Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference

Camera conference General and model-specific E-System camera chat.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
CF Card query

I recently bought two Kingston CF cards: 4Gb 133x and 8Gb 133x. The former was fitted to my E500 and the latter to my E3.

The above info might just be a coincidence but I mention it just in case.

I have found that the camera image count has been decreasing and, although I delete images I have taken, the number of images available to be saved does not increase back to the full capacity of a blank CF card. It in fact stays at the capacity BEFORE deletion

I have re-formatted the cards and still no change. Reformatted on the computer (FAT32) and still no change.

Checked with Oly Technical support and went through the same checks and also re-set the camera (E3 only at this stage). I changed the resolution from RAW to jpg and still no change in the number of exposures available. This seems to point to a camera problem but the same issue is seen on BOTH cameras which is unusual. Checked both cameras for pin alighnment in the CF slot - no problems. Checked the CF card for errors using the computer - no problems.

Just to gain confidence (in something!) I fitted the original cards to the cameras (both 4Gb) but found the problem persists. Fitted a 1Gb card to the E3 and found that swapping to jpg does increase the available image count but only to the maximum I get with the other cards.

Am I missing something? It is unlikely both cameras are faulty and it is unlikely all five cards are faulty.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th January 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Do you get the expected full capacity after formatting either in camera or in PC? A useful utility for testing cards (or any other storage device for that matter) is H2TESTW which you can download for free. At least you'll be able to see if the problem is with the cards.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by meach View Post
Do you get the expected full capacity after formatting either in camera or in PC? A useful utility for testing cards (or any other storage device for that matter) is H2TESTW which you can download for free. At least you'll be able to see if the problem is with the cards.
When formatting the cards the PC says full capacity is available. When formatting in the camera It remains stuck at the number of images after the last shoot. It is always reducing and soon I shall not be able to take any images on ANY card.

I used the memory check program in Windows 7 and it reported no errors found. I shall download the suggested program and try it but I suspect it too will say nothing is wrong.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th January 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: CF Card query

That points to a camera fault - except you wouldn't expect to suddenly find it on both cameras. Very weird indeed!
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by meach View Post
That points to a camera fault - except you wouldn't expect to suddenly find it on both cameras. Very weird indeed!
Thanks Paul. I have downloaded the program you suggested and it is now running on my Laptop (Vista operating system).

You have come to the same conclusions I have but, I will try anything and will let you know the outcome.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th January 2010
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Peter

Have you reviewed this thread http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6906.

The resolution seemed to be to force the camera to recalculate available space which it only does when down to very low number of images available (10 or so). But....???

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th January 2010
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,148
Thanks: 744
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 647
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Temple-Fry View Post
Peter

Have you reviewed this thread http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6906.

The resolution seemed to be to force the camera to recalculate available space which it only does when down to very low number of images available (10 or so). But....???

Nick
As the originator of that particular thread I'm happy to say the problem has not recurred and my E3 still gets the frame count right. I can only suggest doing what I did. It might be worth speaking to Oly as this does seem to be more of a camera problem than a card one and it's more than just a one off.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Temple-Fry View Post
Peter

Have you reviewed this thread http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6906.

The resolution seemed to be to force the camera to recalculate available space which it only does when down to very low number of images available (10 or so). But....???

Nick
Thanks Nick - I had completely forgotten about this posting even though I had replied to it. My last comment becomes even more relevant. How about having a sticky to the camera postings to act as a FAQ section Ian.

I am in the process of checking one of the cards out using the program suggested earlier. After that I might well try the other suggested solution. If that is the way forward then it looks as though a firmware fix is URGENTLY required in the cameras.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melaka View Post
As the originator of that particular thread I'm happy to say the problem has not recurred and my E3 still gets the frame count right. I can only suggest doing what I did. It might be worth speaking to Oly as this does seem to be more of a camera problem than a card one and it's more than just a one off.
Thanks David. I have to agree wholeheartedly with you. I have spoken to Oly before posting this issue and they were puzzled and suggested I send the camera for repair.........that was until I told them that the E500 was behaving the same way.

I have a feeling that this started when I went for the higher capacity 100Mb/s cards. I wonder if there is a glitch in the camera firmware that is triggered in some way by using this type of card. The firmware between models is unlikely to have changed in the file handling routines and therefore would be a common factor to explore. I shall be letting Oly know whatever the outcome.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Latest Update

Testing complete with no errors founf on the CF Card using H2TESTW.

Bearing in mind the latest comments, rather than deleting all the files I loaded the card in the E3. It reported the card was full - good news. I re-formatted the card in the E3 and it came up with 133 images available for a 4Mb card!! That was in RAW. Changed to MN and the capacity remained at 133 .

Time to put on the thinking cap again
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19th January 2010
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: CF Card query

I'm not sure that the camera will have recalculated the space available in the same way as it is forced to do when the count gets low in shooting. That calculation route through the code seems to be only triggerred by the 'low remaining' criteria - otherwise the camera works on a stored value (presumably to reduce processor load).

But that's only supposition, as we can't see the code or the various stored values.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th January 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterD View Post
Latest Update

Testing complete with no errors founf on the CF Card using H2TESTW.

Bearing in mind the latest comments, rather than deleting all the files I loaded the card in the E3. It reported the card was full - good news. I re-formatted the card in the E3 and it came up with 133 images available for a 4Mb card!! That was in RAW. Changed to MN and the capacity remained at 133 .

Time to put on the thinking cap again
Sorry you got the wrong result. But it's worth hanging on to h2testw as you can check any new cards you buy as well as USB pens, especially as there seem to be so many dodgy ones about these days.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th January 2010
Rod Souter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: CF Card query

Peter,
I have a new 4GB Kingston x133.

I put it in my E-3 and it tells me space for 159 shots, I have the camera set to RAW+LSF.

Rod
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th January 2010
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: CF Card query

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod Souter View Post
Peter,
I have a new 4GB Kingston x133.

I put it in my E-3 and it tells me space for 159 shots, I have the camera set to RAW+LSF.

Rod
Thanks Rod.

When I first had the cards they gave me the expected number of exposures/ I shoot RAW. Now any card I put in gives me the same amount of exposures which is far fewer than expected.
I shall shoot burst tomorrow and hope that Nick's prediction comes true. If not, I will not be able to use the E3 at all.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th January 2010
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,411
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,651 Times in 739 Posts
Re: CF Card query

If you format the card then inspect its capacity using a PC, what does it say? I've picked a formatted card at random from my collection (4GB) and on an E-30 it says 288 RAW frames capacity and on the PC it says 3.91GB free, or 4,201,971,712 bytes free.

I ask this because if the card has bad sectors, a chunk of the card's memory might have been mapped out.

Is the card's format reported as FAT32?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FL-CB05 query SkinHead Flash 1 19th January 2010 09:08 AM
CF card adapter to SD card petrovich General accessories 8 9th November 2009 03:39 PM
close-up lens query Invicta Lens focus 7 28th June 2009 05:53 AM
BLM-1 replacement query Invicta Accessory talk 32 6th July 2008 10:13 AM
Focus query RogerMac Olympus E-510 2 17th April 2008 12:15 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger