Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus OM-D E-M5 The first Micro Four Thirds camera from Olympus with an integrated Electronic Viewfinder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th January 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,930
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 802 Times in 760 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 560 Times in 335 Posts
Max pixels?

Having just acquired a used EM-5, I find that I can only get 14.5m resolution. I have turned off everything I can find, but am still 2m pixels short.

Any suggestions gratefully received
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th January 2016
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 9,959
Thanks: 322
Thanked 2,038 Times in 1,009 Posts
Likes: 508
Liked 911 Times in 438 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Maybe you are in 16:9 cropped wide screen mode?

For full res you need 4:3 aspect ratio.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th January 2016
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 9,959
Thanks: 322
Thanked 2,038 Times in 1,009 Posts
Likes: 508
Liked 911 Times in 438 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Or even 3:2 will lose pixels.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th January 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,930
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 802 Times in 760 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 560 Times in 335 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Maybe you are in 16:9 cropped wide screen mode?

For full res you need 4:3 aspect ratio.

Ian
I have checked, Ian, and is on 4:3 aspect. It is a real puzzle
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th January 2016
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 3,079
Thanks: 162
Thanked 515 Times in 452 Posts
Likes: 251
Liked 427 Times in 289 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

My E-M5 files show as 4608 x 3456, same as the E-M1.

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th January 2016
Walti Walti is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 1,221
Thanks: 163
Thanked 76 Times in 67 Posts
Likes: 106
Liked 503 Times in 217 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Have you looked down the back of the sofa?
__________________
Olympus: Silver OM-D E-M1 MKi+HLD7, Black OM-D E-M1 MKii+HLD9, 14-150 f4-5.6 ED, 12-40mm f2.8 Pro, 60mm f2.8 Macro, 40-150 f2.8 Pro, 300mm f4 Pro, MC14TC, FL-LM2, FL-LM3, 2*FL-36R, FL-600R
Panasonic: 20mm f1.7
Nissin: Di466
Apple: 27" iMac, 13" MacBook Pro
Adobe: Creative Cloud
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Walti For This Useful Post:
Imageryone (30th January 2016), Wee man (30th January 2016)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Magus (30th January 2016), OM USer (31st January 2016), Otto (9th February 2016), PeterBirder (30th January 2016), snaarman (30th January 2016), Zuiko (31st January 2016)
  #7  
Old 30th January 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 388
Thanked 297 Times in 266 Posts
Likes: 451
Liked 924 Times in 561 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

I've just checked properties on a number of .ORF files out of my EM5. They seems to vary depending on subject matter, picked a sample and they vary from 14MB to 16.6MB
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th January 2016
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 2,894
Thanks: 1,102
Thanked 473 Times in 422 Posts
Likes: 1,095
Liked 376 Times in 155 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

I don't think there is a link between megabytes and megapixels is there??
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, 7.5, 9-18, 12-40, 17, 35-100, 40-150, 45, 60, 100-400, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th January 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 388
Thanked 297 Times in 266 Posts
Likes: 451
Liked 924 Times in 561 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IainMacD View Post
I don't think there is a link between megabytes and megapixels is there??
I'm sure you're correct.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th January 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,930
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 802 Times in 760 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 560 Times in 335 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikie John View Post
My E-M5 files show as 4608 x 3456, same as the E-M1.

John
Mine says the same, John, but max seems to be 14.3m or less. I could understand it if I had any sort of compensation/adjustment switched on, but everything is switched offas far as I know.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th January 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,930
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 802 Times in 760 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 560 Times in 335 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IainMacD View Post
I don't think there is a link between megabytes and megapixels is there??
t

I don't know either, but on all my other Oly cameras I get the full resolution, be it 5m, 8m or 10m.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31st January 2016
Steambuff Steambuff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 113
Thanks: 18
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Likes: 20
Liked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imageryone View Post
Having just acquired a used EM-5, I find that I can only get 14.5m resolution. I have turned off everything I can find, but am still 2m pixels short.

Any suggestions gratefully received


Just one question ..... How are you calculating 14.5M ?

(4608 x 3456 = 15.925M .... remember in computer speak 16M is 16 Million)

Also the sensor will be a bit bigger than the image size.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st January 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,930
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 802 Times in 760 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 560 Times in 335 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steambuff View Post
Just one question ..... How are you calculating 14.5M ?

(4608 x 3456 = 15.925M .... remember in computer speak 16M is 16 Million)

Also the sensor will be a bit bigger than the image size.

Dave
I use FastStone for most editing, and have done for years, and that is the criteria I am using for comparison. The image size recorded.
All my other Olys show full pixel images, but the EM-5 is always short. I realise that different images give different readings, and that in camera editing changes the pixel count, but this seems very odd?
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st January 2016
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 3,333
Thanks: 324
Thanked 718 Times in 552 Posts
Likes: 45
Liked 2,811 Times in 983 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

The size of the file is not constant. It will vary with ISO and the amount of detail in the shot. All that matters for Mp is the dimensions of the image in pixels.

Raw file size varies because the data undergoes lossless compression. In crude terms, if there is lots of repeating data then the data can be compressed to omit the repetition. As ISO goes up so does noise and this reduces the scope for repeating data so you'll see larger files at high ISO. Since noise increases in shadows you'll also see an inflation in darker images, all other things being equal. The same is true for shots at low ISO with lots of fine detail.
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31st January 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,930
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 802 Times in 760 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 560 Times in 335 Posts
Re: Max pixels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdk42 View Post
The size of the file is not constant. It will vary with ISO and the amount of detail in the shot. All that matters for Mp is the dimensions of the image in pixels.

Raw file size varies because the data undergoes lossless compression. In crude terms, if there is lots of repeating data then the data can be compressed to omit the repetition. As ISO goes up so does noise and this reduces the scope for repeating data so you'll see larger files at high ISO. Since noise increases in shadows you'll also see an inflation in darker images, all other things being equal. The same is true for shots at low ISO with lots of fine detail.
Thanks for this , Paul, but I only use ISO 100 on all cameras except in very, exceptional circumstances, but I do use Exposure comp all the time, usually set at -0.7, which, as you explain, would effect the size of the file. I will turn it off and try again
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
With more pixels... crimbo Foto Fair 5 17th December 2012 06:05 PM
More pixels or better pixels? Ian Camera conference 31 10th July 2011 03:23 PM
Nikon? Pah! You can see the pixels! snaarman The lounge 11 3rd August 2009 12:28 PM
Pixels - Are You Getting Enough? Zuiko The lounge 17 4th October 2008 11:09 PM
E 500 Noise/Hot Pixels Garrie Olympus E-500 4 22nd November 2007 09:28 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:31 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger