Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-620/600

Olympus E-620/600 An Olympus 12.1MP mid-range compact DSLR, the E-620 and the feature-reduiced version, the E-600.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th November 2009
Roberta's Avatar
Roberta Roberta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tambo Upper, East Gippsland Australia
Posts: 550
Thanks: 7
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Likes: 5
Liked 30 Times in 21 Posts
help with lens

I'm new to the board, and new to Digital SLR's. I have the std lenses that came with the camera, but as we live in the bush and I bought a Zuirko ED 70-300mm as the 150 was just a bit short.
Well here is my question, do you have to tell the camera what the lens is. I've onlyt started to play with the menu's and I noticed their was a place for the lens data. When I use the lens out to 300, I find it only goes as far as 150, which is the highest mm of the other lens, or am I doing something wrong.
Roberta
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th November 2009
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: help with lens

Hi Roberta, and welcome!
To answer your question, no you don't have to tell the camera what the lens is AS LONG AS it's an Olympus ZD lens or a Sigma 4/3 mount lens. The menu you see is for when you are using non-four-thirds lenses on your camera with an adapter. In these case the camera has no way of knowing what lens is mounted so you have to tell it for the benefit of Image Stabilisation. All "designed for" four-thirds lenses have a chip in them which communicates full information to the body.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th November 2009
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: help with lens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberta View Post
I'm new to the board, and new to Digital SLR's. I have the std lenses that came with the camera, but as we live in the bush and I bought a Zuirko ED 70-300mm as the 150 was just a bit short.
Well here is my question, do you have to tell the camera what the lens is. I've onlyt started to play with the menu's and I noticed their was a place for the lens data. When I use the lens out to 300, I find it only goes as far as 150, which is the highest mm of the other lens, or am I doing something wrong.
Roberta
Hi Roberta

As Stephen says, no you don't have to tell your camera what lens you are using. You have the ZD 70-300mm, which will communicate with the camera for all its operations i.e. aperture, focal length, auto focus (as long as you have set it to 'Auto' on the lens itself) etc.

Make sure you have the IS turned on, probably IS1 is best for bird shooting. I've taken loads of bird shots with this excellent lens - which is quite probably the most understated of all the Oly lenses.

Welcome to e-group by the way.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th November 2009
jamie allan jamie allan is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,023
Thanks: 78
Thanked 92 Times in 76 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: help with lens

Roberta,
Welcome to the forum. Re your query on the 70-300mm on full extension of the lens. If you are referring to the markings on the lens barrel then I had the same thoughts and raised this with Olympus. The markings on the barrel it turns out refer to the settings when used in macro mode on your camera. They don't refer to standard use. Check the exif detail on any shots taken at full extension and I think you'll find these show it operating at 300mm.
Jamie
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd December 2014
Nichthewood Nichthewood is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Vicq-sur-gartempe
Posts: 29
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: help with lens

I was wondering about the 70-300mm lens not extending all the way out too. So really pleased to find the answer here. Thought I'd bought a dud. Once again thanks to all, even if it was written 5 years ago. Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger