Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-620/600

Olympus E-620/600 An Olympus 12.1MP mid-range compact DSLR, the E-620 and the feature-reduiced version, the E-600.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th March 2012
ardvorlich's Avatar
ardvorlich ardvorlich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lochearn Scotland
Posts: 589
Thanks: 9
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Camera displays card error

Switched on this morning and got card error message on display.Switched of and on and it showed 0 on card (4gb sandisk).Tried another card(lexar) no card message switched on and of 0 showed on card.I had switched on but left the card door open by mistake before this happened,now camera will not function and shows card error with all my cards.Any ideas anyone
Desperate
Iain

Last edited by ardvorlich; 17th March 2012 at 09:31 AM. Reason: Title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th March 2012
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Camera displays card error

Format the card in camera
do a full camera reset
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th March 2012
ardvorlich's Avatar
ardvorlich ardvorlich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lochearn Scotland
Posts: 589
Thanks: 9
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Re: Camera displays card error

Chris cannot thank you enough on reset.I opened card door switched on,pressed menu and o.k. buttons together held for 3 seconds and then switched off.Hey presto reset to factory and all is good in the world.
A much relieved
Iain
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th March 2012
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Camera displays card error

good....as I didnt have any other ideas!
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th October 2013
hihosland hihosland is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: australia
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Camera displays card error

I purchased E620 cheap on Ebay,
could not inserd CF card as pins were bent
straightened pins
and got "card full" error with either CF or XD cards
sent camera to specialist repairer who said it needed new main board at great cost
Before scrapping camera I sought and found this list
and applied the reset as advised above
BINGO!!
It works perfectly
Many many thanks
DavidH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th October 2013
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Camera displays card error

A not so specialist repairer then!
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th October 2013
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 21,990
Thanks: 1,976
Thanked 3,139 Times in 2,448 Posts
Likes: 3,359
Liked 4,435 Times in 2,102 Posts
Re: Camera displays card error

Quote:
Originally Posted by hihosland View Post
I purchased E620 cheap on Ebay,
could not inserd CF card as pins were bent
straightened pins
and got "card full" error with either CF or XD cards
sent camera to specialist repairer who said it needed new main board at great cost
Before scrapping camera I sought and found this list
and applied the reset as advised above
BINGO!!
It works perfectly
Many many thanks
DavidH
Glad it worked for you!

Welcome to the forum, we're a UK based site but have a strong (and very vociferous!) Aussie contingent. G'day mate!
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th October 2013
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,140
Thanks: 743
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 640
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: Camera displays card error

Not quite the same subject, but near enough. When I try to copy from one card to another in my E5 I always get a 'card full' message, even tho' it isn't. Any ideas please? I've tried formatting and it makes no difference.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th October 2013
Wally's Avatar
Wally Wally is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 3,768
Thanks: 256
Thanked 1,113 Times in 698 Posts
Likes: 520
Liked 1,446 Times in 725 Posts
Re: Camera displays card error

Again, not the same subject but something that might be of interest. Recently tried out a 32Gb micro SD card in the ZX-1 which worked a treat. The basic concept was to transfer the chip into my tablet. Some comments on Amazon had hinted at card failures which I had been lucky to avoid... then it happened - card failure. It cleared and all was OK for a time, then it returned. Eventually, the penny dropped and the fault only happened when the battery was getting run down. Still enough juice to get the camera up and running but not enough to transfer the data to the chip. It would appear that even the micro size needs a fair amount of power to function correctly under certain circumstances or equipment criteria.
__________________
It's not what inspires us that is important, it's where the journey takes us.

Wally and his Collie with our Oly bits & bobs

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wally For This Useful Post:
George Dorn (25th October 2013)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted (to borrow) CF card reader...... roadkill_6mm For sale or wanted small ads 10 1st April 2011 05:17 PM
Delkin sd card reader sapper For sale or wanted small ads 0 23rd March 2010 01:35 PM
HELP! CF card reader ronyzmbow General accessories 14 14th January 2010 08:26 PM
Card Error Moneypenny2k The lounge 9 9th December 2009 08:50 AM
Hama 32 in 1 card reader and hub shirley General accessories 4 13th August 2009 09:22 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger