Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 16th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
Is there a setting for flash in both H and L modes? Don't have the camera with me so I can't check.
If there is, I can't find them. May I ask what significance this has with the High Res shot?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16th February 2017
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,316
Thanks: 36
Thanked 341 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 955 Times in 285 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
You can set flash for use with silent shutter, but it is set to off by default. Just enable it in the menu.
Out of interest where is this. Can't find it.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16th February 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 5,037
Thanks: 941
Thanked 689 Times in 630 Posts
Likes: 1,192
Liked 2,765 Times in 1,046 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Menu cog c1
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16th February 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 5,037
Thanks: 941
Thanked 689 Times in 630 Posts
Likes: 1,192
Liked 2,765 Times in 1,046 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I assume hires shot uses high speed shutter settings?
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
I assume hires shot uses high speed shutter settings?
High Res Shot has a setting of its own. Camera Menu 2 > High Res Shot. When selected it displays an offset grid indicating sensor shift (I presume). I cannot change the shutter/drive modes.

There is no option to enable flash in high speed silent.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 16th February 2017
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,316
Thanks: 36
Thanked 341 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 955 Times in 285 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
Menu cog c1
Probably just me but I still can't find any stting to allow single frame electronic shutter with flash.

G Release/j/Image Stabilizer
N Rls Priority S Off    114
Rls Priority C On   
jL Settings
j/♦j
Max fps 10fps   
114
Frame Count
Limiter Off   
♥j
Max fps 18fps   
Frame Count
Limiter Off   
0
Max fps 18fps   
Pre-shutter
Frames 8 shots   
Frame Count
Limiter On, 25 shots   
jH Settings
j/♦j
Max fps 15fps   
114
Frame Count
Limiter Off   
♥j
Max fps 60fps   
Frame Count
Limiter Off   
0
Max fps 60fps   
Pre-shutter
Frames 14 shots   
Frame Count
Limiter On, 25 shots   
O K Image Stabilizer S-IS AUTO    53, 114
j Image Stabilization Fps Priority  
Half Way Rls With IS On  114
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by andym View Post
Out of interest where is this. Can't find it.
On the Mk2 it's Camera 2 > Anti Shock/Silent > Silent Mode Settings > Flash Mode
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to super_claret For This Useful Post:
andym (16th February 2017)
  #23  
Old 16th February 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 5,037
Thanks: 941
Thanked 689 Times in 630 Posts
Likes: 1,192
Liked 2,765 Times in 1,046 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Is flash enabled in the SCP? Just checking!
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16th February 2017
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,316
Thanks: 36
Thanked 341 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 955 Times in 285 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by super_claret View Post
On the Mk2 it's Camera 2 > Anti Shock/Silent > Silent Mode Settings > Flash Mode
Got it
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (16th February 2017)
  #25  
Old 16th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
Is flash enabled in the SCP? Just checking!
Sorry but could you tell me where that setting might be please. I've enabled flash in the silent shot mode, but that doesn't help with high res shot.

The camera fires flash in single shot.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 16th February 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 5,037
Thanks: 941
Thanked 689 Times in 630 Posts
Likes: 1,192
Liked 2,765 Times in 1,046 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Will check mine lunchtime and let you know.
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 16th February 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 5,037
Thanks: 941
Thanked 689 Times in 630 Posts
Likes: 1,192
Liked 2,765 Times in 1,046 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

How are you firing the flash?
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 16th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagletorque View Post
How are you firing the flash?
I'm using a hot shoe mounted radio trigger. I've also tried the small flash gun that came with the camera FL-LM3 hot shoe mounted and another flash but nothing fires. Just to confirm that everything triggers correctly in single shot.

I've also not had any problems using the EM5 Mk2 in high res mode, the flash fires perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 16th February 2017
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 1,643
Thanks: 155
Thanked 160 Times in 123 Posts
Likes: 664
Liked 381 Times in 188 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Just tried the hot shoe mounted Oly flash supplied with the camera and that works fine in High Res Mode. Get 8 flashes. You need to set the delay for flash recharge to zero when using the Oly flash.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 16th February 2017
super_claret super_claret is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Just got off the phone to Olympus and problem solved. I had to re-set my camera, then go and enable flash in silent mode Camera 2 > Anti Shock/Silent > Silent Mode Settings > Flash Mode > Allow.

Then turn on High Res Shot and set the flash recharge to 4 secs ( for this test I used the FL-LM3 which needs a 4 sec recharge time..).

Then go into Super Control Panel and select high res shot in the drive mode.

Also in SCP, go to flash setting and enable FULL flash.

Maybe my camera needed a reset but glad it's working now.

Big thank you to David at Olympus UK.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to super_claret For This Useful Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (16th February 2017)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (16th February 2017), Steambuff (16th February 2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High res shot problem super_claret Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II 13 8th February 2017 09:12 AM
Olympus high res shot plugin not working super_claret Software 1 24th January 2017 11:57 AM
Future of High Res Shot mode Invicta Camera conference 2 16th February 2015 10:41 PM
Flash settings not working Olybirder Olympus OM-D E-M1 2 20th October 2013 11:41 AM
First studio shot.. brianvickers Foto Fair 1 31st October 2012 06:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger