Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Capture One Pro 7

I have just received an email from Phase One announcing the latest Upgrade available

I wonder if anyone here has "jumped on board 7" ?

and how it is ?
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th October 2012
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,722
Thanks: 99
Thanked 147 Times in 128 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 115 Times in 60 Posts
Yep
Still working with it...the clarity tool upgrade is good and have now got a gradient tool for the layers... not sure about the asset management but the I have trouble with keywording etc...you can always get the trial version t see if the upgrade is for you
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2012
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

I tried the trial and as yet I am undecided if the upgrade is for me.

When they said improved noise reduction at high ISO I was expecting Lightroom performance, sadly hardly any noticable difference on 6.

More testing to do before I decide.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th October 2012
JohnI's Avatar
JohnI JohnI is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

I almost hate to bring this up, but I've been running the trial version of the new Photo Ninja through its paces, and have found that in approximately 40% of my chosen "problem image" trials, the results have been far better than the best I can get from Lightroom 4. Furthermore, on a global basis I find the overall color values and balance more to my taste than Lightroom. And I need to spend another $129 like I need to slash off one of my fingers, dammit! By the way, this does include superb noise reduction (apparently the lastest Noise Ninja is bundled in the program). Double dammit.

John
__________________
Founder and head idjit of the ancient and venerable Order of Photography Is Simple, Stupid

Website @

http://trihelic.net/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
I tried the trial and as yet I am undecided if the upgrade is for me.

When they said improved noise reduction at high ISO I was expecting Lightroom performance, sadly hardly any noticable difference on 6.

More testing to do before I decide.
Paul, thanks for your honest reply - much appreciated - I am reviewing my applications for photos editing as I need to consolidate
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
I tried the trial and as yet I am undecided if the upgrade is for me.

When they said improved noise reduction at high ISO I was expecting Lightroom performance, sadly hardly any noticable difference on 6.

More testing to do before I decide.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnI View Post
I almost hate to bring this up, but I've been running the trial version of the new Photo Ninja through its paces, and have found that in approximately 40% of my chosen "problem image" trials, the results have been far better than the best I can get from Lightroom 4. Furthermore, on a global basis I find the overall color values and balance more to my taste than Lightroom. And I need to spend another $129 like I need to slash off one of my fingers, dammit! By the way, this does include superb noise reduction (apparently the lastest Noise Ninja is bundled in the program). Double dammit.

John

John, I was just reading an Indie Review of Photo Ninja but where does one purchase this from, please ?
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th October 2012
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Scrap that the noise reduction has improved immensely , it was just a bug (or operator error) with CO7 still using CO6's processing engine. Just processed a ISO3200 very low light image from the Pen and it is great,I guess I will be upgrading.

E-PL3 1/40 s f/7.1 ISO 3200

__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th October 2012
JohnI's Avatar
JohnI JohnI is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevvyf1 View Post
John, I was just reading an Indie Review of Photo Ninja but where does one purchase this from, please ?
Chevvy -

Here's the site . . . .

http://www.picturecode.com/index.php

John
__________________
Founder and head idjit of the ancient and venerable Order of Photography Is Simple, Stupid

Website @

http://trihelic.net/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th October 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Thanks John Google came up with all sorts of ninja*.* websites
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th October 2012
Photoguy1510
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Hi guys, any tips on using photo ninja. I tried a few high iso photos and the results are just short on rubbish with colour splotches everywhere. Detail no better than LR4 and the interface clunky at best.

With so many good reviews out there I'm going to assume the fault must be on my end.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28th October 2012
JohnI's Avatar
JohnI JohnI is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photoguy1510 View Post
Hi guys, any tips on using photo ninja. I tried a few high iso photos and the results are just short on rubbish with colour splotches everywhere. Detail no better than LR4 and the interface clunky at best.

With so many good reviews out there I'm going to assume the fault must be on my end.
I've got some very small familiarity with the "splotches" which occur most notably with high ISO and oversharpening/contrast. Part of the Noise Ninja menu is a section called "noise luminance reduction", which has a little box labeled "enable". Click on the box (a checkmark will appear) and the dread "splotches" will simply . . . vanish. Needless to say when fine tuning an image I've found that one must balance both ends of the sharpening/contrast and noise reduction teeter-totter (using the sliders) to get the best results, just as in Lightroom. My double dammit problem is that doing this gets me better results than Lightroom. My double dammit salvation is that on my Mac I can simply and seamlessly drag modified images from Photo Ninja into the Lightroom catalog with no degradation of same. And no, I haven't spent the $129 yet, but unless I find a particularly ugly spanner in the Photo Ninja works, I most likely will . . . .

John
__________________
Founder and head idjit of the ancient and venerable Order of Photography Is Simple, Stupid

Website @

http://trihelic.net/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28th October 2012
Photoguy1510
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Capture One Pro 7

@JohnI. Thanks for that ill keep playing but did manage to get rid of the splotches, I'm still better in LR4 at this stage, I prefer DXO results, its alo very easy to get to get to those results. But always looking for that magical noise removal tool. Ill keep trying have to admit it is a 6400 photo so not giving it an easy job to start with.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th October 2012
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Well I pressed the button and upgraded to CO7.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th October 2012
JohnI's Avatar
JohnI JohnI is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photoguy1510 View Post
@JohnI. Thanks for that ill keep playing but did manage to get rid of the splotches, I'm still better in LR4 at this stage, I prefer DXO results, its alo very easy to get to get to those results. But always looking for that magical noise removal tool. Ill keep trying have to admit it is a 6400 photo so not giving it an easy job to start with.
That's why I keep my set of "problem" images around; a good test bed for the latest panaceaware.

Of course, I'm the one in the film days used to be up at 3 am half gassed on the fumes of Dektol and pushing the living daylights (no pun intended) out of Tri-X shot at asa 400 or more, seeking grain the size of the dimples of a golfball. Ahhh, Youth, ahhh, Art, ahhh, Lurrrve (as Chevvy would say) . . . . .

John
__________________
Founder and head idjit of the ancient and venerable Order of Photography Is Simple, Stupid

Website @

http://trihelic.net/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29th October 2012
Greytop's Avatar
Greytop Greytop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,250
Thanks: 1,107
Thanked 587 Times in 544 Posts
Likes: 1,424
Liked 762 Times in 276 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Scrap that the noise reduction has improved immensely , it was just a bug (or operator error) with CO7 still using CO6's processing engine. Just processed a ISO3200 very low light image from the Pen and it is great,I guess I will be upgrading.

E-PL3 1/40 s f/7.1 ISO 3200

I agree Paul, there has been a big improvement.
I too was initially disappointed when opening files I had previously worked with Pro 6. Now opening a clean RAW folder with same ORFs yields it's true performance
__________________
Regards Huw


Olympus equipment (mainly)
Capture One Pro
My flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conservatory Capture kidslateinlife Foto Fair 11 22nd August 2012 02:33 PM
capture One 6.4 drmarkf Olympus OM-D E-M5 1 1st May 2012 11:02 PM
Capture one 4 again Scapula Memory Software 5 6th February 2008 11:08 PM
Capture One 4 Andrew Riddell Software 4 23rd January 2008 07:07 PM
Anyone use Capture One v4 for processing...? theMusicMan Software 12 20th January 2008 12:21 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger