Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th December 2016
G2EWS's Avatar
G2EWS G2EWS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire
Posts: 150
Thanks: 41
Thanked 73 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
EM1 MKII Lock Up

Morning all,

Thought I would let you know that whilst out and about doing a bit of street photography yesterday the OMD EM1 MkII locked up twice!

I had the new 12-100 on both times and I am certain it was as I took a few shots very quickly. Not in multi shot, but pressing the shutter myself.

Only way out was to remove the battery.

Will keep an eye on it and report back if it happens again and what circumstances.

Regards


Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th December 2016
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 3,601
Thanks: 326
Thanked 780 Times in 594 Posts
Likes: 51
Liked 3,148 Times in 1,084 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Guess you'll need to wait for firmware v 1.1 (or 1.2 or 2.0).
Lots of new tech = lots of new software = bugs!
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th December 2016
G2EWS's Avatar
G2EWS G2EWS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire
Posts: 150
Thanks: 41
Thanked 73 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

You may well be right Paul,

Guess I am interested to see if anyone else has experienced the same problem.

Regards

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th December 2016
birdboy birdboy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,207
Thanks: 326
Thanked 207 Times in 173 Posts
Likes: 150
Liked 231 Times in 121 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I wonder if this is a lens related problem Andy (andym) reported a similar problem and he was using a 12-100. I have not had any lock up problems yet touch wood and have used a variety of lenses edit but not the 12-100.
__________________
John

OM-D E-M1, 12-40 f2.8 Pro, Tamron 14-150mm f5.8, E5, E3, Zuiko 50-200mm SWD, Zuiko 12-60mm SWD, Zuiko ED 70-300mm f5.6, 50mmf2, Zuiko ED 9-18mm f5.6, Sigma 50-500mm f6.3, EC14, EC20, RM-1, VA-1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th December 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,755
Thanks: 417
Thanked 309 Times in 277 Posts
Likes: 484
Liked 1,003 Times in 612 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

It could be a memory card issue. It is known to happen even on 5000 Leicas
I'm aware the EM1 MK II has two card slots. I would try shooting with one card for a period of time, and using a card that you have gained confidence with, eg having used in another camera for some time without issue (remembering to format in the MK II).
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th December 2016
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 19,877
Thanks: 1,856
Thanked 2,830 Times in 2,182 Posts
Likes: 2,564
Liked 3,422 Times in 1,609 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I'll let you guys iron out the bugs and in 5 years I'll buy one of your cameras in perfect working order for about 250.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
George Dorn (21st December 2016), Greytop (18th December 2016), OM USer (21st December 2016), Ross the fiddler (18th December 2016), sapper (21st December 2016)
  #7  
Old 18th December 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,755
Thanks: 417
Thanked 309 Times in 277 Posts
Likes: 484
Liked 1,003 Times in 612 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuiko View Post
I'll let you guys iron out the bugs and in 5 years I'll buy one of your cameras in perfect working order for about 250.
Best to buy some spare batteries now, John, in 5 years they could be obsolete. (Nah, course not in 5 years, but in 10 years probably odds on).
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th December 2016
G2EWS's Avatar
G2EWS G2EWS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire
Posts: 150
Thanks: 41
Thanked 73 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Using the same cards and only one that I use in my MkI's.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th December 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,755
Thanks: 417
Thanked 309 Times in 277 Posts
Likes: 484
Liked 1,003 Times in 612 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Plural of card, not sure if you were using two simultaneously. To help you and Olympus diagnose the issue, you need to limit the number of variables. So just use one card for a period of time. If it still happens, try ctrl-alt-del, ie a factory reset, and run with the initial setup for a period of time.
I always find cameras lockup when you're just about to capture that 'once in a lifetime' decisive moment, never to be repeated. It's just as well our lives don't depend on such issues!
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th December 2016
G2EWS's Avatar
G2EWS G2EWS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire
Posts: 150
Thanks: 41
Thanked 73 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Hi Steve,

My bad.

Just one card. But the same as I used in one of my MkI's.

No problem out with the dog just now with the 40-150mm. So will see later when I go out again but will put the 12-100mm back on.

Regards

Chris
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to G2EWS For This Useful Post:
maccabeej (24th December 2016)
  #11  
Old 18th December 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,755
Thanks: 417
Thanked 309 Times in 277 Posts
Likes: 484
Liked 1,003 Times in 612 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Instead of waiting for picture opportunities, fire off 100 or so shots, 1000 shots etc, of anything, see if the fault can be replicated. If so, you could ask for it to be fixed, and then if it fails again you have the right to a replacement.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18th December 2016
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 79
Thanked 279 Times in 175 Posts
Likes: 215
Liked 298 Times in 148 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I had a couple of lock-ups in the past month with the 12-100 Pro on my Mk1 EM1 - but powered off & on again and didn't think much more about it.

Maybe there is a problem is with the 12-100 firmware?
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18th December 2016
G2EWS's Avatar
G2EWS G2EWS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire
Posts: 150
Thanks: 41
Thanked 73 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 49
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Hi Steve,

Had already planned to sit in the conservatory with a glass of vino shortly and fire off a few shots. Certainly not as many as 1,000 though!


Hi Chris,

It certainly seems like the common factor. Will see how it goes.

The MkII needed the battery removed, turning off did nothing. It still had the last photo I took in the EVF until the battery was removed.

Regards

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18th December 2016
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 3,174
Thanks: 165
Thanked 527 Times in 464 Posts
Likes: 265
Liked 463 Times in 313 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Oh dear. The symptoms you describe Chris sound horribly familiar. Something else to be aware of is that if you have changed any options (ISO, focussing mode etc.) since switching the camera on, when you resuscitate it by removing and replacing the battery the body will probably go back to how it was when you last switched it on.

There seems to be a new plague of lock-ups - when the E-M1 Mark I came out some people had no problems at all while others (including me) were plagued with lockups. Eventually after a lot of firmware upgrades and a replacement body they went away - but I got them again recently when using C-AF with the 300mm f/4. Upgrading the firmware in both lens and body seems to have fixed that, touch wood.

These problems must be very difficult for Olympus to diagnose. When I was getting lots of lockups in the early days of the Mark 1 I could never reproduce it to order. It would work fine whenever I tested it, and then wait for a critical point in the game before failing. Which is reminiscent of Murphy's Law:

The toast always lands butter-side down, except when required to do so to demonstrate Murphy's Law.

I hope they get it ironed out soon.

John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
brian1208 (18th December 2016)
  #15  
Old 18th December 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,755
Thanks: 417
Thanked 309 Times in 277 Posts
Likes: 484
Liked 1,003 Times in 612 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by G2EWS View Post
Hi Steve,

Had already planned to sit in the conservatory with a glass of vino shortly and fire off a few shots. Certainly not as many as 1,000 though!


Hi Chris,

It certainly seems like the common factor. Will see how it goes.

The MkII needed the battery removed, turning off did nothing. It still had the last photo I took in the EVF until the battery was removed.

Regards

Chris
It happened a couple of times with my M240, but since updating the firmware to the latest... I'm just off to touch some wood.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Lock-up. paullus Olympus OM-D E-M1 10 21st December 2014 03:25 PM
HELP! TTL Lock??? niranhopper Flash 6 29th August 2014 02:13 PM
HLD-6 Lock doesn't lock all! Ross the fiddler Olympus OM-D E-M5 18 16th April 2013 01:23 AM
Lock SAF+MF Alan Clogwyn Olympus E-520 6 21st October 2010 09:20 AM
Lock up sapper Olympus E-3 17 7th November 2008 01:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger