Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1

Olympus OM-D E-M1 The first Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Old 14th January 2014

Liked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Recommended next pruchase?

Hi folks,

I have been comtemplating on adding to my E-M1 and 12-40mm f2.8 lens kit.

I'm not a Pro and nor am I ever likely to have the funds to accumulate a collection of several lenses (home purchase also on the agenda, after which funds will be much more tight!). But I'd like to make one more purchase while I can to expand my photographic and creative horizons. I favour people shots and portraits.

The contenders (in random order::

1. FL600R flash - I always think that lenses and light are the most worthwhile photographic assets. I have a great lens and the flash would allow me a lot of creative lighting opportunities. But how much would I actually use it?

2. 45mm F1.8 Lens - as the 12-40 is I do wish I could get shallower depth of field for portaits. But other than the DOF and lower light capability is it really adding that much creative opportunity (compared for example to the flash).?