Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th January 2017
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 807
Thanks: 51
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 65
Liked 92 Times in 65 Posts
Remote shutter release.

What's the remote release cable model number for this new camera?
Olympus RM-UC1 is for the previous off the USB. It sure won't work on the EM1ii and there is no RM1/2 support either. I notice there is a covered port just under the shutter release, is that the remote release? If so, what's the model number of the release?

Admin, can remove..Found the remote release.. RM-CB2.
__________________
All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th January 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: England
Posts: 5,141
Thanks: 951
Thanked 697 Times in 638 Posts
Likes: 1,245
Liked 2,798 Times in 1,062 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Apparently Canon do a nice one with the same connection for much less!
__________________
Missed a Cuba Post? Catch up here!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th January 2017
Grumpy Hec's Avatar
Grumpy Hec Grumpy Hec is offline
Grumpy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mersea Island, Essex
Posts: 2,223
Thanks: 214
Thanked 307 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 483
Liked 406 Times in 191 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

It is now the same as Canon C1, as opposed to canon C3, and so there is a large range of releases available at a variety of price points. I managed to get a new lead for my existing Hähnel wireless release.

cheers

Hec
__________________
I've worked hard to be this grumpy. It hasn't been easy at times but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Grumpy Hec For This Useful Post:
johnzsv (26th March 2017)
  #4  
Old 17th January 2017
ayewing ayewing is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peterborough UK
Posts: 249
Thanks: 45
Thanked 42 Times in 32 Posts
Likes: 10
Liked 33 Times in 24 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Olympus seem to have reverted to an older standard for the shutter release. The port is now for a 2.5mm stereo type plug which was and is widely used by Canon, Pentax and other brands. I have found thet the wired and wireless releases I used with my Pentax K series DSLRs work fine with the new OM-D E-M1 mkII.

P1050004.jpg

Click on the thumbnail to enlarge.
__________________
Archie
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ayewing For This Useful Post:
090657 (27th March 2017), blu-by-u (18th January 2017)
  #5  
Old 17th January 2017
alfbranch's Avatar
alfbranch alfbranch is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Whitehaven Cumbria
Posts: 5,544
Thanks: 1,304
Thanked 687 Times in 649 Posts
Likes: 792
Liked 1,661 Times in 640 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

This review by AP says it uses Canon E3 type reomte or Pentax

http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk...rk-ii-review/2
__________________
OMD E-M1 OMD E-M5II MMF3 12-40 pro 12-50 EZ 14-42 EZ 9-18 f4.0 -5.6 40 -150f4-f5.6 R 60mm f2.8 macro Sigma 105 f2.8 macro Holga 60mm plastic Holga pinhole lens lens and a XZ-1 Olympus - 35 SP Trip 35 Pen EEs OM2sp

I nice view does not mean a good photograph. My FLickr

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th January 2017
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,664
Thanks: 2,372
Thanked 1,089 Times in 974 Posts
Likes: 283
Liked 1,043 Times in 692 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Can you not just use a tablet or phone

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th January 2017
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 807
Thanks: 51
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 65
Liked 92 Times in 65 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Sadly I don't think my android phone can multitask.
__________________
All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th January 2017
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 3,634
Thanks: 326
Thanked 787 Times in 598 Posts
Likes: 51
Liked 3,181 Times in 1,093 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Why did they change it.....?b
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (18th January 2017)
  #9  
Old 18th January 2017
Grumpy Hec's Avatar
Grumpy Hec Grumpy Hec is offline
Grumpy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mersea Island, Essex
Posts: 2,223
Thanks: 214
Thanked 307 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 483
Liked 406 Times in 191 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfbranch View Post
This review by AP says it uses Canon E3 type reomte or Pentax

http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk...rk-ii-review/2
I'm using a Canon C1 format and can state that it does work. Don't know about E3 but the C3 definitely does not fit as it isn't a 2.5mm format.

Hec
__________________
I've worked hard to be this grumpy. It hasn't been easy at times but it's worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th January 2017
TonyR TonyR is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bath
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 100 Times in 64 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Canon RS-60E3 works fine and costs £15. Very nice and small.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TonyR For This Useful Post:
drmarkf (26th March 2017), Roman (27th March 2017)
The Following User Liked This Post:
mack100 (9th February 2017)
  #11  
Old 18th January 2017
wanderer's Avatar
wanderer wanderer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Penicuik
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 95
Thanked 113 Times in 98 Posts
Likes: 15
Liked 40 Times in 25 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

At the demo I went to, I asked the question. The reply was download an app and all camera actions can be worked wirelessly from the phone including live view. Interestingly you still have to turn the camera on manually! Otherwise set the camera on delayed release.
__________________
Duncan

Lots of toys.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18th January 2017
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,664
Thanks: 2,372
Thanked 1,089 Times in 974 Posts
Likes: 283
Liked 1,043 Times in 692 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

I use my phone/ tablet very handy you get the viewfinder view on the phone / tablet screen. And with delay shots like light trails you can watch them build up from the warmth of you car!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th January 2017
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 807
Thanks: 51
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 65
Liked 92 Times in 65 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Ordered the 2.5mm plug from ebay, going to hack an old RM-UC1.
__________________
All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th January 2017
idlefrog idlefrog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderer View Post
Interestingly you still have to turn the camera on manually!
It will always take a physical action to turn the camera on. If the camera was scanning for a wireless signal then it wouldn't actually be off and would be consuming power.

Think of your TV set, when in standby mode it is actually on in a low power mode but still consuming power waiting for the input from the remote control, but if you have switched it off it won't respond to the remote and you need to manually turn it on before it will respond to the remote.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th January 2017
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,123
Thanks: 35
Thanked 418 Times in 226 Posts
Likes: 180
Liked 682 Times in 245 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

I got the cannon one, good quality and much cheaper.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Shutter Release Socket Grumpy Hec Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II 2 17th December 2016 08:55 AM
EM-5 - Remote Shutter release Gwyver Olympus OM-D E-M5 0 1st May 2012 06:38 AM
HELP! Remote shutter release not working Woody Olympus E-420 4 22nd November 2011 11:15 PM
remote shutter release cable colin stares Olympus E-500 10 16th July 2009 12:39 PM
Hahnel Remote Shutter Release Paulpp General accessories 1 25th February 2009 11:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger