Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
David M's Avatar
David M David M is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 5,282
Thanks: 32
Thanked 578 Times in 544 Posts
Likes: 62
Liked 757 Times in 473 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuiko View Post
I'll let you guys iron out the bugs and in 5 years I'll buy one of your cameras in perfect working order for about 250.
Early adopters have been beta testers for Olympus since the OM4 started shipping in the early 80's.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 349
Thanked 261 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 308
Liked 756 Times in 448 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Early adopters have been beta testers for Olympus since the OM4 started shipping in the early 80's.
And for every other manufacturer under the sun. Olympus are no different, it's a facet of technology. Software and firmware, and under limiting conditions even hardware, are so complex that the human designer cannot possibly discover all the design errors. It's for this reason that fly by wire aircraft have multiple processing systems, with an arbiter as well. Each hardware design solution is different, and the software different too, in terms of programming language and compiler. This is chosen to minimise the risk of human failure.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
brian1208 (4 Weeks Ago), drmarkf (4 Weeks Ago)
  #18  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
David M's Avatar
David M David M is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 5,282
Thanks: 32
Thanked 578 Times in 544 Posts
Likes: 62
Liked 757 Times in 473 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoh View Post
And for every other manufacturer under the sun. Olympus are no different, it's a facet of technology. Software and firmware, and under limiting conditions even hardware, are so complex that the human designer cannot possibly discover all the design errors. It's for this reason that fly by wire aircraft have multiple processing systems, with an arbiter as well. Each hardware design solution is different, and the software different too, in terms of programming language and compiler. This is chosen to minimise the risk of human failure.
One reason why I turned down the offer of a R system in the mid 90's. I'd already thrown my OM4 across a car park but knew I could rely on my OM2n's to get the shot.

I remember Nikon and Canon having issues with some of their 'pro' models over the years, the F3 being particularly amusing as it affected some of my competitors at the time.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 18,607
Thanks: 1,796
Thanked 2,659 Times in 2,055 Posts
Likes: 2,135
Liked 2,841 Times in 1,337 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Early adopters have been beta testers for Olympus since the OM4 started shipping in the early 80's.
I was late to the game even back then with the OM4Ti. Initially I couldn't see the point of the all-singing, all-dancing newcomer as I thought my OM-1 did all I required. That only changed when the manager of my local camera shop phoned to tell me he had taken a mint 4Ti in part exchange and thought I might be interested. Initially I declined but he offered to let me try it over the weekend and on Monday I was back at the shop flexing my credit card. I experienced none of the battery drain or circuit board problems of the original OM-4.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
David M's Avatar
David M David M is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 5,282
Thanks: 32
Thanked 578 Times in 544 Posts
Likes: 62
Liked 757 Times in 473 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuiko View Post
I was late to the game even back then with the OM4Ti. Initially I couldn't see the point of the all-singing, all-dancing newcomer as I thought my OM-1 did all I required. That only changed when the manager of my local camera shop phoned to tell me he had taken a mint 4Ti in part exchange and thought I might be interested. Initially I declined but he offered to let me try it over the weekend and on Monday I was back at the shop flexing my credit card. I experienced none of the battery drain or circuit board problems of the original OM-4.
I had one of the first batch of OM4 into the UK so had discovered two of the problems before anything appeared in the photo press. Olympus had already replaced the metering stud on the lens mount of mine before they issued a warning.

But I've never understood why I had so many shutter and circuit board issues compared to other OM4/4Ti users.

My OM1 on the other hand suffered massive abuse and never let me down.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Zuiko (4 Weeks Ago)
  #21  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
G2EWS's Avatar
G2EWS G2EWS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire
Posts: 150
Thanks: 41
Thanked 73 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Having thought about this more, I realised there was one other possible addition to the settings that may have added to the problem.

The camera was set with a preview of the photo you just took. I had not turned this feature off when it happened.

However I turned it back on and could not get it to fail this afternoon.

So Murphy's law will have to see if it strikes again.

I do understand there may be a software update for the lens as well. so will also look into that later.

Regards

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 10,007
Thanks: 1,635
Thanked 995 Times in 782 Posts
Likes: 3,231
Liked 1,025 Times in 641 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by G2EWS View Post
Having thought about this more, I realised there was one other possible addition to the settings that may have added to the problem.

The camera was set with a preview of the photo you just took. I had not turned this feature off when it happened.

However I turned it back on and could not get it to fail this afternoon.

So Murphy's law will have to see if it strikes again.

I do understand there may be a software update for the lens as well. so will also look into that later.

Regards

Chris
The latest FW update 4.2 for the E-M1 has issues similarly around the same operation (with Rec View off). I wonder if there is a related FW bug?
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Cameras: OM-D E-M1/HLD-7, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5/HLD-6.
Lenses: M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, ZD12-60 SWD, ZD50-200 SWD, EC14, EC20, EX25, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 9 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Mdb2's Avatar
Mdb2 Mdb2 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 301
Thanks: 12
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 10
Liked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I would have thought with all of the Olympus ambassadors worldwide trying out the gear before it goes on sale to the public, these problems should of been sorted?
But that's me being old fashioned!
Kind regards mike
__________________
http://www.wingsofnature.org
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 2,645
Thanks: 320
Thanked 549 Times in 432 Posts
Likes: 29
Liked 1,978 Times in 726 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdb2 View Post
I would have thought with all of the Olympus ambassadors worldwide trying out the gear before it goes on sale to the public, these problems should of been sorted?
But that's me being old fashioned!
Kind regards mike
We've probably multiplied by 100, or even 1000 the number of people using the camera now so it's not surprising if hard-to-find bugs manifest themselves more frequently.
__________________
Paul
E-M1, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (4 Weeks Ago)
  #25  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Bassman51's Avatar
Bassman51 Bassman51 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Two lockups in the last 24 hours.

Two well-broken in SD cards in slots 1 and 2. Neither are UHS-II.
Panasonic 35-100/2.8 mounted both times.

Incident 1: camera locked with a highly disfocused image in the EVF. LCD was turned inward. Dismounting and remou ting the lens had no effect. Power off/on worked, but had no effect. Other buttons inoperative.

Incident 2: in the video menu, entire camera locked. All buttons including power lever inop.

In both cases removing the battery resolved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Bassman51's Avatar
Bassman51 Bassman51 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Two instances of lockup over the weekend, both resolved by removing the battery, both with the Panasonic 35-100/2.8 mounted.

- the camera froze after being turned on with a blurry image in the EVF, nothing on the LCD and all buttons including power unresponsive

- the camera froze a second time while shooting. This time the power lever worked, but had no other effect. An image was frozen on the LCD. No other controls responded.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Grumpy Hec's Avatar
Grumpy Hec Grumpy Hec is offline
Grumpy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mersea Island, Essex
Posts: 2,085
Thanks: 196
Thanked 304 Times in 239 Posts
Likes: 405
Liked 373 Times in 174 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdk42 View Post
We've probably multiplied by 100, or even 1000 the number of people using the camera now so it's not surprising if hard-to-find bugs manifest themselves more frequently.
Absolutely. Some things are incredibly hard to find in testing.

Many years ago I used to install and commission electronic telephone exchanges. We used to use large testers to generate millions of calls to try and simulate load conditions and odd combinations of calls, routes and the like. Yet in spite of that it was not unusual to get strange bugs appear, sometimes within minutes, of putting real customers onto the exchange. People do unexpected things and in the right combination of circumstances bugs appear.

Similar things happened later in my career when I dealt with pure software. No matter how much carefully planned testing you do when you try and predict all sorts of combinations of events, when real usage occurs its not uncommon to see bugs. It is frustrating for all and actually expensive for the company as cost of failure is typically twice that, at least, of getting it right first time.

Hec
__________________
I've worked hard to be this grumpy. It hasn't been easy at times but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
birdboy birdboy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 315
Thanked 206 Times in 172 Posts
Likes: 146
Liked 221 Times in 118 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I had something like a lockup yesterday. I was using the Procapture mode with the Olympus 300mm f4 Pro lens and when I went to view the pictures using the blue button nothing happened I could however scroll though the menus. I could not take another picture and there was nothing indicating that camera was saving. The battery was low at about 20%. Turning on and off had no effect but taking the battery out and in did work and it was back to normal operation. It was not long after this that the battery ran out so I am thinking battery related.
__________________
John

OM-D E-M1, 12-40 f2.8 Pro, Tamron 14-150mm f5.8, E5, E3, Zuiko 50-200mm SWD, Zuiko 12-60mm SWD, Zuiko ED 70-300mm f5.6, 50mmf2, Zuiko ED 9-18mm f5.6, Sigma 50-500mm f6.3, EC14, EC20, RM-1, VA-1
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 2,273
Thanks: 33
Thanked 131 Times in 92 Posts
Likes: 44
Liked 133 Times in 80 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

The definition given to me when I started programming

Only trivial programs have no bugs when first coded
Therefore any program with no bugs first time is trivial
The skill is in not creating trivial bugs in complex code
Learn from your mistakes and don't do them again

My experience ... The trouble with really complex things is that it is rarely just one developer and most problems are inter subsystem communications

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit
E500, E510, E30, 35, 50, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45, 14-54, 40-150, 50-200, 70-300, 50-500, FL20, FL36, FL50 etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://shenstonephoto.blogspot.com/
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 349
Thanked 261 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 308
Liked 756 Times in 448 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Part of the problem is in the inability to write an unambiguous requirement specifications, enter Rational Rhapsody based on UML, using graphical models.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Lock-up. paullus Olympus OM-D E-M1 10 21st December 2014 03:25 PM
HELP! TTL Lock??? niranhopper Flash 6 29th August 2014 03:13 PM
HLD-6 Lock doesn't lock all! Ross the fiddler Olympus OM-D E-M5 18 16th April 2013 02:23 AM
Lock SAF+MF Alan Clogwyn Olympus E-520 6 21st October 2010 10:20 AM
Lock up sapper Olympus E-3 17 7th November 2008 01:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2015, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger