Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-1

Olympus E-1 E-1 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st September 2011
Ianf's Avatar
Ianf Ianf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Helens
Posts: 594
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Question E1 Settings

Hi All,
Just got my E1 from Ritshirt and feeling my way round, are there any "stock" settings that I should use, it will mainly be outdoor sport pics, ie Golf, with the odd indoor gymnastic comps, but hoping to widen my horizons now I have the tools, or is it just personal preference ?.
__________________
E3, HLD-4, ED 14-45, ED 40 - 150, ED 70 - 300, 35 Macro, Zuiko 50 -1:8, EC14, FL36, i-shoot remote trigger, RM-CB1, T20, Lightroom 5, Elements 9, Slik 800G Deluxe, Jessops MP223 Monopod, Tamrac Expedition 3, Tamrac System 3. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-piccys/. Twitter @ian_double_one
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st September 2011
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

I'm in the same position. I have a certain feeling how I want to operate my new E-1, but if there are any old hands out there with secret knowledge, I would be grateful as well..

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st September 2011
Ianf's Avatar
Ianf Ianf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Helens
Posts: 594
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Just want to "hit the ground running" settings wise, dont want to miss an opportunity through messing with settings I dont need or might ever use !.
__________________
E3, HLD-4, ED 14-45, ED 40 - 150, ED 70 - 300, 35 Macro, Zuiko 50 -1:8, EC14, FL36, i-shoot remote trigger, RM-CB1, T20, Lightroom 5, Elements 9, Slik 800G Deluxe, Jessops MP223 Monopod, Tamrac Expedition 3, Tamrac System 3. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-piccys/. Twitter @ian_double_one
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st September 2011
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Well, for what its worth, this is how mine is at present.

First menu settings:
Sat, Contrast, Sharpness all 0
Colour space sRGB
Everything else is off (except I have Raw +Jpeg on)

Spanner 1
1/3 EV
boost off
WB tweaks all zero
SQ 1280x1024 1/2.7
AEL modes 1,7,1 top to bottom
Dial, I have rear wheel as the active one, and front wheel as +- compensation
Focus anticlockwise
SAF+MF ON
Both release priorities OFF
Reset lens ON
PC STorage
Erase settings = NO (Not certain what this does)
Custom reset. Erm, yes - not done one of these yet.

Spanner 2
Filename Auto
RecView 5 sec
Beep OFF
etc etc

Other settings. Well I use centre weight metering, single AF, Single shot drive, no bracketing. I'm starting at ISO100 and working upwards

edit: But I am a raw shooter :-)

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st September 2011
greenguru's Avatar
greenguru greenguru is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colchester, Essex
Posts: 265
Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 82 Times in 30 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Mine is still new and I am still playing but...

I have contrast set at -2 and sharpness at +1. I picked those settings up from somewhere else and they seem to reflect 'real' colours better.

For info, the ERASE SETTINGS - YES/NO just sets where the default position sits when you click to delete an image.

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st September 2011
Ianf's Avatar
Ianf Ianf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Helens
Posts: 594
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Thanks gents, keep the settings coming, hopefully going up the Lakes for a weekend soon so it will get some action,
__________________
E3, HLD-4, ED 14-45, ED 40 - 150, ED 70 - 300, 35 Macro, Zuiko 50 -1:8, EC14, FL36, i-shoot remote trigger, RM-CB1, T20, Lightroom 5, Elements 9, Slik 800G Deluxe, Jessops MP223 Monopod, Tamrac Expedition 3, Tamrac System 3. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-piccys/. Twitter @ian_double_one
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st September 2011
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenguru View Post

For info, the ERASE SETTINGS - YES/NO just sets where the default position sits when you click to delete an image.

Rob
Aha. Thanks for that..

I can confirm by experiment what I suspected all along. Sharpness settings etc have no effect on raw images. I did read somewhere that noise reduction might have a small effect on raw at higher ISO but I haven't checked it.

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st September 2011
Who's_E's Avatar
Who's_E Who's_E is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 612
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: E1 Settings

Do you have the battery grip? It improves AF performance on the E1 and lasts forever.

Don't forget to use the lever to quickly switch between C-AF and S-AF for moving/still golfers. E3/E5 owners will look on in envy when you do.

Nick
__________________
Bodies: E3, E-P1
Lenses: 8mm, 14-42mm, 12-60mm, 50-200mm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st September 2011
Ianf's Avatar
Ianf Ianf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Helens
Posts: 594
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Hopefully the grip will be on its way on Friday morning when I`ve paid for it,
__________________
E3, HLD-4, ED 14-45, ED 40 - 150, ED 70 - 300, 35 Macro, Zuiko 50 -1:8, EC14, FL36, i-shoot remote trigger, RM-CB1, T20, Lightroom 5, Elements 9, Slik 800G Deluxe, Jessops MP223 Monopod, Tamrac Expedition 3, Tamrac System 3. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-piccys/. Twitter @ian_double_one
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd September 2011
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

I did a test chart shot to compare the E-1 to the E620 and, no surprise, the E620 does produce sharper pictures, but it's not always about resolution...


Here's one I shot with the settings above, taken from a raw fila via DNG and the ACR raw converter. I think the E-1 does colours and textures really well.



Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2nd September 2011
Ianf's Avatar
Ianf Ianf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Helens
Posts: 594
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Thumbs up Re: E1 Settings

Good colours, looking forward to getting out there, {Lakes in 2 weeks}, what lens did you use ?
__________________
E3, HLD-4, ED 14-45, ED 40 - 150, ED 70 - 300, 35 Macro, Zuiko 50 -1:8, EC14, FL36, i-shoot remote trigger, RM-CB1, T20, Lightroom 5, Elements 9, Slik 800G Deluxe, Jessops MP223 Monopod, Tamrac Expedition 3, Tamrac System 3. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-piccys/. Twitter @ian_double_one
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2nd September 2011
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ianf View Post
Good colours, looking forward to getting out there, {Lakes in 2 weeks}, what lens did you use ?
It's the 40-150 kit lens at 150mm at f8.

(BTW, According to the slrgear lens tests, the sweet spot for the 40-150 is f8 and for the 14-54 it's f5.6)

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd September 2011
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaarman View Post
It's the 40-150 kit lens at 150mm at f8.

(BTW, According to the slrgear lens tests, the sweet spot for the 40-150 is f8 and for the 14-54 it's f5.6)

Pete
If anyone's interested, I have one of these up for sale at the moment. See the "For Sale" section for info.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2nd September 2011
Ianf's Avatar
Ianf Ianf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St Helens
Posts: 594
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

One thing that caught me out is the WB settings, my E400 has little pictures to tell me what its for but the E1 just has the numbers, {I know its just a case of getting used to it},
__________________
E3, HLD-4, ED 14-45, ED 40 - 150, ED 70 - 300, 35 Macro, Zuiko 50 -1:8, EC14, FL36, i-shoot remote trigger, RM-CB1, T20, Lightroom 5, Elements 9, Slik 800G Deluxe, Jessops MP223 Monopod, Tamrac Expedition 3, Tamrac System 3. http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-piccys/. Twitter @ian_double_one
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd September 2011
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,349
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,004 Times in 297 Posts
Re: E1 Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ianf View Post
One thing that caught me out is the WB settings, my E400 has little pictures to tell me what its for but the E1 just has the numbers, {I know its just a case of getting used to it},

Set it to Auto and it will always hit 5300 in sunny weather and 6000 in cloudy.If you shoot raw you can adjust from there.
I as probably most users do keep my metering to centre weighted, I find it's more reliable.
Big failing of the E1 which could have been with a firmware update is not being able to overlay the histogram in preview with out pushing two buttons ie display and info.

Apart from that it's a great camera,I'll not get rid of mine
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISO settings abacus180 Olympus E-500 6 28th January 2011 08:31 PM
E30 settings help please. Wee man Olympus E-30 9 17th June 2010 05:50 PM
HELP! E3 Settings MickL Olympus E-3 2 8th June 2010 01:41 PM
What are the best settings ? E-3 Olympus E-3 11 4th February 2010 06:08 PM
Out the box settings Rod Souter Olympus E-510 26 27th November 2007 08:45 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger