or C3)

You can also leave that setting on the Aperture, Speed settings, where they can be accessed as in a custom setting...…..As long as you don't change it.

I have set the A(perture) mode to focus bracketing. Saves a load of time going through the Oly menus...………

Phew, hope that helps and also hope I am right...……..
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MJ224 For This Useful Post:
Keith-369 (19th March 2019), Mdb2 (19th March 2019), OM USer (20th March 2019)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Mdb2 (19th March 2019), RobEW (19th March 2019), Ross the fiddler (19th March 2019), wornish (30th March 2019)
  #6  
Old 19th March 2019
Mdb2's Avatar
Mdb2 Mdb2 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 523
Thanks: 70
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

Many many thanks mj224, very much appreciated. Thought it was me that couldn’t work it out.
Again thanks and kind regards Mike.
__________________
http://www.wingsofnature.org
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mdb2 For This Useful Post:
MJ224 (19th March 2019)
  #7  
Old 20th March 2019
snerkler snerkler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 757
Thanks: 286
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Likes: 166
Liked 325 Times in 84 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

I don't believe that it can be done either. However, I have set up custom mode 3 as high res so it's just a quick turn of the dial and everything's set up
__________________
Nikon Z7, 70-200mm f2.8 VRII, 18-35mm f3.5-4.5G, 24-70mm f4, 85m f1.8, 50mm f1.8, Nikon SB-700.

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, 12-40mm f2.8, Panasonic Leica 100-400mm, 40-150mm f2.8, 40-150mm f4-5.6 R, 45mm f1.8

My Flickr
https://www.flickr.com/photos/99443690@N04/

www.tobygunneephotography.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to snerkler For This Useful Post:
Mdb2 (30th March 2019)
The Following User Liked This Post:
Mdb2 (30th March 2019)
  #8  
Old 30th March 2019
Mdb2's Avatar
Mdb2 Mdb2 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 523
Thanks: 70
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Re: Assign hi res to depth of view button

Quote:
Originally Posted by snerkler View Post
I don't believe that it can be done either. However, I have set up custom mode 3 as high res so it's just a quick turn of the dial and everything's set up
Hi Snerkler, just back from Scotland, please could you expand on you input.
Kind regards Mike.
__________________
http://www.wingsofnature.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assign button to Mono, another to 1:1 format. Dave in Wales Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II 5 21st February 2019 01:07 PM
E-M5 Mk2 - assign metering mode to Fn button iberia Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II 2 5th November 2016 12:14 PM
assign M/F to record button on EM5 Mk1 jongonfishin Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads 2 11th August 2015 11:09 PM
E620 function button/depth of field preview davidsa Olympus E-620/600 7 26th July 2009 04:17 PM
Depth of Field Preview with Live View? Jim Ford Olympus E-3 4 23rd June 2009 09:27 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:40 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger