Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th January 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 3,985
Thanks: 46
Thanked 554 Times in 524 Posts
Likes: 28
Liked 1,891 Times in 1,041 Posts
Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

I did not have this problem with my original PS disk but I have mislaid that.

My reinstall cannot open my RAW files and crashes Photoshop.

I can install a later version of Camera RAW (from a downloaded exe) but it lasts only one session, reverting to the old version when I relaunch PS.

I have deleted all Camera RAW folders I can find in Photoshop before reinstalling but the old version must be lurking somewhere.

I don't open many RAW files in PS, usually now doing so in DxO, Pro but it would be a good backup.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th January 2018
Clockwork Donkey Clockwork Donkey is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 30 Times in 12 Posts
Re: Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

You may find a suitable update on here:

https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/...downloads.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th January 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 3,985
Thanks: 46
Thanked 554 Times in 524 Posts
Likes: 28
Liked 1,891 Times in 1,041 Posts
Re: Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clockwork Donkey View Post
You may find a suitable update on here:

https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/...downloads.html
Thanks but I've been around that area. I have applied to join the specialised forum but am waiting for a confirmation email.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th January 2018
Grumpy Hec's Avatar
Grumpy Hec Grumpy Hec is offline
Grumpy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mersea Island, Essex
Posts: 2,338
Thanks: 220
Thanked 313 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 549
Liked 462 Times in 220 Posts
Re: Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

I'm guessing it's version issue and what Adobe will/will not support on that front. Specifically maybe new the newer versions of Camera RAW do not support CS6.

If that is the case my guess would be that there is no solution assuming I have understood your problem correctly/

Hec
__________________
I've worked hard to be this grumpy. It hasn't been easy at times but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd February 2018
tomphotofx's Avatar
tomphotofx tomphotofx is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bexleyheath UK
Posts: 2,542
Thanks: 262
Thanked 547 Times in 483 Posts
Likes: 408
Liked 294 Times in 146 Posts
Re: Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

You can download and use for free Adobe CC Bridge no subscription required, most people donít know that this gem is available. You can then process the raw files save out as .tif or .dng formats and CS6 should be able to open them and process them accordingly.

You can also download and use Adobe DNG Converter for free good opportunity to export all raw files into Adobe DNG raw format.

Hope this helps out.

Tom
__________________
"Who is watching the Watchers, watching the Watchers watching us"

Its not what you see, it's the way that you see it"

Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/photofxstudios
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd February 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 4,633
Thanks: 494
Thanked 352 Times in 314 Posts
Likes: 594
Liked 1,343 Times in 817 Posts
Re: Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomphotofx View Post
You can download and use for free Adobe CC Bridge no subscription required, most people donít know that this gem is available. You can then process the raw files save out as .tif or .dng formats and CS6 should be able to open them and process them accordingly.

You can also download and use Adobe DNG Converter for free good opportunity to export all raw files into Adobe DNG raw format.

Hope this helps out.

Tom
Tom,
I'm running LR 6.x and PS CS6, although I have little experience with CS6.

I wasn't aware that CS6 requires .tif or .dng file format, however by default the files I have imported into CS6 have been one or the other (tif from the Scanner and DNG from LR).

LR you can convert native camera RAW to DNG, for the cameras supported, so the question does Bridge offer any benefits over LR?
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd February 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 3,985
Thanks: 46
Thanked 554 Times in 524 Posts
Likes: 28
Liked 1,891 Times in 1,041 Posts
Re: Updating Camera RAW in PS CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomphotofx View Post
You can download and use for free Adobe CC Bridge no subscription required, most people donít know that this gem is available. You can then process the raw files save out as .tif or .dng formats and CS6 should be able to open them and process them accordingly.

You can also download and use Adobe DNG Converter for free good opportunity to export all raw files into Adobe DNG raw format.

Hope this helps out.

Tom
Thanks, Tom.

I installed the DNG converter during my search for a solution. There are rumours that some loss of quality may arise from using it.

As I process my RAW images in DxO Pro 9, before using Topaz Plugins in PS, I am not really stuck for opening RAW files. I save them as TIIFs for PS.

My original copy of CS6 extended (disk still extant somewhere) had a copy of Camera RAW (version unknown) which did all I wanted of it. The fact that 9.1.1 (the latest and final version of CR for CS6) works for one session after installation, and fails on the next launch makes me think this should be fixable but I can put it on the back burner for now.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Camera Firmware by SD Card. OM USer Software 2 6th December 2016 06:57 AM
Updating and camera settings? Surface Olympus OM-D E-M10 3 13th January 2016 02:37 PM
Request Updating flyingvic Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads 7 4th April 2014 09:46 PM
Updating firmware bazza2764 Olympus E-420 2 13th June 2010 12:39 PM
Updating problems_help please? terryw Software 6 31st July 2009 09:35 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger