Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > General photography discussion

General photography discussion Please look for a specific board to start your thread but if you can't find an appropriate one, post it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th January 2019
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,353
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,008 Times in 299 Posts
Can anyone shed any light on this

Didn't know what topic to put this in. There's a website I was trying to go to that I've used in the past and always worked. When I go to it now I get

Mcrypt PHP extension required and a blank screen.

If I restart my router I can then get into it but after a while when I try again it's back the same.
If I try from my phone via my router it's the same but if I go via mobile data it works.
It's the sort of thing that bugs me.

Any ideas?????
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th January 2019
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 5,546
Thanks: 315
Thanked 497 Times in 384 Posts
Likes: 2,562
Liked 1,464 Times in 719 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
Didn't know what topic to put this in. There's a website I was trying to go to that I've used in the past and always worked. When I go to it now I get

Mcrypt PHP extension required and a blank screen.

If I restart my router I can then get into it but after a while when I try again it's back the same.
If I try from my phone via my router it's the same but if I go via mobile data it works.
It's the sort of thing that bugs me.

Any ideas?????
Can you post a link to the website in question?
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th January 2019
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,353
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,008 Times in 299 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post
Can you post a link to the website in question?
Here you are. It's a restaurant in Amsterdam that we've used before and was going to book a table for when we visit in a couple of weeks time.

http://www.restaurant-longpura.com/
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th January 2019
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 66
Thanked 240 Times in 123 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Link works fine for me in Internet Explorer,

Maybe temporary site issue or try a different browser.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th January 2019
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 1,466
Thanks: 91
Thanked 332 Times in 209 Posts
Likes: 342
Liked 430 Times in 198 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Andy,
Perhaps their web server isn't properly secured (SSL certificates etc.) and your mobile data path /settings are less rigorously checked than via your router/wifi.
I've noticed how over the past few months browsers such as Firefox & Safari are rejecting more sites. (Recently I've had to install an SSL cert on my NAS so that the family can browse our photo albums remotely without incurring browser warnings that they find incomprehensible.)
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th January 2019
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 5,546
Thanks: 315
Thanked 497 Times in 384 Posts
Likes: 2,562
Liked 1,464 Times in 719 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

It worked perfectly for me no errors or anything on my Mac using Safari browser.

I thought I would give it a go using Opera which uses a vpn to connect and I got the
Mcrypt PHP extension required message that you did.


Are you using vpn or behind some firewall?
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th January 2019
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,010
Thanks: 1,978
Thanked 3,140 Times in 2,449 Posts
Likes: 3,366
Liked 4,441 Times in 2,107 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invicta View Post
Link works fine for me in Internet Explorer,

Maybe temporary site issue or try a different browser.
Me too, although it's all Dutch to me!
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
shotokan101 (27th January 2019)
  #8  
Old 26th January 2019
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,353
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,008 Times in 299 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post


Are you using vpn or behind some firewall?
Nope. I'm using a windows 7 PC with just the supplied window firewall. I'm using Firefox but tried it using Chrome but it was the same.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th January 2019
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 5,546
Thanks: 315
Thanked 497 Times in 384 Posts
Likes: 2,562
Liked 1,464 Times in 719 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

All I can think of is the site might have updated its security settings and that's upsetting your Windows 7 system, which is getting on a bit (sorry). As Chris said in his post above this type of thing is happening more and more. Chrome for example I know is very fussy these days about what sites it thinks are safe.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th January 2019
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,640
Thanks: 125
Thanked 207 Times in 174 Posts
Likes: 182
Liked 167 Times in 111 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Andy, I wonder if it could be a dns issue related to your server. I've had strange oddball things like this happen before.
A different originating IP address way well go to a different DNS server for re-transmission of the request.
If this is the case, it could explain why others don't have the issue, and why your mobile works OK.

Have a go at using a specific DNS server, rather than auto allocate, via your router's setup and see if it makes any difference. I'd suggest 9.9.9.9 Quad9 There may be other good reasons for using that too/
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26th January 2019
Steambuff Steambuff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 22
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Likes: 38
Liked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Hi,

Opened for me under Windows 7 in IE and Firefox.
I use Norton Internet Security as my Firewall/AV

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26th January 2019
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,353
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,008 Times in 299 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Quote:
Originally Posted by peak4 View Post
Andy, I wonder if it could be a dns issue related to your server. I've had strange oddball things like this happen before.
A different originating IP address way well go to a different DNS server for re-transmission of the request.
If this is the case, it could explain why others don't have the issue, and why your mobile works OK.

Have a go at using a specific DNS server, rather than auto allocate, via your router's setup and see if it makes any difference. I'd suggest 9.9.9.9 Quad9 There may be other good reasons for using that too/
I'm using open DNS at the mo. I'll try the other later.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
peak4 (26th January 2019)
  #13  
Old 26th January 2019
Keith-369 Keith-369 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: North West England
Posts: 1,603
Thanks: 96
Thanked 180 Times in 160 Posts
Likes: 837
Liked 461 Times in 243 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Works fine for me too. Win 7 64bit using both Firefox (latest version) and Chrome (latest version)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26th January 2019
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,934
Thanks: 1,226
Thanked 547 Times in 490 Posts
Likes: 1,849
Liked 846 Times in 238 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

It doesn't work for me on Chrome, Firefox or IE 11 on the PC (Win7 64 bit) but works fine on Chrome on the tablet???
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, E-M1 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th January 2019
Shaw's Avatar
Shaw Shaw is offline
Senior
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Howe o' the Mearns, Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,102
Thanks: 200
Thanked 165 Times in 98 Posts
Likes: 432
Liked 158 Times in 58 Posts
Re: Can anyone shed any light on this

Mcrypt PHP extension required and a blank screen.

I also get this on my Mac.
__________________
Stewart

My Zenfolio Site
My Portfolio Site

Olympus: E-M1 Mk11 | PEN-F + ECG-4 | XZ-1 | EE-1 Dot Sight Lumix: G9 | LX100 Nissin: i40
Zuiko: 40-150 Pro + MC-14 | 12-100 Pro | 7-14 Pro | 17 | 45 | 60 | OM 135 Leica: 100-400 | 12-60 Samyang: 7.5 fisheye Tamron: 14-150
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Every man needs a shed philjay Foto Fair 12 17th November 2014 09:01 PM
On Shed - Ropley Loco Shed 22 Oct 2011 PeterD Foto Fair 12 27th October 2011 11:23 AM
Be ast and Shed DerekW Foto Fair 3 29th April 2011 01:05 PM
HDR Shed ringneck Foto Fair 2 1st February 2010 10:43 PM
Shed Kiwi Paul Foto Fair 1 19th December 2009 02:07 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger