Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1

Olympus OM-D E-M1 The first Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd October 2013
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,316
Thanks: 36
Thanked 341 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 955 Times in 285 Posts
Focus home point

Here's one for you E-M1 or E-M5 owners. On my E5 I can set a point as a home point, if I move my focus point around all it takes to return to my chosen centre point is a push of the focus point select and then the OK button and I'm back where I want to be.
I quite like this but when I got the E-M5 I spent a bit of time but cannot get it to work.
I've fiddled with the E-M1 and it's the same I can select my home point and the set for example the FN2 button to focus home but when I try to use it nothing happens. I've also tried setting the FN2 to AF area select so it's just like my E5 but this does not work either.

It's probably me just doing something silly but if anyone has ideas or has it working I'll be interested.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd October 2013
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 5,011
Thanks: 2,056
Thanked 825 Times in 656 Posts
Likes: 1,212
Liked 1,712 Times in 602 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Hi Andy. I think I have got it to work as follows:

Page 90 of manual. Cog A. Set Home. Choose AF point position.

then

Page 144. Cog B. Choose a button and scroll through to the AF icon (the three dots).

I have set to Fn1 as a trial.

See if this works.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd October 2013
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,316
Thanks: 36
Thanked 341 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 955 Times in 285 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
Hi Andy. I think I have got it to work as follows:

Page 90 of manual. Cog A. Set Home. Choose AF point position.

then

Page 144. Cog B. Choose a button and scroll through to the AF icon (the three dots).

I have set to Fn1 as a trial.

See if this works.

Ron
Hi

Does your focus point return to you home point when set like this? This is how I've got it set up but no joy
Probably cause I've set something else different somewhere.

Thanks for the reply.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd October 2013
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,316
Thanks: 36
Thanked 341 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 955 Times in 285 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Sussed it, as I have my camera set of MF mode three so I can auto focus with the AEL button but also manual focus it does not work. If I set it to SAF it works.
Shame it works in MF on my E5, I assume there's very little chance of Oly releasing a firmware update to cure this.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd October 2013
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,664
Thanks: 2,372
Thanked 1,089 Times in 974 Posts
Likes: 283
Liked 1,043 Times in 692 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Ask Ian or Mark nicely?
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th October 2013
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 5,011
Thanks: 2,056
Thanked 825 Times in 656 Posts
Likes: 1,212
Liked 1,712 Times in 602 Posts
Re: Focus home point

I was trying to think of a quick way to swap between Single AF Point and All AF Points, so that if I am photographing birds using the Single centre AF Point but suddenly need to use All AF Points for a flight shot I can do it without too much fiddling about.

Thinking about it, if I choose Single Centre AF Point as my Set Home default, and assign it to Fn1, I can always press that button to get to my normal shooting position instantly. If I need All AF points, I can nudge the Single AF point off the side of the screen with the arrow keys or dial, when it will automatically change to All AF points. To return to Single Centre AF Point I then just need to press Fn1 again.

Can anyone think of a quicker method?

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th October 2013
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 38
Thanked 130 Times in 114 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
I was trying to think of a quick way to swap between Single AF Point and All AF Points, so that if I am photographing birds using the Single centre AF Point but suddenly need to use All AF Points for a flight shot I can do it without too much fiddling about.

Thinking about it, if I choose Single Centre AF Point as my Set Home default, and assign it to Fn1, I can always press that button to get to my normal shooting position instantly. If I need All AF points, I can nudge the Single AF point off the side of the screen with the arrow keys or dial, when it will automatically change to All AF points. To return to Single Centre AF Point I then just need to press Fn1 again.

Can anyone think of a quicker method?

Ron
not quicker, but I'm set up the other way round as I find it works better for me.

my default (set to home) is centre group - so pressing the (...) button brings that up.

now, when I set out to shoot, I select from the menu an alternative applicable to that subject/day - typically single centre point small - and the (...) button will now alternate between the 2 for me as a single, instant, function.

this can obviously evolve on any day if I find I need an alternative - the real issue for most people will be their underlying 'home' setting. My choice is currently based on how I shot with the E's, and my general shooting.
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to photo_owl For This Useful Post:
Olybirder (28th October 2013)
  #8  
Old 28th October 2013
David Morison's Avatar
David Morison David Morison is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fulbeck, Lincolnshire
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 71
Thanked 591 Times in 475 Posts
Likes: 48
Liked 298 Times in 175 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
I was trying to think of a quick way to swap between Single AF Point and All AF Points, so that if I am photographing birds using the Single centre AF Point but suddenly need to use All AF Points for a flight shot I can do it without too much fiddling about.

Thinking about it, if I choose Single Centre AF Point as my Set Home default, and assign it to Fn1, I can always press that button to get to my normal shooting position instantly. If I need All AF points, I can nudge the Single AF point off the side of the screen with the arrow keys or dial, when it will automatically change to All AF points. To return to Single Centre AF Point I then just need to press Fn1 again.

Can anyone think of a quicker method?

Ron
I mainly use single point for most subjects but I have all the settings I prefer for BIF as Myset 1 and assigned it to Fn1, this includes the centre 9 AF sites.

David
__________________
PBase Galleries:-http://www.pbase.com/davidmorisonimages
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to David Morison For This Useful Post:
Olybirder (28th October 2013)
  #9  
Old 28th October 2013
Grumpy Hec's Avatar
Grumpy Hec Grumpy Hec is offline
Grumpy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mersea Island, Essex
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 214
Thanked 307 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 477
Liked 396 Times in 188 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
Sussed it, as I have my camera set of MF mode three so I can auto focus with the AEL button but also manual focus it does not work. If I set it to SAF it works.
Shame it works in MF on my E5, I assume there's very little chance of Oly releasing a firmware update to cure this.
That is a shame. That's the way I work. can you do the same ting but to another programmable button I wonder?

Can't try it yet as I have no camera.

Hec
__________________
I've worked hard to be this grumpy. It hasn't been easy at times but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th October 2013
Grumpy Hec's Avatar
Grumpy Hec Grumpy Hec is offline
Grumpy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mersea Island, Essex
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 214
Thanked 307 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 477
Liked 396 Times in 188 Posts
Re: Focus home point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy Hec View Post
That is a shame. That's the way I work. can you do the same ting but to another programmable button I wonder?

Can't try it yet as I have no camera.

Hec
Just had a look at the manual. P98 of EM-1 manual is the same table as, believe it or not, P98 of E3 manual.

According to that it should work the same way.

hec
__________________
I've worked hard to be this grumpy. It hasn't been easy at times but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus point does not stay in middle. hornavan Olympus OM-D E-M5 3 17th November 2012 06:29 AM
Focus Point GRAHAMJ Olympus OM-D E-M5 19 9th July 2012 11:24 PM
How to change the focus point size Bo_Nydahl Olympus OM-D E-M5 1 29th April 2012 06:28 PM
E-PL2 Focus Point gwpics Olympus Pen E-PL2 3 1st July 2011 02:56 PM
11 point auto focus on E3 andym Olympus E-3 5 11th December 2007 02:39 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger