Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-620/600

Olympus E-620/600 An Olympus 12.1MP mid-range compact DSLR, the E-620 and the feature-reduiced version, the E-600.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th May 2010
Aquavit Aquavit is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mobile
Posts: 60
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Superfine compression

I understand with the E-620 there is a choice of pixel count; Large, Medium and Small in addition to options for Compression Rate of Superfine, Fine, Normal and Basic.

I want to set my camera to Large/Superfine (like most folk I imagine) but I cannot for the life of me find any way of setting Superfine. I can only achieve Large/Fine, the manual is next to hopeless of course.

Am I missing something
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th May 2010
E-3's Avatar
E-3 E-3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 727
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquavit View Post
I understand with the E-620 there is a choice of pixel count; Large, Medium and Small in addition to options for Compression Rate of Superfine, Fine, Normal and Basic.

I want to set my camera to Large/Superfine (like most folk I imagine) but I cannot for the life of me find any way of setting Superfine. I can only achieve Large/Fine, the manual is next to hopeless of course.

Am I missing something
You change it in the menu (LSF 1/2.7)
__________________
Regards James.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th May 2010
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Superfine compression

Not sure if the E620 is the same but for the E3 you go to the menu, spanner 1, scroll through until you get to "G" (colour/WB), select the menu option by pressing the right arrow on the keypad, select "set", right arrow on keypad again and you have a menu numbered 1 to 4, the default is "L F" for 1 change the F to SF and hit ok thats it!!.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2010
Aquavit Aquavit is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mobile
Posts: 60
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Thanks James, I have attempted that by pressing the menu button, scrolling down to the funny "E" symbol (in between gradation and image aspect) which then offers me options of RAW, LF, LN, MN etc. BUT no L/SF???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th May 2010
Aquavit Aquavit is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mobile
Posts: 60
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Thank you Paul, yes it is similar on the 620 - I found it following your instructions! It's very well hidden and nowhere to be found in the manual, I must have struggled for over two hours trying to find it!

It's reduced the storage on my card by 30%, so let's hope there is a corresponding improvement in picture quality
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th May 2010
jonsey
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Superfine compression

On E30...Spanner #1...menu letter G....Aspect/color/WB...Gradation set....???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th February 2011
skids's Avatar
skids skids is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,416
Thanks: 101
Thanked 99 Times in 82 Posts
Likes: 793
Liked 563 Times in 206 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Just upgraded to an E-620 and was wondering how to set this (as others have said the manual isn't a great help) so thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th February 2011
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Superfine compression

Not sure if the E620 is the same but for the E3 you go to the menu, spanner 1, scroll through until you get to "G" (colour/WB), select the menu option by pressing the right arrow on the keypad, select "set", right arrow on keypad again and you have a menu numbered 1 to 4, the default is "L F" for 1 change the F to SF and hit ok thats it!!.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th February 2011
skids's Avatar
skids skids is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,416
Thanks: 101
Thanked 99 Times in 82 Posts
Likes: 793
Liked 563 Times in 206 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Your info managed me to get it sorted for my E-620.

Many thanks for the help!

Skids.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th April 2017
Sean McKinney Sean McKinney is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: pass
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Sorry for reviving a dead thread but can someone please walk me through the process of setting one of these to super fine?
Maybe I 'don't speak the language' but following the instructions above, as I understand them, seems to get me nowhere.
Thanks


Of course, having posted that I found the answer via my next google! Typical grrr!
I can't post a link but it's a post in Dpreview by petrbur in a thread entitled "E-620 image size and compression rate question" in a post entitled "Little bit tricky"

Last edited by Sean McKinney; 13th April 2017 at 10:27 AM. Reason: found answer immediately after posting question
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th October 2017
DickSmith DickSmith is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

I happened on this thread, and realised I hadn't even known about the superfine compression setting. Thanks to those who explained how to find it, I've now set my E620 to this standard, and like the results.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26th October 2017
Phill D's Avatar
Phill D Phill D is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 9,628
Thanks: 1,159
Thanked 1,375 Times in 1,270 Posts
Likes: 985
Liked 2,273 Times in 1,080 Posts
Re: Superfine compression

Oldie but goldie this thread. I don't know why Olympus always hides this setting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no superfine option on my e-30? adamo2o2 Olympus E-30 2 19th October 2009 03:42 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:12 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger