Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 22nd February 2017
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,751
Thanks: 537
Thanked 813 Times in 611 Posts
Likes: 1,750
Liked 1,060 Times in 637 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by super_claret View Post
Good luck with that Graham. Do you own the Mk2 or are you asking the question with a view to purchasing one?
The latter. I've never been an early adopter of new models and I have more cameras than I can use already

The answer to the studio flash seems to be very simple. Use the flash supplied and optical slave triggers.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 22nd February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
The latter. I've never been an early adopter of new models and I have more cameras than I can use already

The answer to the studio flash seems to be very simple. Use the flash supplied and optical slave triggers.

Although that is a simple solution, unfortunately, the LM3 doesn't fire my studio lights unless it's set to full power and that is causing me a problem with light spill. Olympus UK mentioned there was a way of turning off the hot shoe mounted flash via the RC mode on the camera and it should still trigger my lights, but this doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 24th February 2017
ThomD ThomD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I just tested this with the Metz 52 and it works as hoped. I noticed that the camera waits until the flash reports ready before the camera fires again. That may be why it needs a Olympus compatible flash.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (24th February 2017)
  #49  
Old 24th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomD View Post
I just tested this with the Metz 52 and it works as hoped. I noticed that the camera waits until the flash reports ready before the camera fires again. That may be why it needs a Olympus compatible flash.
Is that mounted on the hot shoe?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 25th February 2017
ThomD ThomD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by super_claret View Post
Is that mounted on the hot shoe?

Hot show mounted. The only radio trigger that I think would have any hope of working would be the Air Commander f(with their flash) rom Nissin. Since it supports HSS and TTL, it is the most Olympus compatible radio trigger on the market.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 25th February 2017
c12402's Avatar
c12402 c12402 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pinto
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I can confirm that hig-res is compatible with Metz 52-1 flash. I flashes 8 times and generate the 50MB jpgs.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (25th February 2017)
  #52  
Old 25th February 2017
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,751
Thanks: 537
Thanked 813 Times in 611 Posts
Likes: 1,750
Liked 1,060 Times in 637 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by c12402 View Post
I can confirm that hig-res is compatible with Metz 52-1 flash. I flashes 8 times and generate the 50MB jpgs.
That's a result. Any chance we can see the image?
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 25th February 2017
c12402's Avatar
c12402 c12402 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pinto
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I've made a just quick sample, not a real well exposed picture...

_2260200 by Juan Guerrero, en Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 26th February 2017
c12402's Avatar
c12402 c12402 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pinto
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

As far as I understand, single pin hotshoes does not work, the flash need to provide a signal to the camera that it's ready.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 26th February 2017
Bryonia30 Bryonia30 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Guildford
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I was reading here that there is a bug in the flash: https://unlockingolympus.com/2017/02...ii-bug-report/

Perhaps this site might help you?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 15th March 2017
Michael Sewell's Avatar
Michael Sewell Michael Sewell is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Burnley
Posts: 338
Thanks: 18
Thanked 39 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 81
Liked 191 Times in 85 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

The Elinchrom HS transmitter works fine with the mkII in HiRes mode.
As it also communicates with the Skyport plus receivers, you can fire any head, not just Elinchrom.

My account of using the HS transmitter can be found here.

There's alo a link to download the 80Mp raw file, and the 50Mp in camera converted jpeg.
You can also view the 80Mp jpeg that was converted from the raw.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Michael Sewell For This Useful Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (15th March 2017)
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (15th March 2017)
  #57  
Old 15th March 2017
c12402's Avatar
c12402 c12402 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pinto
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Hi Michael,

I had a look at your site blog and it's really interesting and enlightning. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to c12402 For This Useful Post:
Michael Sewell (16th March 2017)
  #58  
Old 15th March 2017
Michael Sewell's Avatar
Michael Sewell Michael Sewell is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Burnley
Posts: 338
Thanks: 18
Thanked 39 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 81
Liked 191 Times in 85 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by c12402 View Post
Hi Michael,

I had a look at your site blog and it's really interesting and enlightning. Thanks!
Thank you for saying so.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 6th May 2017
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,906
Thanks: 1,758
Thanked 1,021 Times in 852 Posts
Likes: 1,919
Liked 780 Times in 458 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

According to 4/3 Rumours the firmwware update due out on Monday will reportedly fix this problem.

"The problem that flash devices from other vendors emit no flash during high-resolution exposures / focus stacking / focus stacking has been fixed."

Regards.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 6th May 2017
Michael Sewell's Avatar
Michael Sewell Michael Sewell is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Burnley
Posts: 338
Thanks: 18
Thanked 39 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 81
Liked 191 Times in 85 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterBirder View Post
According to 4/3 Rumours the firmwware update due out on Monday will reportedly fix this problem.

"The problem that flash devices from other vendors emit no flash during high-resolution exposures / focus stacking / focus stacking has been fixed."

Regards.
Yes. They've stopped the central pin on the hotshoe, along with the Pro Compur socket, from becoming disabled.
That was the only issue.

But did you notice the mention of compatibility with Profoto?
Now that could be interesting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High res shot problem super_claret Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II 13 8th February 2017 09:12 AM
Olympus high res shot plugin not working super_claret Software 1 24th January 2017 11:57 AM
Future of High Res Shot mode Invicta Camera conference 2 16th February 2015 10:41 PM
Flash settings not working Olybirder Olympus OM-D E-M1 2 20th October 2013 11:41 AM
First studio shot.. brianvickers Foto Fair 1 31st October 2012 06:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger