Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th November 2016
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
W10 Update

This morning there was a W10 update installed. I have never done so before but I took a look at the list. It includes an October 2016 edition of Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool. Maybe MS are getting the message?

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th November 2016
Miketoll Miketoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 581
Thanks: 100
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 126 Times in 80 Posts
Re: W10 Update

Microsoft have included and run a Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool every month as part of the regular update for years so it is nothing new.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th November 2016
ludwig ludwig is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 113
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 11
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: W10 Update

The Win 10 updates are a complete PITA.
Recently, every time I get one on my work machine, whenever I switch it on, I try to get to our network log in screen, and I get just a black screen with white mouse pointer - no other graphics, text boxes etc etc.

I need to then revert to an earlier image using Macrium Reflect - it seems to be the only solution at the moment that enables me to work. What are they doing with these updates that screws this up? It's no good...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th November 2016
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: W10 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miketoll View Post
Microsoft have included and run a Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool every month as part of the regular update for years so it is nothing new.
You spoiled my special day!

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Miketoll (11th November 2016)
  #5  
Old 10th November 2016
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,915
Thanks: 88
Thanked 267 Times in 235 Posts
Likes: 1,001
Liked 847 Times in 542 Posts
Re: W10 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by ludwig View Post
The Win 10 updates are a complete PITA.
Recently, every time I get one on my work machine, whenever I switch it on, I try to get to our network log in screen, and I get just a black screen with white mouse pointer - no other graphics, text boxes etc etc.
This is not an uncommon problem - I had the same symptoms myself a while ago. Occasionally it would boot properly but more often than not I'd get the black screen. The machine had booted though, I could use the keyboard to navigate to the shut down button (by remembering the number of presses of the up/down arrows!) whereupon the screen would come on and show the shutdown sequence. I spent some time searching for a solution on line and eventually discovered that if I disabled "Fast startup" it fixed the problem. Go to Settings > System > Power & Sleep > Additional Power Settings and you'll find a check-box labelled Fast Start. The default setting is enabled, so disable it. Hopefully that will fix it. Oddly enough, the machine didn't start any more slowly with Fast Start disabled but it shut down more quickly!

In my case it was a graphics driver issue, no W10 driver was available for the graphics card in this system (Radeon X1300) and I was using a W8.1 one. I've since swopped the graphics card for a newer one that does have a proper driver!

These perpetual updates are a problem though as they use a lot of bandwidth to download and render the machine useless while they install themselves. That said, in the last month or two there have been considerably fewer and the machine is working more smoothly than it used to.
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th November 2016
ludwig ludwig is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 113
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 11
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: W10 Update

Thanks for the tip. I'll try it out tomorrow. I tried several things before and nothing worked but I don't think I tried that one. I'll let you know!

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th November 2016
Wally's Avatar
Wally Wally is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 3,768
Thanks: 256
Thanked 1,113 Times in 698 Posts
Likes: 520
Liked 1,446 Times in 725 Posts
Re: W10 Update

Just a heads-up, for those who may not be aware?

If like many, you are peeved with the W10 auto updates then the following link might be of some help.

It seems fairly easy HA! HA!, when using anything higher then the Home version, but that too can be got at if you're prepared to get your hands dirty. It goes without saying ... easy or not - here be dragons?

https://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/stop-...ating-your-pc/
__________________
It's not what inspires us that is important, it's where the journey takes us.

Wally and his Collie with our Oly bits & bobs

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wally For This Useful Post:
OM USer (11th November 2016)
  #8  
Old 11th November 2016
ludwig ludwig is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 113
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 11
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: W10 Update

So - I've made the change to the Fast Start Up option - hopefully this will fix it...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th December 2016
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 6,640
Thanks: 2,403
Thanked 976 Times in 775 Posts
Likes: 1,917
Liked 2,944 Times in 858 Posts
Re: W10 Update

My other half has got an HP laptop running Windows 10, which is just under a year old. A few days ago she was unable to log on to the internet. I am only familiar with Macs but I valliantly spent several hours trying to find out what the problem was (not so easy without internet access.) I tracked the issue down to 'Wi-fi doesn't have a valid configuration' but was unable to correct it.

Lynn works at a school, so she took the laptop in so that the school's IT guru could look at it. After getting nowhere he consulted a friend who informed him that it was a common problem caused by the latest Windows update. He was able to sort it out but told me that I would never have done it without internet access.

That is the real issue. It was unable to access the internet, which meant that I was unable to get the required updates to access the internet and was stuck in vicious circle. The following day there was another Windows 10 update, presumably to correct the issue.

Windows - pahh!

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th December 2016
Wally's Avatar
Wally Wally is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 3,768
Thanks: 256
Thanked 1,113 Times in 698 Posts
Likes: 520
Liked 1,446 Times in 725 Posts
Re: W10 Update

With regard to Windows Updates. I'm running W7 and from October, I've had problems with certain update instals.

The problem concerns the monthly roll-up updates which refuse to instal. Being unsure of the cause, I've have today attempted to revert back to several previous Restore Points, all of which now fail to work?

Have been using several AV proggies to search for any bad guy's... all without success. Apparently, I'm squeaky clean... which is a first.

Something is definitely amiss... but what? Any help appreciated.
__________________
It's not what inspires us that is important, it's where the journey takes us.

Wally and his Collie with our Oly bits & bobs

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-M5 Update Floribunda Foto Fair 9 16th October 2014 07:31 AM
E-5 update Barr1e Announcements 0 13th September 2011 06:04 PM
Update ringneck Olympus E-510 0 23rd January 2011 03:57 PM
50-200 SWD Update 1.1 Barrie Norman Telephoto 2 20th February 2010 01:30 PM
What would you like to see in a F/W Update Garrie Olympus E-510 9 28th February 2008 04:10 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger