Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Site news and information > Introduce yourself

Introduce yourself Don't be bashful - please say hello so we can all welcome you here!

Old 26th June 2014

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Seeking Advice on Lenses

Hi Everyone
I'm a seasoned Canon DSLR user but I've reached the age where some lighter kit is needed so I've just bought an E-M10 and I'm new to M4/3.
I like the camera a lot and it certainly meets the size and weight requirement.
However I think the 14-42mm f1/3.5-1/5.6 II R kit lens which came with the camera is probably not doing the camera justice.
Can any users recommend lenses for wide angle, standard, telephoto and macro photography.
Regards
Julian
Old 26th June 2014

Liked 12 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Seeking Advice on Lenses

For wide-angle there are 2 choices: Zuiko 9-18mm f/4-5.6 and Lumix 7-14m f/4.
The Zuiko is smaller, lightweight and cheaper.
The Lumix is a bit more exotic, faster and with even more dramatic perspective but more prone to flare due to its curved front element.

Both provide very good image quality with the Lumix having the edge in my opinion.

There are more options for a standard lens (40-60mm).
Lumix 20mm f/1.7 provides excellent image quality in pancake dimensions but I find it to be pretty slow in AF performance (even the newer version), especially for its price.
Zuiko 25mm f/1.8 is a wonderful lens in all aspects, providing very good IQ in compact size and with stylish design. Maybe a bit expensive though.
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 is quite a surprise in both IQ and price but it focal length isn't the optimal.