Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II The first OM-D's successor.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th December 2016
freewheeler freewheeler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
IOShare

What am I doing wrong? when I try to share images on my smartphone, it says there are no images but if I use remote control it displays what's been shot. I've read the manual and think I've selected to share but still no joy.
Cheers, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th December 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,314
Thanks: 497
Thanked 764 Times in 572 Posts
Likes: 1,584
Liked 898 Times in 553 Posts
Re: IOShare

Set the camera to RAW + jpg. RAW files are not transferred with OI.Share

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
griffljg (27th December 2016)
  #3  
Old 28th December 2016
freewheeler freewheeler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Re: IOShare

Sorry I may not have made myself clear, it's the phone that says no images and though the image displays on the phone in remote control, it's not there after you close the app and restartin transfer image mode.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th December 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,314
Thanks: 497
Thanked 764 Times in 572 Posts
Likes: 1,584
Liked 898 Times in 553 Posts
Re: IOShare

Because of the speed of transfer via WiFi, you can choose to upload the image after it's taken (upload icon in top right side of the screen on the phone) or wait and select the ones you want to upload when you are finished shooting.

There is no auto save to the phone/tablet, as the images are taken, as this would slow down the system.

I tend to use it more as a remote control than an image capture system. The tethered system working on a PC being my preferred way of working when images are wanted on the PC.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th December 2016
freewheeler freewheeler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Re: IOShare

Thanks for your response Graham. All the tutorials I've looked at on the internet and the instructions show that when you connect and choose transfer image(or however its worded) a list of the images appear on the smart phone so you can choose, as you say, which ones you want. I don't get the list, all I get is "No Image"

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th December 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,314
Thanks: 497
Thanked 764 Times in 572 Posts
Likes: 1,584
Liked 898 Times in 553 Posts
Re: IOShare

I've just done another test, and the camera has to be set to save images in jpg

I have my two set to RAW+LF and it works as it should. When set to RAW it says "No Image" on the phone.

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th December 2016
freewheeler freewheeler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Re: IOShare

My camera is set to jpg, can you see the images from your camera on your phone?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th December 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,314
Thanks: 497
Thanked 764 Times in 572 Posts
Likes: 1,584
Liked 898 Times in 553 Posts
Re: IOShare

Yes! I've tried it on both cameras and provided the camera is set to store a jpg file (regardless of being just jpg or RAW+jpg) then the phone or tablet sees the images.

Only when the camera is set to RAW only can I not see the images or transfer them to the phone/tablet.

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th December 2016
freewheeler freewheeler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Re: IOShare

I think I'll try reinstalling the oishare see if that works
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th December 2016
freewheeler freewheeler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Re: IOShare

Cracked it woohoo.........the tickbox for show todays images was ticked, unticked it and voila. Thanks for your help Graham.

Dave
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (28th December 2016)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2015, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger