Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Site news and information > Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads

Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads A new e-Group area for all the wonderful tutorials and helpful threads put on here by our members. Tutorials on using software, camera hardware - and feel free to request a tutorial if you need assistance!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
OMD EM1 Auto ISO

HI,

I would like to turn off the Auto ISO on my OMD EM1 and can't seem to find out how, can anyone help.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th January 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,638
Thanks: 526
Thanked 795 Times in 600 Posts
Likes: 1,708
Liked 1,030 Times in 617 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

You can do this on the Super Control Panel or by using whatever button(s) you have for selecting and changing ISO or through the MENUs
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th January 2016
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 4,953
Thanks: 2,045
Thanked 820 Times in 651 Posts
Likes: 1,183
Liked 1,686 Times in 592 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Hi Wes. You should be able to use the Super Control Panel. Press OK and navigate to the ISO section (top left). Press OK again and you should be able to select an ISO setting. Is that what you mean?

Edit. Graham beat me to it.

Ron
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (5th January 2016)
  #4  
Old 5th January 2016
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 4,953
Thanks: 2,045
Thanked 820 Times in 651 Posts
Likes: 1,183
Liked 1,686 Times in 592 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

You can also check that it isn't set as the default by going to Menu Cog E and selecting your preferred default ISO setting.

Rom
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (5th January 2016)
  #5  
Old 5th January 2016
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,648
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 1,089 Times in 974 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,042 Times in 691 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

I have replied in your other post these guys beat me to it you will the forum is a helpful place. Welcome again.
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (5th January 2016)
  #6  
Old 6th January 2016
birdboy birdboy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,207
Thanks: 326
Thanked 207 Times in 173 Posts
Likes: 150
Liked 230 Times in 121 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

I prefer to use the lever in position 2 and rotate the front dial while looking through the viewfinder, easier than scrolling through menus. But do put the lever back to position 1 after you have set ISO to get back to shutter/aperature wheel control.
__________________
John

OM-D E-M1, 12-40 f2.8 Pro, Tamron 14-150mm f5.8, E5, E3, Zuiko 50-200mm SWD, Zuiko 12-60mm SWD, Zuiko ED 70-300mm f5.6, 50mmf2, Zuiko ED 9-18mm f5.6, Sigma 50-500mm f6.3, EC14, EC20, RM-1, VA-1
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Wee man (6th January 2016)
  #7  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Thanks for the replies............. I had the ISO set to manual i.e. I select the ISO, however, after I updated the camera it went back to Auto ISO as the default and for some reason I cannot change this on the touch menu or by using the front dial. In the main Menu, noise reduction, noise Filter and Iso are all greyed out, leaving me with ISO step, Auto set and Auto only? Have thought about a factory reset, but the thought of having to go through the menu and set up all the functions again is putting me off.

To Ed,
I live just outside Belfast ........Town called Bangor

Thanks Again
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Thanks for the replies............. I had the ISO set to manual i.e. I select the ISO, however, after I updated the camera it went back to Auto ISO as the default and for some reason I cannot change this on the touch menu or by using the front dial. In the main Menu, noise reduction, noise Filter and Iso are all greyed out, leaving me with ISO step, Auto set and Auto only? Have thought about a factory reset, but the thought of having to go through the menu and set up all the functions again is putting me off.

To Ed,
I live just outside Belfast ........Town called Bangor

Thanks Again
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th January 2016
alfbranch's Avatar
alfbranch alfbranch is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Whitehaven Cumbria
Posts: 5,378
Thanks: 1,263
Thanked 669 Times in 631 Posts
Likes: 761
Liked 1,572 Times in 608 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Wes
What mode is the camera set in?
in iauto mode the ISO will be auto

Edit
The manual is available here where you find out how to update the firmware too if you have not already
http://www.olympus.co.uk/site/en/c/c..._download.html
__________________
OMD E-M1 OMD E-M5II MMF3 12-40 pro 12-50 EZ 14-42 EZ 9-18 f4.0 -5.6 40 -150f4-f5.6 R 60mm f2.8 macro Sigma 105 f2.8 macro Holga 60mm plastic Holga pinhole lens lens and a XZ-1 Olympus - 35 SP Trip 35 Pen EEs OM2sp

I nice view does not mean a good photograph. My FLickr

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Hi,

The Camera was updated with the latest firmware and has reverted to
Auto ISO after the update.. I prefer to set the ISO Manually and was in this mode before it was updated ...............

I cannot now seem to change it back to Manual ISO
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th January 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,638
Thanks: 526
Thanked 795 Times in 600 Posts
Likes: 1,708
Liked 1,030 Times in 617 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by wes4390 View Post
Hi,

The Camera was updated with the latest firmware and has reverted to
Auto ISO after the update.. I prefer to set the ISO Manually and was in this mode before it was updated ...............

I cannot now seem to change it back to Manual ISO
Turn the "MODE" Dial on top of the camera to either "P", "A", "S" or "M"

Press the OK button to get the SCP on the screen, then using the 4 way control buttons, sellect the ISO box, press OK again and the ISO settings will appear on the bottom.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th January 2016
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,648
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 1,089 Times in 974 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,042 Times in 691 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Hope you got it sorted. I am from Newcastle Co. Down. Went to Bangor West for holidays when young.
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Hi Graham,

Have tried that but when the ISO icon is highlighted and I press OK again nothing happens, I know it is supposed to show at the bottom of the screen but for some reason it doesn't ...... When the other icons are highlighted e.g. WB and ok is pressed they do show at the bottom of the screen and can be adjusted there?

It was ok before the latest firmware update was applied..................
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th January 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,638
Thanks: 526
Thanked 795 Times in 600 Posts
Likes: 1,708
Liked 1,030 Times in 617 Posts
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by wes4390 View Post
<snip>
It was ok before the latest firmware update was applied..................
Try a FULL Reset in Shooting Menu 1 > Reset/Myset > Reset > Full

Also try connecting it to Olympus Capture, that forces it out of iAuto mode (if selected) and the ISO can be set from there.

If that don't work, then I think it may well be a trip to Portugal
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th January 2016
wes4390 wes4390 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 68
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: OMD EM1 Auto ISO

Hi Graham,

Did a full reset and that seems to have sorted it thanks............. Suppose I will have to go through the menus and check what now needs reset back again :-(
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (6th January 2016)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto LV after V2 David Morison Olympus OM-D E-M1 0 17th October 2014 06:04 PM
Auto Ibis - what do you think of it? Alpha1 Olympus OM-D E-M1 3 5th October 2013 12:09 PM
Help please - OMD auto ISO Rens Olympus OM-D E-M5 5 25th November 2012 01:50 PM
Auto ISO StephenL Olympus E-620/600 3 15th September 2009 06:40 PM
Auto focus? yorky The lounge 0 15th June 2008 02:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:49 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger