Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th August 2015
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,988
Thanks: 2,391
Thanked 1,149 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,230 Times in 800 Posts
Dust

My adapter seemed to be stuck and I without thinking about putting a lens cover on tried to release it. It came free but I now have a problem there is a piece of dust on the sensor, it is big enough to see it by eye. It shows up when I use an f stop from f8 upwards when I shoot a plain shot. What is the best way to clean it or should I just send it back to Olympus?
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th August 2015
Ralph Harwood's Avatar
Ralph Harwood Ralph Harwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,822
Thanks: 213
Thanked 294 Times in 274 Posts
Likes: 765
Liked 412 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Dust

Hi there Ed!

You could try blowing it off with a bulb blower - that's what I've used before on my E-420 full spectrum camera when I was doing the conversion - hold the camera so that the sensor is facing downwards and make sure that the tip of the blower doesn't go inside the camera and give it a good few blows. Bulb blowers should be cheap enough from a camera shop - C***n and N***N owners must buy them by the thousands!

Cheers,

Ralph.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ralph Harwood For This Useful Post:
Wee man (12th August 2015)
  #3  
Old 12th August 2015
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,988
Thanks: 2,391
Thanked 1,149 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,230 Times in 800 Posts
Re: Dust

Thanks will give it a try is the dust shaker always on if not how do I activate it?
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th August 2015
Ralph Harwood's Avatar
Ralph Harwood Ralph Harwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,822
Thanks: 213
Thanked 294 Times in 274 Posts
Likes: 765
Liked 412 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Dust

The sswf should operate every time you switch on, but it may not be able to remove a large piece of dust. You can operate it again through the menus though - it might be easier than turning the camera on and off multiple times.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th August 2015
JonSchick JonSchick is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
Posts: 687
Thanks: 3
Thanked 64 Times in 55 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 105 Times in 36 Posts
Re: Dust

Rocket blower should work (never use the aerosol cleaners that run the risk of spraying gunk into your camera) but in times of desperation the Visible Dust sensor swabs work very well. Easy DIY job unless you're really worried or clumsy! They make the swabs in specific sizes for different sensors so you can get one specifically for 43....which I did years ago when my brand new GF1 came with a huge spec on the sensor and I didn't want to go all the way back to the dealer to sort it out....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th August 2015
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,988
Thanks: 2,391
Thanked 1,149 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,230 Times in 800 Posts
Re: Dust

Thanks to both of you got a blower and it worked have taken shots of white card at 22f and zoomed in to shot and searched all over no sign. Many many thanks for your assistance. Ed
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th August 2015
Olybirder Olybirder is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 6,657
Thanks: 2,407
Thanked 976 Times in 775 Posts
Likes: 1,921
Liked 2,951 Times in 860 Posts
Re: Dust

That was quick Ed. I am glad you have sorted out the problem. It says much for the effectiveness of the Olympus self cleaning system that reports of dust are so rare on this forum.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th August 2015
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,005
Thanks: 1,978
Thanked 3,140 Times in 2,449 Posts
Likes: 3,365
Liked 4,439 Times in 2,105 Posts
Re: Dust

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
That was quick Ed. I am glad you have sorted out the problem. It says much for the effectiveness of the Olympus self cleaning system that reports of dust are so rare on this forum.

Ron
The down side is that when we do get a speck of dust very few of us have a clue what to do!
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Zuiko For This Useful Post:
Wee man (13th August 2015)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (13th August 2015), Naughty Nigel (13th August 2015), Olybirder (13th August 2015)
  #9  
Old 13th August 2015
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,988
Thanks: 2,391
Thanked 1,149 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,230 Times in 800 Posts
Re: Dust

Yes I fall into that category, afraid to damage the sensor. Thanks for the advice to keep the opening facing down to let the dust fall out of the body. It serves me right for not covering up whilst working with the jammed adapter. Turned out I was not pushing the release button far enough!
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th August 2015
Ralph Harwood's Avatar
Ralph Harwood Ralph Harwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,822
Thanks: 213
Thanked 294 Times in 274 Posts
Likes: 765
Liked 412 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Dust

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wee man View Post
Thanks to both of you got a blower and it worked have taken shots of white card at 22f and zoomed in to shot and searched all over no sign. Many many thanks for your assistance. Ed
No worries Ed - I'm glad you are back up and running
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ralph Harwood For This Useful Post:
Wee man (14th August 2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eat my Dust pandora Foto Fair 4 15th September 2014 08:55 PM
Have I got dust somewhere in my set up? timmypreston Foto Fair 5 12th December 2012 12:56 PM
HELP! New E-5 with dust on sensor? tall nel Olympus E-5 6 28th October 2012 04:12 PM
Another one bites the dust B.P.S Studios Foto Fair 2 17th September 2008 08:06 PM
Dust in VF froeng Olympus E-1 8 24th January 2008 02:09 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger