Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-1

Olympus E-1 E-1 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sharpness

With the kit lenses - how do you find sharpness with your E-1?

I'm never entirely sure if my dis-satisfaction with the sharpness of some of my images is due to:

(a) The capabilities of the lens
(b) The capability of myself to erradicate camera shake
(c) The capabilities of my PC screen
(d) My own eyesight deteriorating with age
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th December 2007
ianc ianc is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Kilbride, Ayrshire
Posts: 241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Sharpness

Do you have the noise filter turned on? If you do turn it off and you will find things will improve.
Ian C.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th December 2007
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,006 Times in 298 Posts
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-1 fan View Post
With the kit lenses - how do you find sharpness with your E-1?

I'm never entirely sure if my dis-satisfaction with the sharpness of some of my images is due to:

(a) The capabilities of the lens
(b) The capability of myself to erradicate camera shake
(c) The capabilities of my PC screen
(d) My own eyesight deteriorating with age
Hi

I've alway found the E1 at default setting not very sharp.I think it was set this way so you could increase the sharpness in PP.
I have alway used the E1 with the 14-54 or 50-200mm,what lens are you using??
I have always taken in RAW and converted and added sharpening via unsharp mask afterwards.This way you can control the ammount of sharpening you need.
You can always up the sharpening setting on the E1 if you are taking jpeg.
I have recently move to the E3 but will also keep my E1 as I think its a classic camera.

All the best

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th December 2007
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,341
Thanks: 412
Thanked 2,423 Times in 1,220 Posts
Likes: 816
Liked 1,627 Times in 723 Posts
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianc View Post
Do you have the noise filter turned on? If you do turn it off and you will find things will improve.
Ian C.
The noise filter action on the E-1 is very slight - I have problems detecting any differences between when it is switched on or off.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th December 2007
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,341
Thanks: 412
Thanked 2,423 Times in 1,220 Posts
Likes: 816
Liked 1,627 Times in 723 Posts
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-1 fan View Post
With the kit lenses - how do you find sharpness with your E-1?

I'm never entirely sure if my dis-satisfaction with the sharpness of some of my images is due to:

(a) The capabilities of the lens
(b) The capability of myself to erradicate camera shake
(c) The capabilities of my PC screen
(d) My own eyesight deteriorating with age
Which kit lenses in particular? Can you post some examples?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Which kit lenses in particular? Can you post some examples?Ian
Some in the gallery now Ian.

Look at the phone box image for example.

I know a lot of people talk about the 'softness' of E-1 images and I certainly agree. I do like pin sharpness.

I've not got decent lenses so I do think it's probably that.

Current lenses are the 35mm macro (which I love) and the 40 - 150mm kit lens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
I've alway found the E1 at default setting not very sharp.I think it was set this way so you could increase the sharpness in PP.
That's interesting. I do use unsharp mask etc in PSP afterwards but would really rather start with a sharper image and use minimal after-shot tweaking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
I have alway used the E1 with the 14-54 or 50-200mm,what lens are you using??
The 40mm - 150mm kit lens & the 35mm Macro

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
I have always taken in RAW and converted and added sharpening via unsharp mask afterwards.This way you can control the ammount of sharpening you need.
I use RAW where shots are important (at a wedding for example) but usually stick to jpeg

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
You can always up the sharpening setting on the E1 if you are taking jpeg. Andy
Once again I like to keep the controls as flat as possible so I use no in-camera sharpening - no noise filtering etc

I also now use a Camcane to aid stability of shot! The images still have that 'soft' look to me - it's the ONLY thing I'm not 100% happy about with my wonderful E-1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th December 2007
DTD DTD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Sharpness

It's hard to judge at the size the pictures are in the gallery.
Some of them do look like there's a bit of camera shake.
Have a look at the original files on your own screen and check if there's a slight double image.

I've got the 40-150mm and the 35mm macro and they are capable of sharp images although not as good as the 14-54mm lens.

Personally, I'd much sooner do final tweaking in PhotoShop or Aperture than have things set too high in the camera.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th December 2007
Scapula Memory
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

Just looked at your street pics and they all look a little soft to me. I had this very same problem when I got my E1 and was using it with the 14-45 kit lens. I now shoot jpeg and RAW (using 14-54) which is available as in cam setting which is a great help for making comparisons. I have to say though many of my ruined pics were down to camera shake as I came from a KM A200 that had IS!

If you have ruled out camera shake then shooting jpeg with some settings changed may help. I often go with this, and get sharp pics with good colour rendition. Might work for you!

Saturation CS3
Contrast +1
Sharpening +1
sRGB setting
Noise filter and NR OFF
Shading comp OFF

Ensure compression set to 1/2.7 and pixel count 1600x1200

regards

John.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

Thanks John

I'll try those settings
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTD View Post
I've got the 40-150mm and the 35mm macro and they are capable of sharp images although not as good as the 14-54mm lens.
My previous camera - the high-end pro-sumer Fuji Finepix always gave me sharp images.

I've never used a decent lens on my E-1 - even the 14/54 medium quality lens.

I do suspect that's quite a big part of the issue

Of course it's just struck me there's a hidden thing involved as well! I've got filters on the lenses - and they - are not high-end optics either!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8th December 2007
Scapula Memory
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

I would try some comparison shots with and without the filters. ( are they UV protection filters?) I prefer to use UV filters for protection but would spend a bit extra on decent ones.

Don`t under estimate the value of the kit lens. The 14-45 and 14-42 are pretty capable performers, as is the 40-150 which I used for this pic. The only difference in my setting recommendation is CS2 level 2.



The E1 will deliver but you do need to tease the pictures out of it at times. Just a demo pic really the crop looks even better with some PP.

HTH, regards,

John.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8th December 2007
R MacE's Avatar
R MacE R MacE is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N.I.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Sharpness

If you want to shoot jpeg without sharpening Post capture then you definately need to up the in camera sharpness.

I'm not sure if this is the correct way to do it but when I'm applying USM in PS2 I set Threshold at 1, Radius at half the image resolution, i.e 300 dpi = 1.5, 72 dpi + 0.3 etc, etc. I then adjust the % figure untill it looks right and maybe re-adjust the other a little.

Have a read at this, especially the sharpness part.

http://www.biofos.com/esystem/e_1test.html
__________________
In theory there's no difference between theory and practice but in practice there is.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Red face Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scapula Memory View Post
Ensure compression set to 1/2.7 regards
John.
Where do I set this?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 8th December 2007
E-P1 fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sharpness

Quote:
Originally Posted by R MacE View Post
I'm not sure if this is the correct way to do it but when I'm applying USM in PS2 I set Threshold at 1, Radius at half the image resolution, i.e 300 dpi = 1.5, 72 dpi + 0.3 etc, etc. I then adjust the % figure untill it looks right and maybe re-adjust the other a little.
I'll try that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:46 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger