Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus Pen Lite E-PL5

Olympus Pen Lite E-PL5 The new and improved Olympus Pen Lite with the OM-D E-M5's excellenyt 16MP sensor and a touch screen that can face forwards for self-portraits.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th October 2015
Homer Simpson Homer Simpson is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 544
Thanks: 81
Thanked 35 Times in 32 Posts
Likes: 26
Liked 30 Times in 22 Posts
Iso

I am a bit of a dinosaur with my cameras, I treat my E1 like an electronic OM 2n

It tends to live on iso 100 mainly

What standard setting should I put the epl5 on without loosing any IQ
I am aware I can push it very high and will do as required
__________________
E1, E520, ED14-42, ED 40-150, 70-300, Various legacy including 50mm f2 macro.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Homer Simpson For This Useful Post:
timboo (14th October 2015)
The Following User Liked This Post:
timboo (14th October 2015)
  #2  
Old 12th October 2015
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,050
Thanks: 635
Thanked 931 Times in 720 Posts
Likes: 2,241
Liked 1,568 Times in 900 Posts
Re: Iso

I normally use 200 as it's what I used in the old film days

However: I discovered Auto ISO and have some good shots at well over 1000

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2015
Homer Simpson Homer Simpson is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 544
Thanks: 81
Thanked 35 Times in 32 Posts
Likes: 26
Liked 30 Times in 22 Posts
Re: Iso

200 is my default on the 520.
__________________
E1, E520, ED14-42, ED 40-150, 70-300, Various legacy including 50mm f2 macro.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th October 2015
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,950
Thanks: 1,760
Thanked 1,024 Times in 854 Posts
Likes: 1,922
Liked 797 Times in 466 Posts
Re: Iso

ISO 200 is believed to be the "native" or inherent sensitivity of the Sony sensors in the OMD/PEN range and should therefore give optimum IQ. The E-M1 which I understand uses a Panasonic sensor may be different. ISO LOW/ISO 100 is an "extension" which is achieved electronically is thought to cause a reduction in dynamic range.

Like Graham I use Auto ISO with an upper limit of ISO 1600 and have been quite happy with the results.

Regards.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2015
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 1,226
Thanked 547 Times in 490 Posts
Likes: 1,849
Liked 846 Times in 238 Posts
Re: Iso

Same settings for me on my m4/3 cameras (including E-PL5), ISO200 as default with a limit of 1600 when using Auto, it seems to work well. I have used low (100) ISO but it does reduce dynamic range quite dramatically.
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, E-M1 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th October 2015
Daveart Daveart is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cartaxo Portugal, formally from Ross on wye UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 33
Thanked 85 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 39 Times in 32 Posts
Re: Iso

Hi I have the em5 mk 1 I set my upper limit to 6400 ISO get good quality A3 sized print from them, as for dynamic range it is lower to about E3 range at 400 ISO.
Club members think it is incredible that the 4/3rdssystem could produce such quality at that ISO, they all thought that we could only get useable upto 800 ISO.

I am constantly asked what noise reduction software I use, when I tell them don't use noise reduction software, or sharpening.

Dave
__________________
My Published Book: http://www.blurb.com/my/book/detail/2771168
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th October 2015
OM USer's Avatar
OM USer OM USer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 11,849
Thanks: 2,329
Thanked 1,479 Times in 1,407 Posts
Likes: 6,053
Liked 1,391 Times in 889 Posts
Re: Iso

I use auto ISO with a maximum of ISO 2000 as my default setting, pushing it a little more if I need to.
__________________
Cameras: E-M5, E-PM2, OM40, OM4Ti
Lenses (M.Zuiko Digital): 7-14mm/F2.8, 12-40mm/F2.8, 40-150mm/F2.8+TC1.4x, 12-50mm/F3.5-6.3, 14-42mm/F3.5-5.6 EZ, M.ZD 40-150 F4-5.6 R, 75-300mm/F4.8-6.7 Mk1, 12mm/F2, 17mm/F1.8
Lenses (OM Zuiko): 50mm/F1.2, 24mm/F2, 35mm/F2.8 shift
Lenses (OM Fit): Vivitar Series II 28-105mm/F2.8-3.8, Sigma 21-35mm/F3.4-4.2, Sigma 35-70mm/F2.8-4, Sigma 75-200mm/F2.8-3.5, Vivitar Series II 100-500mm/F5.6-8.0, Centon 500mm/F8 Mirror
Learn something new every day
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th October 2015
Walti Walti is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 3,287
Thanks: 306
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Likes: 235
Liked 1,628 Times in 608 Posts
Re: Iso

Following on from my previous cameras I've always kept the ISO as low as possible, but have been using ISO1600 for wildlife in low light conditions and am VERY surprised by the IQ. Also took one in a tunnel at 25600... Grainy but good!

Robin in the evening, not post processed 1600



Tunnel by torchlight...

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th October 2015
Ulfric M Douglas Ulfric M Douglas is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,894
Thanks: 262
Thanked 234 Times in 215 Posts
Likes: 128
Liked 172 Times in 119 Posts
Re: Iso

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer Simpson View Post
... E1 ...
It tends to live on iso 100 mainly

What standard setting should I put the epl5 on without loosing any IQ
I am aware I can push it very high and will do as required
With that sensor I myself don't see any image degradation until ISO 1600,
but I'm easy to please and set my auto-ISO limit to 6400 anyway for the very dark times.

My E-1 is set to ISO 100 all the time.
My e-P1 and e-P2 are set to ISO 200 with ISO-bracket all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th October 2015
Homer Simpson Homer Simpson is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 544
Thanks: 81
Thanked 35 Times in 32 Posts
Likes: 26
Liked 30 Times in 22 Posts
Re: Iso

Thanks to everyone, looks like I was on the right track.
__________________
E1, E520, ED14-42, ED 40-150, 70-300, Various legacy including 50mm f2 macro.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14th October 2015
timboo timboo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 917
Thanks: 76
Thanked 73 Times in 63 Posts
Likes: 76
Liked 125 Times in 84 Posts
Re: Iso

Interesting topic, thanks for starting it. Im scared of upping the iso when using my 12-40 i just give up when light dims. i have only gone upto 800. Should i push it a lot harder?
when i used the 75 1.8 it was amazing in low light so kept it low. i always try with iso 200 then stop down.

so my question is i have not printed a3 size before what is the safest iso i can get away with without noticing noise. think i have got obsessed with online reviews recently.

my body is an em1
__________________
EM-1 MK1 - No website containing any of my photos until I'm good enough!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15th October 2015
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,770
Thanks: 2,024
Thanked 1,300 Times in 1,015 Posts
Likes: 5,278
Liked 1,943 Times in 1,079 Posts
Re: Iso

I'm another one to use Auto ISO limiting up to 6400.

All photos in this thread except for the flash ones are at ISO 6400 on E-M5 & E-M1 (but that is the Panasonic sensor though).

This is one of the photos from the E-M5 in that thread (the focus might not be totally on the eyes or there head is movement causing the blur).
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th October 2015
timboo timboo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 917
Thanks: 76
Thanked 73 Times in 63 Posts
Likes: 76
Liked 125 Times in 84 Posts
Re: Iso

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
I'm another one to use Auto ISO limiting up to 6400.

All photos in this thread except for the flash ones are at ISO 6400 on E-M5 & E-M1 (but that is the Panasonic sensor though).

This is one of the photos from the E-M5 in that thread (the focus might not be totally on the eyes or there head is movement causing the blur).

excuse my ignorance do all em1 s have panasonic sensors? is 6400 perfectly good for printing a3 cheers.
__________________
EM-1 MK1 - No website containing any of my photos until I'm good enough!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th October 2015
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,770
Thanks: 2,024
Thanked 1,300 Times in 1,015 Posts
Likes: 5,278
Liked 1,943 Times in 1,079 Posts
Re: Iso

Quote:
Originally Posted by timboo View Post
excuse my ignorance do all em1 s have panasonic sensors? is 6400 perfectly good for printing a3 cheers.
All E-M1's have the Panasonic sensor with the added PD-AF on sensor pixels & the rest of the models from the E-M5 onwards have the Sony 16mp sensor which actually performs a little better (than the E-M1) for long exposures without Noise Reduction on.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
timboo (15th October 2015)
  #15  
Old 15th October 2015
timboo timboo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 917
Thanks: 76
Thanked 73 Times in 63 Posts
Likes: 76
Liked 125 Times in 84 Posts
Re: Iso

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
All E-M1's have the Panasonic sensor with the added PD-AF on sensor pixels & the rest of the models from the E-M5 onwards have the Sony 16mp sensor which actually performs a little better (than the E-M1) for long exposures without Noise Reduction on.
thanks will 6400 be ok then on em1 at long or short
__________________
EM-1 MK1 - No website containing any of my photos until I'm good enough!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger