Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-400

Olympus E-400 E-400 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th May 2013
eagle eagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: YORK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help please

Hi Everyone,
Does anyone know of anywhere in Yorkshire that I can get my E-400 looked at. When I go to take a picture the shutter isn't cycling through properly, the mirror comes up but it's not registering the exposure so no picture. Never used a forum before to try and get help so sorry if I sound ignorant but I am
Thanks
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th May 2013
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle View Post
Hi Everyone,
Does anyone know of anywhere in Yorkshire that I can get my E-400 looked at. When I go to take a picture the shutter isn't cycling through properly, the mirror comes up but it's not registering the exposure so no picture. Never used a forum before to try and get help so sorry if I sound ignorant but I am
Thanks
Martin
Hi Martin, Sorry I cannot help with the location of a Repairer in Yorkshire. But perhaps post it to Luton Cameras ? or even phone Luton Cameras because lots of members talk about how very knowledgeable Luton Cameras are

Have you looked in the E400 section ? Maybe another Member has experienced this problem ?

Anyway, at least my post here shall "bump" your thread up to the top for a while and someone may see it and be able to help you

PS W e l c o m e
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chevvyf1 For This Useful Post:
eagle (7th May 2013)
  #3  
Old 7th May 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,409
Thanks: 414
Thanked 2,442 Times in 1,231 Posts
Likes: 828
Liked 1,649 Times in 739 Posts
Re: Help please

I have moved this thread to the E-400 board.

It does sound like a failed shutter - does the mirror return normally after trying an exposure?

Have you tried resetting the camera or using it in live view mode?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th May 2013
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,988
Thanks: 2,390
Thanked 1,149 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,230 Times in 800 Posts
Re: Help please

Not sure how to but a reset might be worth a try check your manual. It does sound like a repair job and again Luton seems the place to try.
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wee man For This Useful Post:
eagle (7th May 2013)
  #5  
Old 7th May 2013
eagle eagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: YORK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I have moved this thread to the E-400 board.

It does sound like a failed shutter - does the mirror return normally after trying an exposure?

Have you tried resetting the camera or using it in live view mode?

Ian
I'm afraid I've not got as far as exploring all the functions on my camera but have tried to reset and it's not giving me that option live view isn't something I know how to get, but thanks for moving me to the right place for best effect. I'll get there eventually but it's all a learning curve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th May 2013
Ralph Harwood's Avatar
Ralph Harwood Ralph Harwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,822
Thanks: 213
Thanked 294 Times in 274 Posts
Likes: 765
Liked 412 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Help please

Hi there Eagle!

I'm not absolutely certain that you have LiveView on the E-400, I thought that that didn't come out until the E-410 (I haven't got a 400, just a 410 and 420) but one way I think you can force the shutter to open if it is going to is by putting it into sensor cleaning mode. This mode raises the mirror and opens the shutter to allow cleaning of the sensor - you can get to it through the menus - it's in spanner 2 and called cleaning mode - the shutter should open showing the sensor (you'll need the lens removed to see it).

If the shutter still doesn't open it could well be that the shutter is faulty. If this is the case it may work out cheaper to by a new body from e-bay (or someone on this forum is selling the superior E-510 body with built in image stabilisation for 110).

Good luck with your camera, if you can get the shutter to open let us know and we'll have another think!

Cheers,

Ralph.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th May 2013
Ralph Harwood's Avatar
Ralph Harwood Ralph Harwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,822
Thanks: 213
Thanked 294 Times in 274 Posts
Likes: 765
Liked 412 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Help please

Hi there Eagle!

I forgot to say in the earlier post that you have to press the shutter button once you have put the camera into cleaning mode to open the shutter, and once you have finished turn the power off to come back out again - it's in the manual on page 91 (at least it is in the online version of the pdf I have.)

Cheers,

Ralph.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th May 2013
Phill D's Avatar
Phill D Phill D is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 9,618
Thanks: 1,158
Thanked 1,374 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 983
Liked 2,271 Times in 1,079 Posts
Re: Help please

Harrison Cameras in Sheffield are very good as a retailer. I'd expect them to be able to advise about repairs although don't have any experience of that. Only time I've had anything fixed I went to a local shop and they sent it off to Oly. The repair was very good and came with a service and guarantee for the whole camera. It cost about as much as a replacement camera second hand though.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Phill D For This Useful Post:
eagle (9th May 2013)
  #9  
Old 9th May 2013
eagle eagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: YORK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Harwood View Post
Hi there Eagle!

I forgot to say in the earlier post that you have to press the shutter button once you have put the camera into cleaning mode to open the shutter, and once you have finished turn the power off to come back out again - it's in the manual on page 91 (at least it is in the online version of the pdf I have.)

Cheers,

Ralph.
cheers Ralph, I think there must be software issues with the camera as when going through the menu to do a factory reset that function was being denied to me also. Anyway it has gone off to Luton Cameras now so hopefully they'll sort it out but I'll have a look at that 510 cheers mate
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th May 2013
eagle eagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: YORK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Help please

Thanks everyone for your help. It's goner off to Luton Cameras now so here's hoping. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
not working

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:37 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger