Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1

Olympus OM-D E-M1 The first Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th March 2014
Bengeo Bengeo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Herts
Posts: 288
Thanks: 56
Thanked 99 Times in 50 Posts
Likes: 98
Liked 180 Times in 55 Posts
Question MySet button / sleep question

I've got MySet4 allocated to the movie button and it works fine toggling on and off, but when waking up from "sleep" the Myset is gone and I have to press the movie button again to set it. This is obviously confusing as you can never be sure what mode the camera is in. This doesn't apply if the MySet is allocated to a mode dial setting.

Is there any way round this apart from disabling sleep mode for that MySet?

Thanks,

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th March 2014
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,223
Thanks: 35
Thanked 329 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 36
Liked 826 Times in 250 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Yes it's a pain in the backside. I can't find a way round it.

Case for a firmware update methinks.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th March 2014
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,854
Thanks: 988
Thanked 1,125 Times in 923 Posts
Likes: 657
Liked 750 Times in 497 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Does it behave like this if you power the camera off? If not, you could simply disable sleep completely. Not a total answer, but a workaround. I never allow the camera to sleep, I just power off when not using it even for a few minutes.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, Olympus E-1 + Olympus and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th March 2014
Bengeo Bengeo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Herts
Posts: 288
Thanks: 56
Thanked 99 Times in 50 Posts
Likes: 98
Liked 180 Times in 55 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Thanks for the thoughts. Turning the camera off also resets it, but at least you know that it needs pressing again after switching on. I think I'll try it like that with sleep disabled and also report it as a bug.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th March 2016
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 779
Thanks: 48
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 60
Liked 57 Times in 30 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Did anyone ever find a fix for this? It drives me to distraction!
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th March 2016
drmarkf's Avatar
drmarkf drmarkf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 2,027
Thanks: 127
Thanked 209 Times in 181 Posts
Likes: 345
Liked 430 Times in 261 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
Did anyone ever find a fix for this? It drives me to distraction!
Not me, and I agree.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th March 2016
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 977
Thanks: 65
Thanked 250 Times in 159 Posts
Likes: 156
Liked 238 Times in 116 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
Did anyone ever find a fix for this? It drives me to distraction!
My workaround is to assign the Myset to a 'under-used' position on the mode dial (as well as the button of your choice).

Then if you expect that the camera might sleep before you next take a picture - keep the mode dial set to your MySet. Then when the camera re-awakes it will be using the MySet you previously specified.

By having a MySet assigned to both dial and button if you are using one of the common dial settings (e.g. A,S,M) you can also swiftly & temporarily select your MySet with the button.
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gwyver For This Useful Post:
Adagio (28th March 2016), Tordan58 (29th March 2016)
  #8  
Old 28th March 2016
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 779
Thanks: 48
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 60
Liked 57 Times in 30 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwyver View Post
My workaround is to assign the Myset to a 'under-used' position on the mode dial (as well as the button of your choice).
Thanks Chris

It seems to work and indeed 'remembers' any change one has made since invoking the Myset e.g. aperture setting.

I only seem to be able to assign Mysets to the iAuto and SCN modes. Am I missing something?
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th March 2016
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 2,643
Thanks: 320
Thanked 549 Times in 432 Posts
Likes: 29
Liked 1,978 Times in 726 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
Thanks Chris

It seems to work and indeed 'remembers' any change one has made since invoking the Myset e.g. aperture setting.

I only seem to be able to assign Mysets to the iAuto and SCN modes. Am I missing something?
I have all 4 MySets assigned to different positions on the mode dial - so, yes, you're missing something

PS - I notice your Avatar is a bell - are you a bell-ringer perchance?
__________________
Paul
E-M1, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th March 2016
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 779
Thanks: 48
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 60
Liked 57 Times in 30 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdk42 View Post
I have all 4 MySets assigned to different positions on the mode dial - so, yes, you're missing something
Paul - thanks for reply

I am using the following to set:-

GearButton/dial/levermode dial functionMysetn

Options are ART,IAUTO,OFF

How do I get to see the other functions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdk42 View Post
PS - I notice your Avatar is a bell - are you a bell-ringer perchance?
I certainly am and have been since I was schoolboy long ago.
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28th March 2016
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 977
Thanks: 65
Thanked 250 Times in 159 Posts
Likes: 156
Liked 238 Times in 116 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
Thanks Chris

It seems to work and indeed 'remembers' any change one has made since invoking the Myset e.g. aperture setting.

I only seem to be able to assign Mysets to the iAuto and SCN modes. Am I missing something?
The other advantage of having MySets assigned to the Dial is that you can make incremental changes to a specific MySet (If you only assign a MySet to a Button - when you access the Settings Menu the camera 'forgets' that it is in MySet so you have to re-apply all the changed values for the specified MySet) whereas....
.... if you have the dial set to a MySet - when you access the Menu you only need to apply the particular change and then (re)set the MySet.

Hope this makes sense; it's harder to explain than to do
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28th March 2016
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,375
Thanks: 2,273
Thanked 1,062 Times in 947 Posts
Likes: 274
Liked 964 Times in 637 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

I still have not cottoned on the setting mysets?
__________________
Ed

If you give up smoking,drinking and sex, you don't live longer, it just feels like it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29th March 2016
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 779
Thanks: 48
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 60
Liked 57 Times in 30 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwyver View Post
Hope this makes sense; it's harder to explain than to do
I think I understand - will try and pluck up courage to try. Reminder to self - note down all Myset settings
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29th March 2016
Bengeo Bengeo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Herts
Posts: 288
Thanks: 56
Thanked 99 Times in 50 Posts
Likes: 98
Liked 180 Times in 55 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
....note down all Myset settings
You know about the Spreadsheet here: http://www.biofos.com/mft/omd_em1_settings.html ? It makes it very easy to to keep a note of settings.

Another tip is to go through all the menu settings and video them using a phone / camera and then if you need to set them up again you can replay the video and pause as necessary.
__________________
Andy
My Photos
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bengeo For This Useful Post:
Adagio (30th March 2016)
  #15  
Old 1st April 2016
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 779
Thanks: 48
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 60
Liked 57 Times in 30 Posts
Re: MySet button / sleep question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
I am using the following to set:-

GearButton/dial/levermode dial functionMysetn

Options are ART,IAUTO,OFF

How do I get to see the other functions?
After much Googling it became clear to me that Olympus only deigned to show me the last 3 menu items and that one had to scroll up to see the others. Really intuitive that.
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
myset sleep

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Guide To The Olympus MYSET Function DekHog Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads 16 21st October 2014 11:45 AM
MySet custom settings best set to a mode dial setting? BDennis Olympus OM-D E-M1 3 3rd December 2013 08:44 AM
Only one more sleep........ Kiwi Paul Standard zoom and mid range 18 17th June 2013 11:51 AM
let sleeping dogs ..........sleep where they want! Roberta Foto Fair 7 2nd December 2012 08:38 PM
I'll Sleep Easy Tonight Zuiko The lounge 15 23rd January 2009 02:16 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2015, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger